It is currently April 25th, 2024, 6:52 am

Make a shortcut on the desktop open/run a skin.ini

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Rafamear
Posts: 114
Joined: November 15th, 2021, 1:47 am
Location: Brazil

Make a shortcut on the desktop open/run a skin.ini

Post by Rafamear »

I was in need of some way to make a shortcut to open a specific skin, if there is a way to do that, it will help a lot
Last edited by Rafamear on October 23rd, 2022, 11:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
;===========================================Rafamear=================================================
;========================= :welcome: ========== My DeviantArt ========== :Whistle ==============================
User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 571
Joined: February 28th, 2011, 3:20 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Make a shortcut on the desktop open/run a skin.ini

Post by ikarus1969 »

You can place a .cmd file on the desktop and put the following command in there:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" [!ActivateConfig "Ikarus1969\Date&Time\Clocks\Clock" "Clock.ini"]
The first part ist the path to the Rainmeter executable, the second is the config (Ikarus1969\Date&Time\Clocks\Clock) and the third part is the ini-file (Clock.ini).

You can use any bang.

documentation: https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/bangs/ on one of the first paragraphs
and this link: https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=17769
One topic that handles this on the forum: https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=21820
Rafamear
Posts: 114
Joined: November 15th, 2021, 1:47 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Make a shortcut on the desktop open/run a skin.ini

Post by Rafamear »

ikarus1969 wrote: October 22nd, 2022, 12:57 pm You can place a .cmd file on the desktop and put the following command in there:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" [!ActivateConfig "Ikarus1969\Date&Time\Clocks\Clock" "Clock.ini"]
The first part ist the path to the Rainmeter executable, the second is the config (Ikarus1969\Date&Time\Clocks\Clock) and the third part is the ini-file (Clock.ini).

You can use any bang.

documentation: https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/bangs/ on one of the first paragraphs
and this link: https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=17769
One topic that handles this on the forum: https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=21820
it worked perfectly, and one more thing, would it be possible to run it but without showing the cmd in the window? I run it and the cmd opens minimized
;===========================================Rafamear=================================================
;========================= :welcome: ========== My DeviantArt ========== :Whistle ==============================
User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 571
Joined: February 28th, 2011, 3:20 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Make a shortcut on the desktop open/run a skin.ini

Post by ikarus1969 »

Rafamear wrote: October 22nd, 2022, 3:48 pm it worked perfectly, and one more thing, would it be possible to run it but without showing the cmd in the window? I run it and the cmd opens minimized
To be honest i don't know :confused:
User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 571
Joined: February 28th, 2011, 3:20 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Make a shortcut on the desktop open/run a skin.ini

Post by ikarus1969 »

I googled a little bit and found that if you adapt the line in the cmd a little bit, there's no minimized cmd anymore:

Code: Select all

start /min cmd /c "C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" [!ActivateConfig "Ikarus1969\Date&Time\Clocks\Clock" "Clock.ini"]
start /min cmd /c is new at the beginning of the line.
User avatar
tass_co
Posts: 517
Joined: May 4th, 2020, 3:01 pm
Location: Ankara, TURKEY

Re: Make a shortcut on the desktop open/run a skin.ini

Post by tass_co »

Rafamear wrote: October 22nd, 2022, 3:48 pm it worked perfectly, and one more thing, would it be possible to run it but without showing the cmd in the window? I run it and the cmd opens minimized
Save your command line to a Bat file.
Convert the Bat file to Exe with the application in the link Bat to Exe Converter
Here is the part you need to pay attention to in the screenshot.

3578694966.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I don't know where i going from here, but i promise it won't be boring... :great:
Rafamear
Posts: 114
Joined: November 15th, 2021, 1:47 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Make a shortcut on the desktop open/run a skin.ini

Post by Rafamear »

In response to ikarus1969, I tried it but it continued to open cmd at its normal size.

But now when I tested what tass_co suggested it worked perfectly :thumbup:
;===========================================Rafamear=================================================
;========================= :welcome: ========== My DeviantArt ========== :Whistle ==============================