It is currently April 19th, 2024, 8:31 am

Plugin: Chameleon

Plugins and Addons popular with the Community
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5391
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Post by eclectic-tech »

Socks the Fox wrote:It's just flat out refusing to allow me to download it. There's no link for me to say "yeah I know give it to me anyway."

The exact page says:
Whoa! Well, I will check that out...
I had no problem downloading it, but they may have different criteria if you are not the original poster...

Thanks for thee feedback!

EDIT: Yep, they flagged it as dangerous because of those included execute~able addins. Then they took me to a page to buy BitDefender for 40 bucks!! :uhuh:

I scanned my entire system to make sure and it is clean.
Posted it to my DeviantArt page: http://eclectic-tech.deviantart.com/art/Dynamic-for-Rainmeter-488964633
User avatar
Socks the Fox
Posts: 104
Joined: August 25th, 2015, 6:40 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Post by Socks the Fox »

A wild update appears!

I've made a few somewhat small changes to the color contrast code, so now it should pick better colors in a variety of different situations (I had a few wallpapers where it would pick a secondary background that was almost identical to one of the foreground colors, this should happen far less often now). This is most obvious on album art covers.

Again, download is available on my site here.
Author of Chameleon :: Like my plugin? Consider donating! I don't need much :3
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5391
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Post by eclectic-tech »

Definitely better at matching the desktop colors.
Thanks for the update! :thumbup:

You aren't giving yourself credit... :uhuh:
Image
User avatar
Socks the Fox
Posts: 104
Joined: August 25th, 2015, 6:40 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Post by Socks the Fox »

Weird, it's set in the DLL's resources. I wonder where Rainmeter gets that info from...
Author of Chameleon :: Like my plugin? Consider donating! I don't need much :3
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Post by jsmorley »

For C++ You create a .rc file and be sure you include it in the project file:

Code: Select all

#include <VerRsrc.h>
#include "../../Version.h"

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//
// Version
//

VS_VERSION_INFO VERSIONINFO
 FILEVERSION 2,0,3,0
 PRODUCTVERSION PRODUCTVER
 FILEFLAGSMASK 0x17L
#ifdef _DEBUG
 FILEFLAGS VS_FF_DEBUG
#else
 FILEFLAGS 0x0L
#endif
 FILEOS VOS_NT_WINDOWS32
 FILETYPE VFT_DLL
 FILESUBTYPE VFT_UNKNOWN
{
    BLOCK "StringFileInfo"
    {
        BLOCK "040904E4"
        {
            VALUE "FileVersion", "2.0.3.0"
            VALUE "LegalCopyright", "© 2012 - Brian Ferguson"
            VALUE "ProductName", "Rainmeter"
#ifdef _WIN64
            VALUE "ProductVersion", STRPRODUCTVER " (64-bit)"
#else
            VALUE "ProductVersion", STRPRODUCTVER " (32-bit)"
#endif //_WIN64
        }
    }
    BLOCK "VarFileInfo"
    {
        VALUE "Translation", 0x409, 1252
    }
}
https://github.com/rainmeter/rainmeter/tree/master/Plugins/PluginFileView
User avatar
Socks the Fox
Posts: 104
Joined: August 25th, 2015, 6:40 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Post by Socks the Fox »

I have one:
https://github.com/socks-the-fox/Chameleon/blob/master/rainmeter/Resources.rc

I guess it's the specific translation version?
Author of Chameleon :: Like my plugin? Consider donating! I don't need much :3
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Post by jsmorley »

I don't know, but if you edit the example I posted that is sorta the template we all use.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Post by jsmorley »

This is the one from the Plugin SDK:

Code: Select all

#define APSTUDIO_READONLY_SYMBOLS
#include <windows.h>
#undef APSTUDIO_READONLY_SYMBOLS

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//
// Version
//

VS_VERSION_INFO VERSIONINFO
 FILEVERSION 1,0,0,0
 PRODUCTVERSION 3,0,2,2161
 FILEFLAGSMASK 0x17L
#ifdef _DEBUG
 FILEFLAGS VS_FF_DEBUG
#else
 FILEFLAGS 0x0L
#endif
 FILEOS	VOS_NT_WINDOWS32
 FILETYPE VFT_DLL
 FILESUBTYPE VFT_UNKNOWN
BEGIN
    BLOCK "StringFileInfo"
    BEGIN
        BLOCK "040904E4"
        BEGIN
            VALUE "FileVersion", "1.0.0.0"
            VALUE "LegalCopyright", "© 2014 - YOUR NAME"

            // Don't change the entries below!
            VALUE "ProductName", "Rainmeter"
#ifdef _WIN64
            VALUE "ProductVersion", "3.0.2.2161 (64-bit)"
#else
            VALUE "ProductVersion", "3.0.2.2161 (32-bit)"
#endif //_WIN64
        END
    END
    BLOCK "VarFileInfo"
    BEGIN
        VALUE "Translation", 0x409, 1252
    END
END
GLing
Posts: 23
Joined: July 1st, 2015, 5:05 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Post by GLing »

Thanks Socks this is a great plugin, for a future release I would suggest a method of getting the darkest or lightest color i.e. Foreground1 is the darkest of the 4 so use it. Another nice option would be to use the complimentary color so an added ComplimentaryColor return value.
User avatar
Socks the Fox
Posts: 104
Joined: August 25th, 2015, 6:40 pm

Re: Plugin: Chameleon

Post by Socks the Fox »

Interesting... for the lightest/darkest color measure would you prefer it to return the color code itself or which main measure (i.e. Foreground1, Background2)?

Complementary colors shouldn't be too hard to add.

I might possibly be able to add a measure to return whether the average brightness of the image is lighter or darker too, as a 1 or a 0...
Author of Chameleon :: Like my plugin? Consider donating! I don't need much :3