It is currently April 25th, 2024, 1:52 am

Weather data will not refresh unless it is done manually

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
hybrid86
Posts: 5
Joined: April 30th, 2010, 5:41 am

Weather data will not refresh unless it is done manually

Post by hybrid86 »

For whatever reason, on every single theme I've used, the weather data, rss data, or really anything that works from the internet will not refresh unless it is done manually by clicking "refresh skin". This has been a problem on literally ever theme I've used, so I'm assuming the issue may be with the program itself.

I found a few topics on this by searching, but all of them involved the weather data not coming in at all, where as mine comes in fine, but just never refreshes...
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 642
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: Weather data will not refresh unless it is done manually

Post by Alex2539 »

How long are you waiting before checking if it's refreshed? Weather sites only update so often and the skins are written to reflect that by reducing how often they hit the site.
ImageImageImageImage
hybrid86
Posts: 5
Joined: April 30th, 2010, 5:41 am

Re: Weather data will not refresh unless it is done manually

Post by hybrid86 »

If I don't touch it, it will literally stay at the same temp/forecast for days.
poiru
Developer
Posts: 2872
Joined: April 17th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Re: Weather data will not refresh unless it is done manually

Post by poiru »

Post your skin here (use the code/spoiler tags).
hybrid86
Posts: 5
Joined: April 30th, 2010, 5:41 am

Re: Weather data will not refresh unless it is done manually

Post by hybrid86 »

Sorry for the newb question, but which config file do you want me to post?
poiru
Developer
Posts: 2872
Joined: April 17th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Re: Weather data will not refresh unless it is done manually

Post by poiru »

hybrid86 wrote:Sorry for the newb question, but which config file do you want me to post?
Right-click on your weather skin -> Skin Menu -> Edit skin and post the contents here :)
User avatar
Alex2539
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 642
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: Weather data will not refresh unless it is done manually

Post by Alex2539 »

I somehow doubt that the skin itself is causing problems. If in fact he has tried this on several skins and each behaves the same way, then there either is a larger problem here than the .ini file, or he is modifying every one of them in exactly the same way to produce a very specific error, which seems unlikely.

Post your skin anyways, but also, could you tell me what version of Rainmeter you are running, and can you check if you get a similar effect with an RSS skin?
ImageImageImageImage
hybrid86
Posts: 5
Joined: April 30th, 2010, 5:41 am

Re: Weather data will not refresh unless it is done manually

Post by hybrid86 »

Well here is my weather skin:

Code: Select all

;P I L E U S
;Weather
;by Jack Beloved [ http://livinglightningrod.deviantart.com/ ]

[Rainmeter]
Author=Jack Beloved [ jackbeloved@gmail.com ]
Update=30000
MiddleMouseDownAction=!RainmeterRefresh #CURRENTCONFIG#


;Metadata added by RainBrowser
;http://rainmeter.net/RainWiki/index.php?title=Rainmeter_101#.5BMetadata.5D

[Metadata]
Name=Pileus Double Notes
Config=
Description=
Instructions=
Version=
Tags=
License=
Variant=
Preview=

;End of added Metadata

@include=#SKINSPATH#Pileus\Resources\Variables\PileusVariables.inc


;-----Weather--------------------

[MeasureWeatherRSS]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
UpdateRate=1800
Url=http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?p=#WeatherCode#&u=#Unit#
RegExp=(?siU)<link.*>(.*)</link>.*city=\"(.*)\".*sunrise=\"(.*)\".*sunset=\"(.*)\".*<image>.*<url>(.*)</url>.*<title>.*:.*m .*(.*)</title>.*lat>(.*)<.*long>(.*)<.*yweather:condition.*text=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*temp=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*
StringIndex=1

[MeasureWeatherDesc]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=9

[MeasureWeatherTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=11

[MeasureWeatherDate2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=12

[MeasureWeatherDesc2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=9

[MeasureWeatherTemp2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=13

[MeasureWeatherDate3]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=15

[MeasureWeatherDesc3]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=9

[MeasureWeatherTemp3]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=16

[MeasureLocation]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?p=#WeatherCode#&u=#Unit#
RegExp=(?siU)<link.*>(.*)</link>.*city=\"(.*)\".*country=\"(.*)\".*sunrise=\"(.*)\".*sunset=\"(.*)\".*<image>.*<url>(.*)</url>.*<title>.*:.*m .*(.*)</title>.*lat>(.*)<.*long>(.*)<.*yweather:condition.*text=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*temp=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*yweather:forecast.*day=\"(.*)\".*high=\"(.*)\".*code=\"(.*)\".*
StringIndex=2
UpdateRate=86400

[MeasureState]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[MeasureLocation]
StringIndex=3


; ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
; METERS


[Backing]
Meter=IMAGE
SolidColor=0, 0, 0, 1
X=0
Y=0
W=(#IconSize# + 175)
H=60

[Icon]
Meter=IMAGE
ImageName=#SkinsPath#\Pileus\Resources\Images\Icon Set #Icon Set#\#IconWeather#.png
X=r
Y=r
W=#IconSize#
H=#IconSize#
AntiAlias=1
LeftMouseDownAction=!Execute [!RainmeterShowMeter IconActive][!RainmeterHideMeter Icon][!RainmeterRedraw]

[IconActive]
Meter=IMAGE
ImageName=#SkinsPath#\Pileus\Resources\Images\Icon Set #Icon Set#\#IconActive#.png
X=r
Y=r
W=#IconSize#
H=#IconSize#
AntiAlias=1
Hidden=1
LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute [!RainmeterShowMeter Icon][!RainmeterHideMeter IconActive][[MeasureWeatherRSS]][!RainmeterRedraw]

[IconBack2]
Meter=IMAGE
SolidColor=0, 0, 0, 1
X=r
Y=r
W=#IconSize#
H=#IconSize#

[Title1]
Meter=STRING
X=#IconSize#r
Y=7r
FontColor=#TitleColor#
FontFace=#TitleFont#
FontSize=#TitleHeight#
StringAlign=LEFT
;StringEffect=SHADOW
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1
Text="Weather"

[Title2Back]
Meter=IMAGE
SolidColor=0, 0, 0, 1
X=r
Y=r
W=50
H=14
LeftMouseDownAction=!Execute [!RainmeterShowMeter Title2BackActive][!RainmeterHideMeter Title2Back][!RainmeterHideMeter Date2][!RainmeterHideMeter Temp2][!RainmeterHideMeter Desc2][!RainmeterHideMeter Date3][!RainmeterHideMeter Temp3][!RainmeterHideMeter Desc3][!RainmeterRedraw]

[Title2BackActive]
Meter=IMAGE
SolidColor=0, 0, 0, 1
X=r
Y=r
W=50
H=14
Hidden=1
LeftMouseDownAction=!Execute [!RainmeterShowMeter Title2Back][!RainmeterHideMeter Title2BackActive][!RainmeterShowMeter Date2][!RainmeterShowMeter Temp2][!RainmeterShowMeter Desc2][!RainmeterShowMeter Date3][!RainmeterShowMeter Temp3][!RainmeterShowMeter Desc3][!RainmeterRedraw]

[State]
Meter=STRING
MeasureName=MeasureState
X=175r
Y=4r
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight#
StringAlign=RIGHT
;StringEffect=SHADOW
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1

[Location]
Meter=STRING
MeasureName=MeasureLocation
X=-15r
Y=r
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight#
StringAlign=RIGHT
;StringEffect=SHADOW
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1
PreFix="...in "
PostFix=","
Hidden=#ShowStats#

[Separator1]
Meter=IMAGE
SolidColor=#BarColor1#
X=-160r
Y=14r
H=1
W=175
Hidden=#ShowLine#

[Separator2]
Meter=IMAGE
SolidColor=#BarColor1#
X=r
Y=2r
H=1
W=175
Hidden=#ShowLine#

[Today]
Meter=STRING
X=r
Y=7r
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight#
StringAlign=LEFT
;StringEffect=SHADOW
StringStyle=BOLD
AntiAlias=1
Text="Now :"
Hidden=#ShowStats#

[Temp]
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherTemp
Meter=STRING
X=37r
Y=r
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight#
StringAlign=LEFT
;StringEffect=SHADOW
StringStyle=BOLD
AntiAlias=1
Postfix="°"
Hidden=#ShowStats#

[Desc]
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherDesc
Meter=STRING
X=138r
Y=r
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight#
StringAlign=RIGHT
;StringEffect=SHADOW
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1
PreFix="It's "
PostFix="."
Hidden=#ShowStats#

[Date2]
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherDate2
Meter=STRING
X=-175r
Y=12r
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight#
StringAlign=LEFT
;StringEffect=SHADOW
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1
PostFix=" :"
Hidden=#ShowStats#

[Temp2]
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherTemp2
Meter=STRING
X=37r
Y=r
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight#
StringAlign=LEFT
;StringEffect=SHADOW
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1
Postfix="°"
Hidden=#ShowStats#

[Desc2]
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherDesc2
Meter=STRING
X=138r
Y=r
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight#
StringAlign=RIGHT
;StringEffect=SHADOW
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1
PreFix="It'll be "
PostFix="."
Hidden=#ShowStats#

[Date3]
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherDate3
Meter=STRING
X=-175r
Y=12r
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight#
StringAlign=LEFT
;StringEffect=SHADOW
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1
PostFix=" :"
Hidden=#ShowStats#

[Temp3]
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherTemp3
Meter=STRING
X=37r
Y=r
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight#
StringAlign=LEFT
;StringEffect=SHADOW
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1
Postfix="°"
Hidden=#ShowStats#

[Desc3]
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherDesc3
Meter=STRING
X=138r
Y=r
FontColor=#FontColor#
FontFace=#FontName#
FontSize=#FontHeight#
StringAlign=RIGHT
;StringEffect=SHADOW
StringStyle=NORMAL
AntiAlias=1
PreFix="It'll be "
PostFix="."
Hidden=#ShowStats#
I somehow doubt that the skin itself is causing problems. If in fact he has tried this on several skins and each behaves the same way, then there either is a larger problem here than the .ini file, or he is modifying every one of them in exactly the same way to produce a very specific error, which seems unlikely.
My thoughts exactly.
poiru
Developer
Posts: 2872
Joined: April 17th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Re: Weather data will not refresh unless it is done manually

Post by poiru »

Change the Update=30000 line in the skin you posted to Update=1000 and refresh Rainmeter.
hybrid86
Posts: 5
Joined: April 30th, 2010, 5:41 am

Re: Weather data will not refresh unless it is done manually

Post by hybrid86 »

poiru wrote:Change the Update=30000 line in the skin you posted to Update=1000 and refresh Rainmeter.
Wow, this seems to have fixed the weather. Why was it set for 30000 by default anyhow, and why would that prevent it from ever updating?

Also, will I have to do this to every theme I run?