It is currently April 20th, 2024, 12:28 pm

[Bug] No network info in Windows 11

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
Cariboudjan
Posts: 268
Joined: May 12th, 2019, 8:55 am

[Bug] No network info in Windows 11

Post by Cariboudjan »

Screenshot 2021-09-21 084519.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Bug] No network info in Windows 11

Post by jsmorley »

Cariboudjan wrote: September 21st, 2021, 2:46 pm Screenshot 2021-09-21 084519.png
I hardly think this qualifies as a "bug" until we know a lot more. Perhaps you might like to post the code for the skin in question so we can take a look at it.

You might also open a PowerShell window and type in:

Get-NetAdapter | format-table -property "InterfaceDescription", "InterfaceIndex" -HideTableHeaders

Then post what it returns here.

First thing I would try though, is to make sure your SysInfo measures are set with SysInfoData=Best.

I'm on Windows 11, and all the SysInfo network stuff works fine for me.
User avatar
Cariboudjan
Posts: 268
Joined: May 12th, 2019, 8:55 am

Re: [Bug] No network info in Windows 11

Post by Cariboudjan »

Screenshot 2021-09-21 111409.png
I seem to have fixed it by adding DynamicVariables=1, but it should be noted that DynamicVariables wasn't needed before the update to 11.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Bug] No network info in Windows 11

Post by jsmorley »

Dunno. This works perfectly fine for me on Windows 11. No DynamicVariables=1 needed, although I would certainly add it on any skin I was distributing.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1

[MeasureSys1]
Measure=SysInfo
SysInfoType=HOST_NAME

[MeasureSys2]
Measure=SysInfo
SysInfoType=IP_ADDRESS
SysInfoData=Best

[MeasureSys3]
Measure=SysInfo
SysInfoType=NET_MASK
SysInfoData=Best

[MeasureSys4]
Measure=SysInfo
SysInfoType=GATEWAY_ADDRESS
SysInfoData=Best

[MeasureSys5]
Measure=SysInfo
SysInfoType=DNS_SERVER
SysInfoData=Best

[MeasureSys6]
Measure=SysInfo
SysInfoType=DOMAIN_NAME
SysInfoData=Best

[MeterDummy]
Meter=String
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Bug] No network info in Windows 11

Post by jsmorley »

Cariboudjan wrote: September 21st, 2021, 5:14 pm Screenshot 2021-09-21 111409.png
You pasted in the string twice, that is why that PowerShell failed.


1.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2604
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: [Bug] No network info in Windows 11

Post by SilverAzide »

Cariboudjan wrote: September 21st, 2021, 5:14 pm I seem to have fixed it by adding DynamicVariables=1, but it should be noted that DynamicVariables wasn't needed before the update to 11.
Any chance you are using UpdateDivider=-1 on your SysInfo measures?
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Bug] No network info in Windows 11

Post by jsmorley »

One possible culprit is that Windows is not activating your network immediately when Windows boots up and Rainmeter starts, and there is no network info detected when the skin is first started. SysInfo won't see the change to the meaning of "Best" from nothing to something unless DynamicVariables is active on the measure.
User avatar
Cariboudjan
Posts: 268
Joined: May 12th, 2019, 8:55 am

Re: [Bug] No network info in Windows 11

Post by Cariboudjan »

jsmorley wrote: September 21st, 2021, 5:34 pm You pasted in the string twice, that is why that PowerShell failed.



1.png
Whoops