It is currently November 18th, 2018, 11:41 pm

[V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Share your custom plugins and applications to enhance Rainmeter.
User avatar
theAzack9
Developer
Posts: 494
Joined: March 2nd, 2016, 6:23 pm

Re: [V1.1] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

theAzack9 » June 16th, 2018, 3:20 pm

[quote="eclectic-tech"][/quote]

Should be fixed now, thanks for reporting :)
User avatar
kyriakos876
Posts: 814
Joined: January 30th, 2017, 2:01 am
Location: Greece

Re: [V1.1.1] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

kyriakos876 » July 26th, 2018, 12:25 pm

Any chance I can change the color of the blur to something more white without adding a meter that messes with the opacity? (See windows 10 settings)
rxtd
Posts: 61
Joined: April 30th, 2017, 11:51 am

Re: [V1.1.1] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

rxtd » August 20th, 2018, 5:23 pm

Version 1.1.1 have one very annoying feature: if always writes "Acrylic is not supported on windows 10 builds until build 17063. Falling back to blur." on older versions of Windows.
I think that if I don't use Acrylic blur then the plugin shouldn't complain about version.
Same should be happening with Windows <10: even if the blur is disabled, the plugin writes message to logs.
And if a skin uses "BlurEnabled" option then after update to 1.1.1 plugin writes warnings to logs, so this version is not 100% backward compatible.
User avatar
Virginityrocks
Posts: 494
Joined: February 26th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Re: [V1.1.1] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Virginityrocks » September 5th, 2018, 4:47 pm

When using Acrylic or Blur in V1.1.1, skins blur flickers on/off when the skin updates when DynamicVariables=1. If a skin is set to Update=100, it's a strobe disco.

Hopefully you can fix this, because I like the Acrylic effect. The previous version did not flicker with DynamicVariables=1.

(The reason why I use DynamicVariables is to turn blur on or off without refreshing, such as during a transition using ActionTimer -- Maybe add a CommandMeasure for FrostedGlass to turn on and off blur?)

Edit: I've fixed the problem by using [!SetOption FrostedGlass DynamicVariables 0] when a transition is complete. But I'll leave this up so that you're aware of the flickering problem on update.



User avatar
Virginityrocks
Posts: 494
Joined: February 26th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Re: [V1.1.1] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

Virginityrocks » September 5th, 2018, 8:07 pm

Good work, by the way.
User avatar
theAzack9
Developer
Posts: 494
Joined: March 2nd, 2016, 6:23 pm

Re: [V1.1.1] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

theAzack9 » September 6th, 2018, 7:10 am

kyriakos876 wrote:Any chance I can change the color of the blur to something more white without adding a meter that messes with the opacity? (See windows 10 settings)
There is a field for this, but it only works for the acrylic type. I still think that the best way to add a tint is to set BackgroundMode=2 and SolidColor=Color in the Rainmeter section of the skin, since this will tint the entire skin without the need of any meters. :)
rxtd wrote: Version 1.1.1 have one very annoying feature: if always writes "Acrylic is not supported on windows 10 builds until build 17063. Falling back to blur." on older versions of Windows.
I think that if I don't use Acrylic blur then the plugin shouldn't complain about version.
Same should be happening with Windows <10: even if the blur is disabled, the plugin writes message to logs.
And if a skin uses "BlurEnabled" option then after update to 1.1.1 plugin writes warnings to logs, so this version is not 100% backward compatible.
The newest version should make the logger be a bit better :) It should now only log once or when the options change and only if the option is set to the invalid value.
Virginityrocks wrote: When using Acrylic or Blur in V1.1.1, skins blur flickers on/off when the skin updates when DynamicVariables=1. If a skin is set to Update=100, it's a strobe disco.

Hopefully you can fix this, because I like the Acrylic effect. The previous version did not flicker with DynamicVariables=1.

(The reason why I use DynamicVariables is to turn blur on or off without refreshing, such as during a transition using ActionTimer -- Maybe add a CommandMeasure for FrostedGlass to turn on and off blur?)

Edit: I've fixed the problem by using [!SetOption FrostedGlass DynamicVariables 0] when a transition is complete. But I'll leave this up so that you're aware of the flickering problem on update.
I really thought i tested dynamic variables :/ I seems it flickers when i just keep reapplying the effect, so i added a small check if it has changed or not. It should be fixed in the newest version. :) Thanks for reporting.
User avatar
kyriakos876
Posts: 814
Joined: January 30th, 2017, 2:01 am
Location: Greece

Re: [V1.1.1] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

kyriakos876 » September 6th, 2018, 9:59 am

theAzack9 wrote:There is a field for this, but it only works for the acrylic type. I still think that the best way to add a tint is to set BackgroundMode=2 and SolidColor=Color in the Rainmeter section of the skin, since this will tint the entire skin without the need of any meters. :)
I'm aware of the option but I will have to add "opacity" in the solidcolor option which would go against of what I wantI want to keep the opacity but with a white accent.
MaxCorpIndustries
Posts: 2
Joined: September 13th, 2018, 4:50 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

MaxCorpIndustries » September 13th, 2018, 4:52 am

Is there any way to change the intensity of the blur? Unfortunately the current blur is too strong (I am using the plugin to produce a 'blurred' effect, but still leave text visible).
User avatar
theAzack9
Developer
Posts: 494
Joined: March 2nd, 2016, 6:23 pm

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

theAzack9 » September 13th, 2018, 5:31 am

MaxCorpIndustries wrote:Is there any way to change the intensity of the blur? Unfortunately the current blur is too strong (I am using the plugin to produce a 'blurred' effect, but still leave text visible).
It is sadly just an on/off toggle for it, sorry :/
If Microsoft ever adds a way to change the intensity, then i'll be sure to add it tho :)

That said, you can somewhat control it by changing the transparency of the skin itself in the manage menu.
MaxCorpIndustries
Posts: 2
Joined: September 13th, 2018, 4:50 am

Re: [V1.1.2] FrostedGlass - Now with more acrylic

MaxCorpIndustries » September 13th, 2018, 11:23 pm

Thanks, that worked better than I expected!