It is currently March 29th, 2024, 12:56 am

SOLVED: This doesn't seem to work...

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
RedBrain144

SOLVED: This doesn't seem to work...

Post by RedBrain144 »

THIS ISSUE IS NOW CLOSED!

Hi, I am a novice starting to use WebParser in Rainmeter. In this script based off of Jarvis, I try to display my IP address.

Here is the code. The code is also below:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=50

[Styling]
FontColor=FFFFFFFF
FontFace=Ubuntu
FontSize=8
AntiAlias=1

[MeasureIp]
Measure=WebParser
URL=http://checkip.dyndns.org/%22
RegExp="(?siU)<body>(.+)address: (.+)</body>"
StringIndex=2
UpdateRate=600

[Display]
Meter=String
MeterStyle=Styling
MeasureName=MeasureIp
By the way, testing [OUTPUT] with dummy text does display text.

Any help is appreciated, thanks in advance. You may reply either to the Gist linked above or to this forum post.
Last edited by RedBrain144 on August 2nd, 2019, 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mak_kawa

Re: This doesn't seem to work...

Post by mak_kawa »

This works fine, when I added W= and H= options to the string meter, like W=100 and H=20.
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage

Post by eclectic-tech »

Yes, mak_kawa is right. When the skin loads the string meter driven by [MeasureIP] has a width and height of zero, because the webparser measure that drive it has no value.

Once the webparser finishes, you need to either update the associated meters with a FinishAction added to the webparser measure
FinishAction=[!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw] or add
DynamicWindowSize=1 to the [Rainmeter] section.

Either of these will update the skin and show your IP.
RedBrain144

Post by RedBrain144 »

Thank you both for your help, I will close this issue. The Forum was as great as expected, and my skin is now working, A great discreet IP :thumbup:
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage

Re: SOLVED: This doesn't seem to work...

Post by eclectic-tech »

Happy to help!
balala
Rainmeter Sage

Post by balala »