Page 17 of 20

Re: Rainmeter Top Processes

Posted: February 18th, 2015, 3:52 am
by eclectic-tech
ailia wrote:Chatted up jsmorley a bit, going to add the filtering after all, but with a threshold to show processes that are filtered if CPU crosses the threshold.

Also, what OSes can you test? Sounding like Win 8/8.1 and Win10 need coverage most.
Ah... you went to the SOURCE! ;-)

I can test on Win7 32bit, and XP if needed...

Love Rainmeter, but don't need the latest and greatest performance anymore! :oops:

Re: Rainmeter Top Processes

Posted: February 18th, 2015, 3:57 am
by ailia
Hadn't even considered a 32 bit build oddly enough, adding that to the todo list for tomorrow.

Re: Rainmeter Top Processes

Posted: February 18th, 2015, 4:04 am
by eclectic-tech
ailia wrote:Hadn't even considered a 32 bit build oddly enough, adding that to the todo list for tomorrow.
:o yeah, some of us still use that antiquated 32-bit system...

That's okay! I usually browse the forum everyday, so whenever you need a guinea pig... drop me a PM

Re: Rainmeter Top Processes

Posted: February 18th, 2015, 7:01 am
by cwfrizzell
ailia wrote:Chatted up jsmorley a bit, going to add the filtering after all, but with a threshold to show processes that are filtered if CPU crosses the threshold.

Also, what OSes can you test? Sounding like Win 8/8.1 and Win10 need coverage most.
I can test Win 7 pro 32 bit

Re: Rainmeter Top Processes

Posted: February 18th, 2015, 9:21 am
by VasTex
If this works as expected I'd be happy to test on Win8.1 64bit.

Re: Rainmeter Top Processes

Posted: February 18th, 2015, 6:01 pm
by ailia
Can't say this first round will be user-friendly, but at least it shouldn't crash. Unfortunately no skin is included due to time constraints, but it should be pretty easy to figure out, meter list below should work.

http://www.filedropper.com/processmem

Guess that's what I deserve for not bounds-checking arrays, v0.0.0.2 uploaded

http://www.filedropper.com/processmemv2

New Versions a few posts down.

Code: Select all

[Mem]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\ProcessMem.dll
Order=workingset

[MemName1]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\ProcessMem.dll
ParentName=Mem
Type=name
Process=1

[Mem1]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\ProcessMem.dll
ParentName=Mem
Type=workingset
Process=1

[MemName2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\ProcessMem.dll
ParentName=Mem
Type=name
Process=2

[Mem2]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\ProcessMem.dll
ParentName=Mem
Type=workingset
Process=2

[MemName3]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\ProcessMem.dll
ParentName=Mem
Type=name
Process=3

[Mem3]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\ProcessMem.dll
ParentName=Mem
Type=workingset
Process=3

[MemName4]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\ProcessMem.dll
ParentName=Mem
Type=name
Process=4

[Mem4]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\ProcessMem.dll
ParentName=Mem
Type=workingset
Process=4

[MemName5]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\ProcessMem.dll
ParentName=Mem
Type=name
Process=5

[Mem5]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\ProcessMem.dll
ParentName=Mem
Type=workingset
Process=5
This is the list of valid options for type and order.

Code: Select all

            NonPagedSystemMemory,
            PagedSystemMemory,
            PagedMemory,
            PrivateMemory,
            VirtualMemory,
            WorkingSet,
            Name

Re: Rainmeter Top Processes

Posted: February 18th, 2015, 9:52 pm
by eclectic-tech
Testing on XPSP3

All options funtioning , but I did notice a slight difference in values reported.

Memory usage is slightly lower in the skin, than what is reported in Windows Task Mngr and/or PSList. About 1.5M lower at 50M meg usage; .5M lower at 10M usage.

Here's a screenshot of my test skin & PSList showing WS. Both updating at 1 second intervals
ws.png
Here's a screenshot of my test skin & PSList showing PrivMem. Same update rate
pm.png
Here's a screenshot of my test skin & PSList showing PageSysMem (This is almost exact.).
pgsm.png

Re: Rainmeter Top Processes

Posted: February 18th, 2015, 10:00 pm
by ailia
Compare again using Scale=1024 instead of Autoscale=1.

Edit: Also, looking like we might have a ProcessCpu.dll plugin soon, just working on improving the performance of it a bit more.

Update: ProcessCpu.dll Seems "done". In testing now.

Re: Rainmeter Top Processes

Posted: February 18th, 2015, 11:09 pm
by ailia
Finally with an example skin and packed as an .rmskin

http://www.filedropper.com/processplugins0003

Looking forward to hearing it doesn't crash ^.^

Release notes: Cpu usage only monitors user programs unless Rainmeter is forced to run under an administrative account. Memory usage has no such restriction.

Next build should support filtering, just didn't get around to it today.

List of tested operating systems:

Windows 7 x64

Re: Rainmeter Top Processes

Posted: February 19th, 2015, 3:26 am
by eclectic-tech
ailia wrote:Compare again using Scale=1024 instead of Autoscale=1.
...
Scale=1024 gives accurate results, but of course, no autoscaling...

AutoScale does not appear to work as described in the docs.

AutoScale=1k should scale at 1024, with kilobyte as the lowest value, but it returns a lower value.
AutoScale=2k returns a higher value, due to the use of 1000 divisor, instead of 1024.

Using any AutoScale value, never returns the correct value?... what am I missing? :(

EDIT: I did notice this a few weeks ago, when working with the WS mem and PerfMon plugin... it seems to only effect the WS mem values?