It is currently March 28th, 2024, 11:44 am

Fine control over String Meters SolidColor values ?

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
MadMatty72

Fine control over String Meters SolidColor values ?

Post by MadMatty72 »

Hi all, I'm a total noob to RainMeter so decided to create my first Skin that shows (via text) and displays (via back ground color) the CPU temp (as my new 5600X with stock cooler gets quite hot) - simple right? was not the case...

The issue I have is that I am unable to programmatically insert a single colors value into a String Meters 'SolidColor' string, I.e. I'm trying to dynamically change the RED value of the RGBA components of the its string "red#, green#, blue#, alpha#" so that the String Meters back ground color slowly turns red as temperature rises.

I DO NOT want to predefine a few color strings and change out the entire SolidColor string at specific temps - I want the color change to be very progressive, I.e. 35 to 40 different colors of RED (and likely alpha once I get it working) for each degree the CPU rises in temp.

The specific issue I think I'm having is that I'm unable to convert the CPU temp value(a float string) to an integer string suitable for the SolidColor string, Rainmeter seems to always embed the original floating point string regardless of any Calc Measure or Variable conversion I attempt.

Has anyone every achieved this? (dynamic single color change)

Please advise me on value transfer and conversion.

Thanks.
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage

Re: Fine control over String Meters SolidColor values ?

Post by eclectic-tech »

You will need to truncate the raw temperature values in a calc measure, so they return integer values; TRUNC() function
Then perhaps something like this:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=500
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1

[MeasureLoop]
Measure=Loop
StartValue=59
EndValue=99
Increment=1
LoopCount=0
InvertMeasure=0

[MeasureTemp2ColorRed]
Measure=Calc