It is currently October 24th, 2021, 10:54 am

[V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Plugins and Addons popular with the Community
mhunchojack
Posts: 1
Joined: August 18th, 2020, 12:53 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by mhunchojack »

How do i enable/disable Acrylic blur?
I have tried this:

MouseOverAction=[!Redraw][!SetOption Blur Type Acrylic][!UpdateMeasure Blur]
MouseLeaveAction=[!Redraw][!SetOption Blur Type None][!UpdateMeasure Blur]

Also tried defining global variables and using [!SetVariable]. no luck.
Using [!CommandMeasure Blur EnableBlur] [!CommandMeasure Blur DisableBlur] forces the plugin to use normal blur instead of acrylic type.
mak_kawa
Posts: 908
Joined: December 30th, 2015, 9:47 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by mak_kawa »

Hi mhunchojack

IIRC, this measure option changes blur on(1)/off(0), BlurEnabled=1.
User avatar
Alex88
Posts: 81
Joined: July 18th, 2020, 1:23 am
Location: California

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by Alex88 »

Edit: BlurEnabled= is depreciated, rather use something as [!SetOption measureFrosted Type "Acrylic"] or similar.

mak_kawa's BlurEnabled=1 does work to toggle the given blur effect, and can be used with !SetOption. If it's a change to be permanent based on the user's choice, then use !WriteKeyValue as well. An example:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
 Update=-1
 AccurateText=1
 DynamicWindowSize=1
 DefaultAlwaysOnTop=1

[styleText]
 FontFace=Segoe UI
 FontSize=10
 StringAlign=CenterCenter
 FontColor=255,255,255
 AntiAlias=1

[measureFrosted]
 Measure=Plugin
 Plugin=FrostedGlass
 Type=Acrylic

 ; Edit: BlurEnabled is depreciated

[MeterBackground]
 Meter=Image
 SolidColor=50,50,50,50

 W=200
 H=100

[MeterSelect1]
 Meter=String
 MeterStyle=styleText
 Text=Click to Disable Acrylic

 X=100
 Y=40

 LeftMouseUpAction=[!SetOption measureFrosted Type "None"][!Update][!Redraw]

[MeterSelect2]
 Meter=String
 MeterStyle=styleText
 Text=Click to Enable Acrylic

 X=100
 Y=60

 LeftMouseUpAction=[!SetOption measureFrosted Type "Acrylic"][!Update][!Redraw]
Aside but might be still related and I don't think it was mentioned specifically yet, but just checked and found the slowdown when using Acrylic is a result of using Border= of any type aside from None, so Acrylic should still be useable if you remove borders.
Last edited by Alex88 on August 18th, 2020, 4:06 am, edited 2 times in total.
mak_kawa
Posts: 908
Joined: December 30th, 2015, 9:47 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by mak_kawa »

Ah... sorry, BlurEnabled= option is deprecated. (But still works... :-) )
User avatar
Alex88
Posts: 81
Joined: July 18th, 2020, 1:23 am
Location: California

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by Alex88 »

mak_kawa wrote: August 18th, 2020, 3:53 am Ah... sorry, BlurEnabled= option is deprecated. (But still works... :-) )
I see, good to know; I updated my code example.
mak_kawa
Posts: 908
Joined: December 30th, 2015, 9:47 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by mak_kawa »

Hi Alex88 and mhunchojack

My version for toggle blur, using variables...

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
BackgroundMode=2
SolidColor=192,192,192,64
SkinWidth=100
SkinHeight=100

[Variables]
BlurNum=0
Blur0=Blur
Blur1=None
BlurStr=#Blur0#

[someMeasure]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=FrostedGlass
UpdateDivider=-1
Type=#BlurStr#
DynamicVariables=1

[someMeter]
Meter=String
X=5
Y=5
Text=Toggle Blur
AntiAlias=1
LeftMouseUpAction=[!SetVariable BlurNum (1-#BlurNum#)][!SetVariable BlurStr [#Blur[#BlurNum]]][!UpdateMeasure someMeasure][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw]
DynamicVariables=1
mak_kawa
Posts: 908
Joined: December 30th, 2015, 9:47 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by mak_kawa »

So, mhunchojack, I am not sure why your blur control code doesn't work. What I can suggest is...
MouseOverAction=[!Redraw][!SetOption Blur Type Acrylic][!UpdateMeasure Blur]
MouseLeaveAction=[!Redraw][!SetOption Blur Type None][!UpdateMeasure Blur]
Position of the !Redraw bang seems to be somewhat problematic. What if;

Code: Select all

MouseOverAction=[!SetOption Blur Type Acrylic][!UpdateMeasure Blur][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw]
MouseLeaveAction=[!SetOption Blur Type None][!UpdateMeasure Blur][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw]
But it doesn't seem to be an essential problem... Anyway, if you post your whole code here, someone might help you...
User avatar
Cariboudjan
Posts: 195
Joined: May 12th, 2019, 8:55 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by Cariboudjan »

Still no possibility to define an area of blur (instead of covering the entire window)?
Thornily
Posts: 16
Joined: December 16th, 2020, 7:04 pm

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by Thornily »

Is there any way I could just disable that like cursor thing, where it takes over.
User avatar
JelleDekkers
Posts: 108
Joined: September 27th, 2017, 6:32 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Post by JelleDekkers »

Thornily wrote: December 17th, 2020, 8:33 pm Is there any way I could just disable that like cursor thing, where it takes over.
It's a known issue since a certain Windows 10 update a long time ago. Just don't use Acrylic as the blur type and you'll be fine.