It is currently October 15th, 2019, 8:01 pm

Suggestion: Shape= vs. Shape1=

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
Cariboudjan
Posts: 13
Joined: May 12th, 2019, 8:55 am

Suggestion: Shape= vs. Shape1=

Cariboudjan » June 13th, 2019, 3:20 pm

For shape meters, the order for shape options are:

Shape=
Shape2=
Shape3=

etc.

Please allow:

Shape1=
Shape2=
Shape3=

So that Shape= and Shape1= are effectively the same thing.

This is so that use with SetOption, you can use something like: [!SetOption METER Shape#VARIABLE# "OPTIONS"]. Currently you can do this, but only if the value is 2 or higher. If the value is 1 it bugs out.


Nevermind. I found a better solution using Extend and numbering each section, but I had to use individual shape meters, which was more annoying than anything.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8823
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Suggestion: Shape= vs. Shape1=

balala » June 13th, 2019, 4:02 pm

Cariboudjan wrote:
June 13th, 2019, 3:20 pm
Nevermind. I found a better solution using Extend and numbering each section, but I had to use individual shape meters, which was more annoying than anything.
No, no. I agree with your suggestion. Shape1 should have to be allowed, beside Shape. Both should have to be let to be used.
My opinion...
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 3568
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Suggestion: Shape= vs. Shape1=

eclectic-tech » June 13th, 2019, 8:41 pm

balala wrote:
June 13th, 2019, 4:02 pm
No, no. I agree with your suggestion. Shape1 should have to be allowed, beside Shape. Both should have to be let to be used.
My opinion...
Second (third?) this suggestion! :thumbup:
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 1899
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: Suggestion: Shape= vs. Shape1=

Brian » June 17th, 2019, 6:56 am

While I don't totally disagree with this suggestion, we have tried to make this consistent with other numbered options in Rainmeter.

Besides Shape, here is a (possibly incomplete) list of other numbered options:
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/skins/rainmeter-section/#SolidColor
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/skins/rainmeter-section/#ContextTitle
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/skins/rainmeter-section/#ContextAction
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/skins/rainmeter-section/#BlurRegion
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/skins/rainmeter-section/#LocalFont (deprecated)
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/general-options/#MeasureName
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/general-options/#SolidColor
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/line/#LineColor
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/line/#Scale
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/string/inline/#InlineSetting
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/string/inline/#InlinePattern
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/general-options/ifconditions/#IfCondition
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/general-options/ifconditions/#IfTrueAction
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/general-options/ifconditions/#IfFalseAction
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/general-options/ifmatchactions/#IfMatch
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/general-options/ifmatchactions/#IfMatchAction
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/general-options/ifmatchactions/#IfNotMatchAction
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/webparser/#StringIndex2
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/webparser/#Header

The only options that do not follow this syntax are:
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/meters/general-options/image-options/#ColorMatrix
https://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/plugins/actiontimer/#ActionList

As you can see, this syntax follows with the majority of other numbered Rainmeter options, so we most likely will not be changing anything.

-Brian
soyelrafa
Posts: 76
Joined: March 1st, 2017, 3:09 pm

Re: Suggestion: Shape= vs. Shape1=

soyelrafa » June 19th, 2019, 10:42 pm

Hello, you can avoid that issue setting #VARIABLE# value to "".

I mean:

Code: Select all

VARIABLE=""
I just tested and works.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 8823
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Suggestion: Shape= vs. Shape1=

balala » June 20th, 2019, 11:36 am

soyelrafa wrote:
June 19th, 2019, 10:42 pm
Hello, you can avoid that issue setting #VARIABLE# value to "".

I mean:

Code: Select all

VARIABLE=""
I just tested and works.
Yes, it does, but if the Shape1 would be allowed, we could increment dynamically in a much more easier way the value of this variable, to get consecutively the ShapeX options in order.
Don't say that in the existing way wouldn't be possible, it definitely is, but it's harder.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 19558
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Suggestion: Shape= vs. Shape1=

jsmorley » June 20th, 2019, 11:41 am

While I understand the charm of this, the consensus so far on the team is that there is also a lot of value in consistency of behavior, and there are many, many places today where we use Thing/Thing2 and don't support Thing1.

We are exploring what it would take to make Thing/Thing1 be treated as equal in all these cases, and whether or not this can be generalized or would take laborious code changes in tons of places in Rainmeter.

I make no promises on this, but we are looking into it and will hopefully make a decision soon.
soyelrafa
Posts: 76
Joined: March 1st, 2017, 3:09 pm

Re: Suggestion: Shape= vs. Shape1=

soyelrafa » June 20th, 2019, 2:15 pm

balala wrote:
June 20th, 2019, 11:36 am
Yes, it does, but if the Shape would be allowed, we could increment dynamically in a much more easier way the value of this variable, to get consecutively the ShapeX options in order.
Don't say that in the existing way wouldn't be possible, it definitely is, but it's harder.
Yeah, I know it. I'm just replying to the first post, just in case that solution is better for him that the Extend solution he founds.