It is currently April 30th, 2024, 6:11 pm

Help: Switching wallpapers with a button

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Mino_el_Nukenin
Posts: 231
Joined: April 24th, 2020, 7:39 pm
Location: France

Re: Help: Switching wallpapers with a button

Post by Mino_el_Nukenin »

Yincognito wrote: May 11th, 2020, 9:57 pm Well, I just made the adjustments needed.
The connector container PNG:
ContainerC2.png
The code adjustments:
- RepeatC=231
- OffsetC=-206
- Y=0 in [MeterContainerC]
That's all, folks. :D
Thanks, I'll add it !
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7185
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: Help: Switching wallpapers with a button

Post by Yincognito »

Mino_el_Nukenin wrote: May 11th, 2020, 10:02 pm Thanks, I'll add it !
The container image can be perfected at the "edge" between transparency and opacity, as the angular separation is not perfectly straight, but then that's a minor detail anyway (not for us perfectionists though). :D
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
Mino_el_Nukenin
Posts: 231
Joined: April 24th, 2020, 7:39 pm
Location: France

Re: Help: Switching wallpapers with a button

Post by Mino_el_Nukenin »

Yincognito wrote: May 11th, 2020, 10:08 pm The container image can be perfected at the "edge" between transparency and opacity, as the angular separation is not perfectly straight, but then that's a minor detail anyway (not for us perfectionists though). :D
LOL yes, but with such small pixels .png it's pretty hard to see.

I'm tryign to understand how you did it, since I might create some others skin with the same idea of a double sliding.
Basically, you make sure both containers have a relative origin in common, right ?
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7185
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: Help: Switching wallpapers with a button

Post by Yincognito »

Mino_el_Nukenin wrote: May 11th, 2020, 10:01 pmSee the result for yourself.
I have to say, it looks great! Well done. :thumbup:
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7185
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: Help: Switching wallpapers with a button

Post by Yincognito »

Mino_el_Nukenin wrote: May 11th, 2020, 10:11 pmLOL yes, but with such small pixels .png it's pretty hard to see.
Good point.
Mino_el_Nukenin wrote: May 11th, 2020, 10:11 pmI'm tryign to understand how you did it, since I might create some others skin with the same idea of a double sliding. Basically, you make sure both containers have a relative origin in common, right ?
Quite the opposite. I made sure they're independent and absolutely positioned. It's just a coincidence that they're placed close to one another - that's more a matter of how your skin looks rather than having a functional purpose. Bottom line, the containers needed to be independent of each other in terms of nesting. I chose to position them in an absolute way (i.e. 25 instead of 25r and such) because it was simpler and couldn't go wrong (if some other meter would have been placed in front of them, for example).

That being said, that has nothing to do with how I did the "double sliding" (i.e. one slide immediately after the other). It's all about putting everything in one slider / ActionTimer measure, separated of course by wait times. As far as ActionTimer is concerned, these two slides are a single movement, because they both belong to the same ActionListN option (i.e. ActionList1 for the slide out, ActionList2 for the slide in).

Frankly, this one slide immediately after the other couldn't have been done another way, since there is no way of knowing when the ActionTimer measure finished the animation, other than placing something (another animation, in this case, i.e. the connector one) right after the first (i.e. the panel one).
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
Mino_el_Nukenin
Posts: 231
Joined: April 24th, 2020, 7:39 pm
Location: France

Re: Help: Switching wallpapers with a button

Post by Mino_el_Nukenin »

Yincognito wrote: May 11th, 2020, 10:29 pm Good point.


Quite the opposite. I made sure they're independent and absolutely positioned. It's just a coincidence that they're placed close to one another - that's more a matter of how your skin looks rather than having a functional purpose. Bottom line, the containers needed to be independent of each other in terms of nesting. I chose to position them in an absolute way (i.e. 25 instead of 25r and such) because it was simpler and couldn't go wrong (if some other meter would have been placed in front of them, for example).

That being said, that has nothing to do with how I did the "double sliding" (i.e. one slide immediately after the other). It's all about putting everything in one slider / ActionTimer measure, separated of course by wait times. As far as ActionTimer is concerned, these two slides are a single movement, because they both belong to the same ActionListN option (i.e. ActionList1 for the slide out, ActionList2 for the slide in).

Frankly, this one slide immediately after the other couldn't have been done another way, since there is no way of knowing when the ActionTimer measure finished the animation, other than placing something (another animation, in this case, i.e. the connector one) right after the first (i.e. the panel one).
Oh okay, I get it. I'll try to do the same for others skins then to see if I understood well.
Mino_el_Nukenin
Posts: 231
Joined: April 24th, 2020, 7:39 pm
Location: France

Re: Help: Switching wallpapers with a button

Post by Mino_el_Nukenin »

Okay so i'm onto anotehr skin.
Which is (for now) mainly a visual one.
It is/will be composed of [MeterShapes]. But I'm not managing to have correct shape, in terms of size.
Then i'll want some of these shapes to be in a movement.

Visually this part of the skin is a black circle (ellipse) with a 89 radius + a stroke of 1px, so a 90 radius ellipse in total.
And what I'm trying to add are different arc above the black circle.
See the image joined : My idea is to recreate the arcs like the different blue and green arcs in the image.
I already have another skin like the circle with an eagle in the middle, which will be above and have no interaction with the one i'm creating.

This what I have so far :

Code: Select all

[MeterShapes]
Meter=Shape
Shape=Ellipse 90,90,89 | Fill Color 0,0,0 | StrokeWidth 2 | Stroke Color 255,255,255
Shape2=Arc 14,90,90,14,75,75,360,0,0,0 | StrokeWidth 15 | Stroke Color 255,255,255
AntiAlias=1
I can't manage to have the right fitting for the arc, I want it to be perfectly against the stroke then i'll adapt the depth of it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Mino_el_Nukenin on May 12th, 2020, 7:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16190
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Help: Switching wallpapers with a button

Post by balala »

Mino_el_Nukenin wrote: May 12th, 2020, 7:22 pm See the image joined : My idea is to recreate the arcs like the different blue and green ars in the image.
To convert an image to Shape meter i recommend to use theAzack9's Vector Converter. Unfortunately it'll convert only .svg files to Shape meter, but there are possibilities to convert the .png (or .jpg or whatever supported image format) image to .svg, then apply the tool to create the appropriate Shape meter. Not too easy, but not impossible either.
jsmorley shortly explained here what you have to do for such a conversion. If interested, give it a try.
Mino_el_Nukenin
Posts: 231
Joined: April 24th, 2020, 7:39 pm
Location: France

Re: Help: Switching wallpapers with a button

Post by Mino_el_Nukenin »

balala wrote: May 12th, 2020, 7:38 pm To convert an image to Shape meter i recommend to use theAzack9's Vector Converter. Unfortunately it'll convert only .svg files to Shape meter, but there are possibilities to convert the .png (or .jpg or whatever supported image format) image to .svg, then apply the tool to create the appropriate Shape meter. Not too easy, but not impossible either.
jsmorley shortly explained here what you have to do for such a conversion. If interested, give it a try.
I don't want to convert an image into a shape. I want to create shapes (arcs) based on the ones on my image, as a pattern.
Btw, I don't see the point in converting an image into shape, just use an image, that's easier; or create a shape.

EDIT : Nevermind the shapes and my actual code, I'll design the shapes I need on Photoshop, that's easier.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16190
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Help: Switching wallpapers with a button

Post by balala »

Mino_el_Nukenin wrote: May 12th, 2020, 7:46 pm Btw, I don't see the point in converting an image into shape, just use an image, that's easier; or create a shape.
Depends on what you want to use it for. A Shape meter can easily be modified by Rainmeter code, while an image can't be. On the other hand a shape meter which represents an image can be extremely large, as you saw on the posted link, jsmorley's avatar image created as Shape meter requires 10,000 lines. Way too much.