It is currently March 28th, 2024, 9:12 am

[D2D][Resolved] Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Backwards compatibility issues related to the conversion of Rainmeter to D2D.
oZone
Posts: 154
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

[D2D][Resolved] Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Post by oZone »

Stroke in shape meter doesn't work correctly in Rainmeter 4.3 when using bangs(?).

code to test

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=-1

[BG]
Meter=IMAGE
X=50
Y=50
W=50
H=50
SolidColor=255,255,255,255

[Highlight]
Meter=Shape
Shape=Rectangle 0,0,50,50 | StrokeWidth 10 | Extend Color
Color=Fill Color 0,0,0,0 | Stroke Color 255,0,0,0
X=r
Y=r
MouseOverAction=[!SetOption Highlight Color "Fill Color 0,0,0,255 | Stroke Color 255,0,0,255"][!UpdateMeter Highlight][!Redraw]
MouseLeaveAction=[!SetOption Highlight Color "Fill Color 0,0,0,0 | Stroke Color 255,0,0,0"][!UpdateMeter Highlight][!Redraw]
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Post by jsmorley »

I don't see any difference in behavior between 4.2 and 4.3?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Post by jsmorley »

The initial stroke and fill colors of the Shape meter are both "invisible"

Color=Fill Color 0,0,0,0 | Stroke Color 255,0,0,0

So you get just the solid white Image meter showing.

Then the "over" bang sets the fill to a solid black, and the stroke color to a solid red.

That is working as expected.

Then the "leave" bang sets the fill and stroke to "invisible" again, so just the white Image meter is showing.

I see nothing about this that is incorrect in either 4.2 or 4.3, nor in any way different in 4.2 vs. 4.3.
Bekarfel
Posts: 217
Joined: May 16th, 2012, 5:38 am

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Post by Bekarfel »

Agreed with jsmorley.
The BG is a solid 50x50 white square covered by an invisible (fill color black transparent, stroke color red transparent) 50x50 rectangle
The code for mouse over makes the fill color black opaque, stroke color red opaque.
The code for mouse leave makes the fill color black transparent, stroke color red transparent.
oZone
Posts: 154
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Post by oZone »

You need to turn on hardware acceleration.

Left image is initial load, middle hover, right after leaving

Right image should look like left, but it doesn't.
rainmeter.png
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Post by jsmorley »

I'm not getting that, with 4.2, 4.3 w/HWA or 4.3 wo/HWA.
GIF.gif
Make sure you have the latest alpha from https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=123&t=28872
oZone
Posts: 154
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Post by oZone »

It seems to affect only certain graphic cards driver. I tried running rainmeter with different GPU and driver version and some have issue while other don't.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Post by jsmorley »

oZone wrote:It seems to affect only certain graphic cards driver. I tried running rainmeter with different GPU and driver version and some have issue while other don't.
Well, I don't know. My only advice is to ensure that you have the latest and greatest drivers for any GPU you are using.
oZone
Posts: 154
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Post by oZone »

I tried using latest drivers from official site (Nvidia, Intel) and from Windows update.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issues with Stroke in Shape Meter

Post by jsmorley »

Can anyone else replicate the undesirable behavior with the skin in the first post of this thread?
Post Reply