It is currently May 18th, 2022, 4:19 am

[Bug] Rainmeter 4.5.6 WifiStatus speed

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
circcc
Posts: 13
Joined: February 23rd, 2014, 11:12 pm

[Bug] Rainmeter 4.5.6 WifiStatus speed

Post by circcc »

My Windows 7's Wireless Network Connection Status window shows the speed of 802.11n as 150.0 Mbps. But, Rainmeter's TXRate and RXRate are displayed as 150000. The manual (https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/wifistatus/) explains that it is in bps, isn't 150000000 correct in bps?

By the way, I just wish it was displayed in Mbps unit not bps.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22519
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Bug] Rainmeter 4.5.6 WifiStatus speed

Post by jsmorley »

circcc wrote: November 29th, 2021, 10:45 pm My Windows 7's Wireless Network Connection Status window shows the speed of 802.11n as 150.0 Mbps. But, Rainmeter's TXRate and RXRate are displayed as 150000. The manual (https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/wifistatus/) explains that it is in bps, isn't 150000000 correct in bps?

By the way, I just wish it was displayed in Mbps unit not bps.
My bad. That should have read "SI (1000) kilobits per second". Fixed. thanks for reporting.

If you set AutoScale=2k on the String measure displaying the value, it will scale appropriately.
circcc
Posts: 13
Joined: February 23rd, 2014, 11:12 pm

Re: [Bug] Rainmeter 4.5.6 WifiStatus speed

Post by circcc »

Another bug.

When not connected to wireless, RXRate and TXRate values are 0. 150000 when connected. However, when I connect and then disconnect, the value of 150000 stays the same, not 0.
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2414
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: [Bug] Rainmeter 4.5.6 WifiStatus speed

Post by Brian »

circcc wrote: November 29th, 2021, 11:48 pm Another bug.

When not connected to wireless, RXRate and TXRate values are 0. 150000 when connected. However, when I connect and then disconnect, the value of 150000 stays the same, not 0.
Thanks for reporting. This has already been fixed for the next version.

-Brian
circcc
Posts: 13
Joined: February 23rd, 2014, 11:12 pm

Re: [Bug] Rainmeter 4.5.6 WifiStatus speed

Post by circcc »

Thanks for the quick fix.
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2414
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: [Bug] Rainmeter 4.5.6 WifiStatus speed

Post by Brian »

Also, we have decided to return this value in bits per second instead of kilobits per second going forward. This will make it easier to use the AutoScale option on the String meter to properly scale the value (and automatically add the k/M/G suffix).

https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/string/#AutoScale

-Brian