Sure thing! I am retired and usually checking on the forum a few times a day!
It is currently March 31st, 2023, 4:54 pm
WeatherNow
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 5052
- Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
- Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA
Re: WeatherNow
:: My DA Gallery :: Rainmeter DA Gallery :: Rainmeter Workshops :: Rainmeter Documentation :: BBCode Guide ::
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 15077
- Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
- Location: Gheorgheni, Romania
Re: WeatherNow
You always can ask for help, here on the forum. This is the essence of this forum (or any forum). Probably sooner or later you'll get help.
-
- Posts: 85
- Joined: May 19th, 2010, 9:05 pm
- Location: North of the Border
Re: WeatherNow
I have been on a lot of forums, none are as helpful and friendly as this forum. everyone here I have had help from has been so kind.
-
- Posts: 85
- Joined: May 19th, 2010, 9:05 pm
- Location: North of the Border
Re: WeatherNow
hello,
so i have made a few adjustments and have been trying for over 2 hours to only have the rounded corners on the top of the rectangle as you can see the effect is upside down on the top rectangle. i was able to do it with the bottom rectangle but the top rectangle is kicking my butt.
could someone please help?
i'll include the code and a picture.
also if my code is messy could you advise of a cleaner more efficient way to achieve what i'm looking to do.
tnx
so i have made a few adjustments and have been trying for over 2 hours to only have the rounded corners on the top of the rectangle as you can see the effect is upside down on the top rectangle. i was able to do it with the bottom rectangle but the top rectangle is kicking my butt.
could someone please help?
i'll include the code and a picture.
also if my code is messy could you advise of a cleaner more efficient way to achieve what i'm looking to do.
tnx
Code: Select all
;------------current weather hover-----------------
[DetailsBackground]
Meter=Shape
Group=Details
Hidden=1
DynamicVariables=1
X=10
Y=100
Shape=Rectangle 1,1,235,50,10 | Fill Color #hoverbackground# | StrokeWidth 1 | Stroke Color 0,162,255
Shape2=Rectangle 1,1,235,25,0 | Fill Color #hoverbackground# | StrokeWidth 1 | Stroke Color 0,162,255
UpdateDivider=1
[Details]
Meter=String
Group=Details
Hidden=1
DynamicVariables=1
X=120r
Y=r
Padding=10,5,10,5
InlineSetting=Color | #hoverfont#
InlineSetting2=Size | 14
Text="Current Weather for#CRLF#[@CurrentLocationName]"
StringAlign=CenterTop
StringEffect=None
ClipString=1
;ClipStringW=440
AntiAlias=1
UpdateDivider=1
LeftMouseUpAction=[!ToggleMeterGroup Details]
[DetailsBackground2]
Meter=Shape
Group=Details
Hidden=1
DynamicVariables=1
X=10
Y=150
;Shape=Rectangle 1,1,235,100,10 | Fill Color #hoverbackground2# | StrokeWidth 1 | Stroke Color 0,162,255
Shape=Rectangle 1,1,235,100,10 | Fill Color #hoverbackground2# | StrokeWidth 1 | Stroke Color 0,162,255
Shape2=Rectangle 1,1,235,25,0 | Fill Color #hoverbackground2# | StrokeWidth 1 | Stroke Color 0,162,255
Shape3=Combine Shape | union Shape2
UpdateDivider=1
[Details2]
Meter=String
Group=Details
Hidden=1
DynamicVariables=1
X=120r
Y=r
Padding=10,5,10,5
InlineSetting=Color | #hoverfont#
InlineSetting2=Size | 10
Text="Feels Like: [@CurrentFeelsLike]° |:| Dewpoint: [@CurrentDewPoint]°#CRLF#High Today: [@CurrentTemperatureHigh]° |:| Low Tonight: [@CurrentTemperatureLow]°#CRLF#Humidity: [@CurrentHumidity]% |:| Wind: [@CurrentWind] [@CurrentWindDirection]#CRLF#Pressure: [@CurrentPressure] ~ [@CurrentPressureChange]#CRLF#Sunrise: [@CurrentSunrise]#CRLF#Sunset: [@CurrentSunset]"
StringAlign=CenterTop
StringEffect=None
ClipString=2
;ClipStringW=440
AntiAlias=1
UpdateDivider=1
LeftMouseUpAction=[!ToggleMeterGroup Details]
;SolidColor=0,0,0,192
-
- Posts: 85
- Joined: May 19th, 2010, 9:05 pm
- Location: North of the Border
Re: WeatherNow
sorted it out
here's what i changed
before
after
had to adjust the y axis to the lower part of the box.
not sure if this is the best way to accomplish what i was trying for but it works.
if someone knows of a better way to do this please share.
tnx
here's what i changed
before
Code: Select all
Shape=Rectangle 1,1,235,50,10 | Fill Color #hoverbackground# | StrokeWidth 0.5 | Stroke Color 0,162,255
Shape2=Rectangle 1,1,235,25,0 | Fill Color #hoverbackground# | StrokeWidth 0.5 | Stroke Color 0,162,255
Shape3=Combine Shape | union Shape2
Code: Select all
Shape=Rectangle 1,1,235,50,10 | Fill Color #hoverbackground# | StrokeWidth 0.5 | Stroke Color 0,162,255
Shape2=Rectangle 1,25,235,25,0 | Fill Color #hoverbackground# | StrokeWidth 0.5 | Stroke Color 0,162,255
Shape3=Combine Shape | union Shape2
not sure if this is the best way to accomplish what i was trying for but it works.
if someone knows of a better way to do this please share.
tnx
Last edited by Hackit on March 31st, 2020, 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 5052
- Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
- Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA
Re: WeatherNow
That is a good solution. By lowering the Y position of the rectangle with square corners and then combining the images gets the result you want.Hackit wrote: ↑March 31st, 2020, 8:53 pm sorted it out
here's what i changed
beforeafterCode: Select all
Shape=Rectangle 1,1,235,50,10 | Fill Color #hoverbackground# | StrokeWidth 0.5 | Stroke Color 0,162,255 Shape2=Rectangle 1,1,235,25,0 | Fill Color #hoverbackground# | StrokeWidth 0.5 | Stroke Color 0,162,255 Shape3=Combine Shape | union Shape2
had to adjust the y axis to the lower part of the box.Code: Select all
Shape=Rectangle 1,1,235,50,10 | Fill Color #hoverbackground# | StrokeWidth 0.5 | Stroke Color 0,162,255 Shape2=Rectangle 1,[color=#FF0000]25[/color],235,25,0 | Fill Color #hoverbackground# | StrokeWidth 0.5 | Stroke Color 0,162,255 Shape3=Combine Shape | union Shape2
not sure if this is the best way to accomplish what i was trying for but it works.
if someone knows of a better way to do this please share.
tnx

:: My DA Gallery :: Rainmeter DA Gallery :: Rainmeter Workshops :: Rainmeter Documentation :: BBCode Guide ::
-
- Posts: 85
- Joined: May 19th, 2010, 9:05 pm
- Location: North of the Border
Re: WeatherNow
something so simple took my hours to figure out. lol
quick question
i was trying to add the moon cycle to the pop up.
ex; tells how long until next full moon.
i have searched for moon in all the weathercomvaribles.inc but found nothing.
is there a sample moon.inc file?
thanks again for your help last night, if fixing rounded corners on a shape took me hours, creating the hover code would have been weeks if not months.
quick question
i was trying to add the moon cycle to the pop up.
ex; tells how long until next full moon.
i have searched for moon in all the weathercomvaribles.inc but found nothing.
is there a sample moon.inc file?
thanks again for your help last night, if fixing rounded corners on a shape took me hours, creating the hover code would have been weeks if not months.
-
- Posts: 85
- Joined: May 19th, 2010, 9:05 pm
- Location: North of the Border
Re: WeatherNow
can i add padding to the text inside the box?
i know the padding controls the text in the box, so my text is padded from the box edges.
i would like to add padding to the text, so i have can select the spacing. i tried adding an extra #CRLF# but the space was to big.
i know the padding controls the text in the box, so my text is padded from the box edges.
i would like to add padding to the text, so i have can select the spacing. i tried adding an extra #CRLF# but the space was to big.
Code: Select all
[Details2]
Meter=String
Group=Details
Hidden=1
DynamicVariables=1
X=120r
Y=r
Padding=10,2,10,5
StringAlign=CenterTop
InlineSetting=Face | bahnschrift
InlineSetting2=Color | #hoverfont2#
InlineSetting3=Size | 10
InlineSetting4=Shadow | 2 | 2 | 3.5 | 10,10,10,200
InlineSetting5=Italic
InlineSetting6=Weight | 400
Text="[@CurrentObservationText] [@CurrentObservationTime] [@CurrentFeelsLikeText]: [@CurrentFeelsLike]°#CRLF#High Today: [@CurrentTemperatureHigh]° |:| Low Tonight: [@CurrentTemperatureLow]°#CRLF#[@CurrentUVIndexText]: [@CurrentUVIndexTextValue] |:| [@CurrentDewPointText]: [@CurrentDewPoint]°#CRLF#[@CurrentHumidityText]: [@CurrentHumidity]% |:| [@CurrentWindText]: [@CurrentWind] [@CurrentWindDirection]#CRLF#[@CurrentPressureText]: [@CurrentPressure] ~ [@CurrentPressureChange]#CRLF#[@CurrentSunriseText]: [@CurrentSunrise] |:| [@CurrentSunsetText]: [@CurrentSunset]"
StringEffect=None
ClipString=2
;ClipStringW=440
AntiAlias=1
UpdateDivider=1
LeftMouseUpAction=[!ToggleMeterGroup Details]
;SolidColor=0,0,0,192
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 5052
- Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
- Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA
Re: WeatherNow
You are using the measures that scrape the HTML weather page... those measures do not return any moon data.Hackit wrote: ↑March 31st, 2020, 9:25 pm something so simple took my hours to figure out. lol
quick question
i was trying to add the moon cycle to the pop up.
ex; tells how long until next full moon.
i have searched for moon in all the weathercomvaribles.inc but found nothing.
is there a sample moon.inc file?
thanks again for your help last night, if fixing rounded corners on a shape took me hours, creating the hover code would have been weeks if not months.
Honestly, I would suggest re-writting your skin to use the JSON measure method, which returns more data and is less likely to fail should the webmaster at TWC decide to tweak his page HTML.
An alternative to re-writing your entire skin would be to add the JSON moon parsing measures to @Resource, and include those measures in your skin.
:: My DA Gallery :: Rainmeter DA Gallery :: Rainmeter Workshops :: Rainmeter Documentation :: BBCode Guide ::
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 5052
- Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
- Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA
Re: WeatherNow
The only way to control vertical spacing of the information would be to have each measure value in separate meters; that would allow you to position them down to the pixel. All you would need to do is have each meter in the "DETAILS" group, and remove the PADDING; you would use X, Y, W, & H for positioning.Hackit wrote: ↑March 31st, 2020, 10:44 pm can i add padding to the text inside the box?
i know the padding controls the text in the box, so my text is padded from the box edges.
i would like to add padding to the text, so i have can select the spacing. i tried adding an extra #CRLF# but the space was to big.
Code: Select all
[Details2] Meter=String Group=Details Hidden=1 DynamicVariables=1 X=120r Y=r Padding=10,2,10,5 StringAlign=CenterTop InlineSetting=Face | bahnschrift InlineSetting2=Color | #hoverfont2# InlineSetting3=Size | 10 InlineSetting4=Shadow | 2 | 2 | 3.5 | 10,10,10,200 InlineSetting5=Italic InlineSetting6=Weight | 400 Text="[@CurrentObservationText] [@CurrentObservationTime] [@CurrentFeelsLikeText]: [@CurrentFeelsLike]°#CRLF#High Today: [@CurrentTemperatureHigh]° |:| Low Tonight: [@CurrentTemperatureLow]°#CRLF#[@CurrentUVIndexText]: [@CurrentUVIndexTextValue] |:| [@CurrentDewPointText]: [@CurrentDewPoint]°#CRLF#[@CurrentHumidityText]: [@CurrentHumidity]% |:| [@CurrentWindText]: [@CurrentWind] [@CurrentWindDirection]#CRLF#[@CurrentPressureText]: [@CurrentPressure] ~ [@CurrentPressureChange]#CRLF#[@CurrentSunriseText]: [@CurrentSunrise] |:| [@CurrentSunsetText]: [@CurrentSunset]" StringEffect=None ClipString=2 ;ClipStringW=440 AntiAlias=1 UpdateDivider=1 LeftMouseUpAction=[!ToggleMeterGroup Details] ;SolidColor=0,0,0,192
:: My DA Gallery :: Rainmeter DA Gallery :: Rainmeter Workshops :: Rainmeter Documentation :: BBCode Guide ::