It is currently December 3rd, 2021, 7:45 am

Rainmeter stopped working

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
thatsamyx
Posts: 5
Joined: December 8th, 2020, 11:46 am
Location: Italy

Rainmeter stopped working

Post by thatsamyx »

i've tried following every single instruction in https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=103&t=27981 but still, rainmeter is not working. it used to work since one month ago but it suddenly stopped running. most of the times it doesn't open, but when it does and i try loading a skin, it crashes. also, somehow when i hover rainmeter on the taskbar tray, it disappears. i don't really understand what's happening. :???:
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22416
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Rainmeter stopped working

Post by jsmorley »

To be honest, I sorta resist that you have really done a "clean install" of Rainmeter, backing up and getting rid of all downloaded skins and plugins and starting Rainmeter from scratch. I have never seen a computer, in all these years, that simply would not run Rainmeter in its default condition.

But, I have to take you at your word, and if so, that's unusual to say the least.

You might want to check this out:

https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=118&t=30869#p157423
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 13513
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Rainmeter stopped working

Post by balala »

thatsamyx wrote: December 8th, 2020, 2:24 pm i've tried following every single instruction in https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=103&t=27981 but still, rainmeter is not working. it used to work since one month ago but it suddenly stopped running. most of the times it doesn't open, but when it does and i try loading a skin, it crashes. also, somehow when i hover rainmeter on the taskbar tray, it disappears. i don't really understand what's happening. :???:
Besides jsmorely's reply, I'd say an already loaded skin is the culprit. If I am right, this has been discussed more times in the past. If Rainmeter is closed, try opening it (clicking its icon in the Start menu) by holding down the CTRL key. This way Rainmeter will ask you if you want to launch it in safe mode. Click Yes. Does Rainmeter loades and work now?
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 4108
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: Rainmeter stopped working

Post by Yincognito »

thatsamyx wrote: December 8th, 2020, 2:24 pm i've tried following every single instruction in https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=103&t=27981 but still, rainmeter is not working. it used to work since one month ago but it suddenly stopped running. most of the times it doesn't open, but when it does and i try loading a skin, it crashes. also, somehow when i hover rainmeter on the taskbar tray, it disappears. i don't really understand what's happening. :???:
There was a post a while ago about a similar issue, and while jsmorley and balala are correct in that a skin is most likely the culprit and you have to find which one is it, I did experience this exact problem after a failed Windows update (had to download a missing Windows DLL and repair the Windows installation to fix it). Just exploring all possibilities.