It is currently April 27th, 2024, 11:23 pm

AlwaysOnTop keeps resetting upon refresh / load

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
jasonvertez
Posts: 6
Joined: October 28th, 2022, 10:13 pm

AlwaysOnTop keeps resetting upon refresh / load

Post by jasonvertez »

Hello everyone,

I’ve spent several days modifying not-Finch’s code for https://www.deviantart.com/not-finch/art/Windows-11-themed-Dock-for-rainmeter-931599064 trying to implement a way to fix AlwaysOnTop from resetting after every refresh / load or the program. As of now, it’s always stuck on AlwaysOnTop 2. I want it to be permenently on the desktop (-2).

I tried editing rainmeter.ini, but it ALWAYS resets to AlwaysOnTop=2 upon refresh.

I’m ultimately am at a loss on what to do.

I’ve heard using command prompt and placing all skins to ZTop -2 * position works, and I’ve tried it and it does. But is there anyway to enable it to work inside the skin itself rather than using CMD? If necessary, I’ll run the cmd script on startup, but I really want to avoid that.

Thanks!
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5407
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: AlwaysOnTop keeps resetting upon refresh / load

Post by eclectic-tech »

Open 'Another dock\Settings.inc' file in your editor.
Change the keyword=value for the last entry 'position' to:
position=-2

Save the file and reload the dock. It should stay on as an 'on desktop' skin.
If that doesn't work for you, you may want to ask on the authors Github site.
jasonvertez
Posts: 6
Joined: October 28th, 2022, 10:13 pm

Re: AlwaysOnTop keeps resetting upon refresh / load

Post by jasonvertez »

eclectic-tech wrote: October 29th, 2022, 9:25 pm Open 'Another dock\Settings.inc' file in your editor.
Change the keyword=value for the last entry 'position' to:
position=-2

Save the file and reload the dock. It should stay on as an 'on desktop' skin.
If that doesn't work for you, you may want to ask on the authors Github site.


Wow I completely overlooked that position for days!

Even went into the resource folder and recreated grid_anim.lua.

Thank you so much! Can’t believe I completely overlooked that. Boy, do I feel dumb. :thumbup:
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5407
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: AlwaysOnTop keeps resetting upon refresh / load

Post by eclectic-tech »

Happy to help :thumbup:

Don't feel bad, it took me quite a while to find where the author hid the settings...
I am definitely not a fan of multiple @include usage in complicated skins :thumbdown:
jasonvertez
Posts: 6
Joined: October 28th, 2022, 10:13 pm

Re: AlwaysOnTop keeps resetting upon refresh / load

Post by jasonvertez »

eclectic-tech wrote: October 31st, 2022, 9:10 pm Happy to help :thumbup:

Don't feel bad, it took me quite a while to find where the author hid the settings...
I am definitely not a fan of multiple @include usage in complicated skins :thumbdown:
A ReadMe may of helped. But he claimed it was a concept. I doubt the author was expecting someone to actually try and modify his settings / code.

I just found out a few minutes ago that I can search for "File Contents" in Explorer.exe under the along with in Zipped (compressed) folders. :)

Hopefully, I'll never run into this issue again (not just with Rainmeter - but any GitHub project) unless I come across obfuscation.

Thanks again! :welcome:
User avatar
scratch67
Posts: 34
Joined: April 8th, 2015, 1:27 pm

Re: AlwaysOnTop keeps resetting upon refresh / load

Post by scratch67 »

I'm having the same problem. I searched my hard drive for Settings.inc, no results.

The position line you mentioned, would this work in the rainmeter.ini file?
Cheers,

MARK
User avatar
scratch67
Posts: 34
Joined: April 8th, 2015, 1:27 pm

Re: AlwaysOnTop keeps resetting upon refresh / load

Post by scratch67 »

found this in the code OnRefreshAction=[!ZPos "2"]

Changing it now....
Cheers,

MARK