I recently got a virtual desktop manager type of program - VirtuaWin.
To get to the point, I would like different Skins in Rainmeter for each one of my virtual desktops.
In a nutshell, all my virtual desktops are identical, they even all display my one instance of Rainmeter correctly without a problem.
I saw an earliar post, but it wasn't much help, and well I think Rainmeter has improved a bit since then, although I'm not sure.
I was thinking about having !RainmeterShowFade/!RainmeterHideFade that activates when I press the switch desktop hotkey (Which for me would be Win+[Arrow Key]).
I was thinking it'd be similar to the MiddleMouseDownAction commands, but I can't seem to find those in the Rainmeter (Beta) Full Manual. Are they not in there, or am I just not finding them? And would something like this be possible?
It is currently June 10th, 2023, 4:00 am
Different Skins for different virtual desktops?
-
- Posts: 667
- Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
- Location: NY, USA
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 642
- Joined: July 19th, 2009, 5:59 am
- Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Re: Different Skins for different virtual desktops?
No, Rainmeter cannot handle key presses. You would need to use a program like AutoHotKey to watch for those key presses then send the appropriate commands to Rainmeter.
-
- Posts: 509
- Joined: April 24th, 2009, 3:17 pm
- Location: Bucharest, Romania Lat 44,43° Lon 26,1°
Re: Different Skins for different virtual desktops?
I'm using dexpot jsmorley put a link around here, and all rainmeter skins apear on each desktop, and I'm happy with this
Zero at programing, zero at writing codes, so far 2 at making images
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this
But I'm good at copy/paste, and I not always like this

-
- Developer
- Posts: 1270
- Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
- Location: NC, US
Re: Different Skins for different virtual desktops?
Probably the only way of doing this would be running Rainmeter as a plugin of Litestep, (as it was originally made to be.) There are some issues with that option. Addons that send commands to Rainmeter.exe can't be used, because as a plugin only rainmeter.dll is loaded.
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22571
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
-
- Posts: 667
- Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
- Location: NY, USA
Re: Different Skins for different virtual desktops?
Alright, so there's no easy way of doing it, if it's even possible.
Can Rainmeter detect mouse gestures? I'm guessing no, but hey, it's worth a shot.
And is there a full list of the commands like MiddleMouseDownAction anywhere?
Can Rainmeter detect mouse gestures? I'm guessing no, but hey, it's worth a shot.
And is there a full list of the commands like MiddleMouseDownAction anywhere?
-
- Developer
- Posts: 22571
- Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
- Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA
Re: Different Skins for different virtual desktops?
1) NoJpsCrazy wrote:Alright, so there's no easy way of doing it, if it's even possible.
Can Rainmeter detect mouse gestures? I'm guessing no, but hey, it's worth a shot.
And is there a full list of the commands like MiddleMouseDownAction anywhere?
2) http://rainmeter.net/cms/Skins_beta
-
- Posts: 667
- Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
- Location: NY, USA
Re: Different Skins for different virtual desktops?
Ohhh.
Never thought to look there...
I'm just going to work on making it disappear and reappear on mouse overs.
I think I'll figure it out. But. I'll be back if I can't. Ahaa.
Never thought to look there...
I'm just going to work on making it disappear and reappear on mouse overs.
I think I'll figure it out. But. I'll be back if I can't. Ahaa.
-
- Posts: 667
- Joined: April 18th, 2010, 2:16 pm
- Location: NY, USA
Re: Different Skins for different virtual desktops?
Well. I couldn't figure out the mouse overs. Basically, I couldn't figure out how to make it reappear after it fades.
I tried doing a calc with substitutes, but realized MouseOverAction and such isn't a measure...
Then I tried to mess around with external programs, but gave up pretty quick. I couldn't find one that detected key press and could send info to Rainmeter, or at least I couldn't figure out how.
I ended up adding this code to selected skins.
[Rainmeter]
LeftMouseDoubleClickAction=!RainmeterSetTransparency 255
RightMouseDoubleClickAction=!RainmeterSetTransparency 1
It works really well, it's just tedious.
Gonna set up a hotkey or something similar for it to make it instant.
Yes. This was completely unnecessary.
I just like closure.
I tried doing a calc with substitutes, but realized MouseOverAction and such isn't a measure...
Then I tried to mess around with external programs, but gave up pretty quick. I couldn't find one that detected key press and could send info to Rainmeter, or at least I couldn't figure out how.
I ended up adding this code to selected skins.
[Rainmeter]
LeftMouseDoubleClickAction=!RainmeterSetTransparency 255
RightMouseDoubleClickAction=!RainmeterSetTransparency 1
It works really well, it's just tedious.
Gonna set up a hotkey or something similar for it to make it instant.
Yes. This was completely unnecessary.
I just like closure.
-
- Developer
- Posts: 1270
- Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
- Location: NC, US
Re: Different Skins for different virtual desktops?
So you want one mouseover to make it disappear, then stay hidden until you mouseover again and then stay visible until you mouseover again?