It is currently February 22nd, 2020, 7:57 am

Weather.com WXDATA feed failing again

General topics related to Rainmeter.
kreg123
Posts: 3
Joined: January 15th, 2020, 6:19 pm

Re: Weather.com WXDATA feed failing again

Post by kreg123 »

I am not good at coding, but can't we get required data from other services? Like AOL or yahoo, they use same location as WXDATA.
xenium
Posts: 474
Joined: January 4th, 2018, 9:52 pm

Re: Weather.com WXDATA feed failing again

Post by xenium »

kreg123 wrote:
January 15th, 2020, 6:46 pm
I am not good at coding, but can't we get required data from other services? Like AOL or yahoo, they use same location as WXDATA.
https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&p=170206&hilit=quote+enclose+option#p170206
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9742
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Weather.com WXDATA feed failing again

Post by balala »

kreg123 wrote:
January 15th, 2020, 6:46 pm
I am not good at coding, but can't we get required data from other services? Like AOL or yahoo, they use same location as WXDATA.
Definitely could, but not from Yahoo. Yahoo Weather doesn't work anymore.

EDIT: See xenium's reply above.
kreg123
Posts: 3
Joined: January 15th, 2020, 6:19 pm

Re: Weather.com WXDATA feed failing again

Post by kreg123 »

I just want to do some magic by replacing code line which stopped working, so my stone-age old skin could work... My 'programming' ability is so dusty... ;/
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9742
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Weather.com WXDATA feed failing again

Post by balala »

kreg123 wrote:
January 15th, 2020, 7:10 pm
I just want to do some magic by replacing code line which stopped working, so my stone-age old skin could work... My 'programming' ability is so dusty... ;/
There is no "code line" which might be replaced. All measures have to be replaced in order to get the code working again. But I suggest don't hurry, wait a few days to see if not someway the service is restored. Many such pauses occurred on weather.com before and at least up to now, they always has been fixed sooner or later. I'm not sure this time it also will be, but let's hope for the best.
GratefulJim!
Posts: 1
Joined: January 15th, 2020, 6:50 pm

Re: Weather.com WXDATA feed failing again

Post by GratefulJim! »

Fewer and fewer resources out there supporting variable day forecast info using WOEID data.

Even Yahoo switched from WOEID identifier to their own city lookup id code.

Ticking me off... because I LOVE gnometer, and do not want to change that weather widget out for some other skin's method.


I am able to get data back using WOEID using format:

https://weather.com/weather/5day/l/#weather.Zip#

example using Brick New Jersey WOED code USNJ0057

https://weather.com/weather/5day/l/usnj0057

But this is just HTML page data.. and not parsable for the webparser.dll to use in the widget format of the weather code.

Nothing close to the XML data

Perhaps someone can pick up on this for us???
Last edited by GratefulJim! on January 15th, 2020, 7:39 pm, edited 3 times in total.
kreg123
Posts: 3
Joined: January 15th, 2020, 6:19 pm

Re: Weather.com WXDATA feed failing again

Post by kreg123 »

balala wrote:
January 15th, 2020, 7:19 pm
There is no "code line" which might be replaced. All measures have to be replaced in order to get the code working again. But I suggest don't hurry, wait a few days to see if not someway the service is restored. Many such pauses occurred on weather.com before and at least up to now, they always has been fixed sooner or later. I'm not sure this time it also will be, but let's hope for the best.
Cross my fingers. Learning programming from scratch to make skin works is last thing I'm into. Anyway, thanks for responde balala, much appreciate it.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9742
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Weather.com WXDATA feed failing again

Post by balala »

kreg123 wrote:
January 15th, 2020, 7:30 pm
Learning programming from scratch to make skin works is last thing I'm into.
Just mention that editing skins is not programming in the real sense of the word. It's somehow similar, but it's not entirely a programming task, which is done into a programming language (in Lua or C for instance).
ms310
Posts: 148
Joined: April 1st, 2015, 7:16 am

Re: Weather.com WXDATA feed failing again

Post by ms310 »

My humble skin that uses isitraining.in is located here: https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=34233

I only post as it is good to have options! I use it in Japan and I find it quite accurate for "is it raining right now".

The icons are a little different - you can see them in the feed - they seem to follow a different scheme.
anbr07
Posts: 51
Joined: July 17th, 2016, 12:19 pm

Re: Weather.com WXDATA feed failing again

Post by anbr07 »

Having to make an account in Deviantart in order to just download a skin sucks. Are there any weather skins here in the forums?