It is currently March 28th, 2024, 6:05 pm

[SOLVED] How to bring skin(s) to front with keyboard shortcut?

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
WirlyWirly

[SOLVED] How to bring skin(s) to front with keyboard shortcut?

Post by WirlyWirly »

I'm looking for a way to bring my skin(s) to the front when I press ctrl+space, and then return them to the desktop after a single click, be it on or off a skin.

If not, then maybe a "while ctrl+space" method that keeps the skins on-top until I release the defined keys. A toggle would be last on the preference, but I wouldn't rule it out.

I'm essentially trying to get more use out of my skins, which won't happen if I have to minimize all my windows to get to them. I also don't want to be accidentally activating them when I hover my mouse to predefined areas, so anything on-screen is out.

I'm fairly new to rainmeter, but after modifying a skin, I'm more comfortable with the syntax. I'm thinking I'll have to use the !ZPos bang to get this to work, but I can't figure out how to have rainmeter monitor for keystrokes. I'd prefer not to use any external programs such as AutoHotKey, since I'm trying to keep the whole skin portable, but if that's necessary then let me know.
Last edited by WirlyWirly on July 15th, 2020, 10:16 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Jeff

Re: How to bring skin(s) to front with keyboard shortcut?

Post by Jeff »

HotKey Plugin

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
LeftMouseUpAction=!ZPos "-2"

[HotKey]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=HotKey
HotKey=CTRL SPACE
KeyDownAction=!ZPos "2"
Obviously you'll modify what position it goes to, if you want the action to be done when you hold the keys down or release them, or if you want the skin to go back when you click a meter instead of anywhere on the skin (that's why the [Rainmeter] section there), etc. Just have fun.
WirlyWirly

Post by WirlyWirly »