It is currently April 19th, 2024, 5:03 am

Monstercat Visualizer Displays Special Characters As "?"

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Technotastic

Monstercat Visualizer Displays Special Characters As "?"

Post by Technotastic »

Greetings Rainmeter Community,

This is my first time posting to the forum for help, so please let me know if I have done something incorrectly.

I have been running Monstercat Visualizer for some time now, and overall it works very well. I use it to visualize the music I have hosted in my MediaMonkey media library. The one exception to Monstercat Visualizer's otherwise great functionality is that it seems unable to display Japanese or other special characters in its "Song Info" meter.

=========================================

IMPORTANT EDIT:

I have since discovered that this issue is not, in fact, the fault of Monstercat Visualizer. It is some kind of error that is native to the "NowPlaying" measure. If you create a new meter that does nothing except use the NowPlaying measure to get the current track or artist from MediaMonkey, the exact same issue occurs.

Media Monkey seems equiped to display all manner of special characters, as I have had no issues with displaying Japanese/special characters inside the Media Monkey Application. Once it sends the song information to Monstercat Visualizer however, the breakdown appears to occur.

As is usual for the Rainmeter community, I am not the first person to struggle with special characters in their meters. I have referenced the following threads, and attempted to implement their solutions, to no avail.

https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?p=166594
https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=4699
https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=17108

All of the files in the attached .zip should be encoded in either UTF-16 LE or UCS-2 LE BOM, but this does not seem to have had any effect.

Additional Information:
Rainmeter 4.3.1.3321 (64-bit)