It is currently February 25th, 2021, 9:35 pm

Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

A package of skins with a "theme" or by a single author
User avatar
digidog
Posts: 4
Joined: November 9th, 2020, 12:52 am

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by digidog »

SilverAzide wrote: November 22nd, 2020, 4:45 pm OK great! Sounds like you are set then. If you want to keep the CPU name but just clean it up a little, try the following. Edit the skin and look for a measure [MeasureCPUDisplayName]. Replace the "Substitute" line with this:

Code: Select all

Substitute="\(R\)":"","\(TM\)":"","\(tm\)":"","Intel ":"","AMD ":"","CPU ":"","@.*":""," \w+-Core.*":""," \d*-Core.*":"","\s\s":" ","\s$":""
If all works well, your CPU name should appear as "Ryzen 5 5600X" and none of the extra junk at the end. The next release of the CPU Meter includes this code.
This was a great tip to see ! Thank you, the truncated text bothered my OCD a little wee bit :)
It now shows just Ryzen 5 3600 as expected.

@ quazerNOS ... Soooooo jealous of your new 5600x ! I cannot get my mitts on one for love nor money...
prisoner881
Posts: 14
Joined: November 5th, 2015, 2:15 am

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by prisoner881 »

SilverAzide, one thing I'm curious if you have any plans to address. As core counts continue to grow, the CPU Meter is getting longer and longer. I have 16 cores displayed now (8 physical, 16 logical on a Ryzen 3800X). I can only imagine how crazy it would be with something like a 32-core monster (64 logical cores). At some point it's going to get too long to use in its current form.

Any ideas on where to go from the current design? I ask only because I can't see an easy way around it myself but hoping you're more imaginative than I am!
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1133
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by SilverAzide »

prisoner881 wrote: November 25th, 2020, 9:26 pm SilverAzide, one thing I'm curious if you have any plans to address. As core counts continue to grow, the CPU Meter is getting longer and longer. I have 16 cores displayed now (8 physical, 16 logical on a Ryzen 3800X). I can only imagine how crazy it would be with something like a 32-core monster (64 logical cores). At some point it's going to get too long to use in its current form.

Any ideas on where to go from the current design? I ask only because I can't see an easy way around it myself but hoping you're more imaginative than I am!
Right now it's pretty much maxed out at 32 cores/64 threads, as you say. Someone tried the Gadgets on a 32-thread Threadripper. :thumbup: But no one has tried the Gadgets on a 64-core/128-thread Threadripper CPU... yet... probably because they are like $4000 a pop just for the processor. If they did, a 128-thread CPU Meter (about 1800 pixels tall!) would fit on a 4K monitor, or a normal monitor in portrait mode! :) Maybe I'll have to create a variant that runs horizontally... O.O
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
Arbitria
Posts: 4
Joined: November 26th, 2020, 8:43 am

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by Arbitria »

Rainmeter Forum, hello!

AddGadgets.com gadgets are an ever-pleasing breeze of important little details right in the face of the computer age.
They have more fans than you can count.

@SilverAzide, there is a problem on Virustotal, some antiviruses identify gadgets as malware:

Gadgest 5.5.1
https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/4a49f7b7ad822cf82340bdf08b69451c23f08074641349437f425ed9053ab39e/detection
Top Process 5.2.0
https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/6b4fcc203f96bc3ec553ce3327aa17c99b61d121d4c951730ccb5574391ad122/detection

Thoughts ?!
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1133
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by SilverAzide »

Arbitria wrote: November 26th, 2020, 10:06 am Rainmeter Forum, hello!

AddGadgets.com gadgets are an ever-pleasing breeze of important little details right in the face of the computer age.
They have more fans than you can count.

@SilverAzide, there is a problem on Virustotal, some antiviruses identify gadgets as malware:

Gadgest 5.5.1
https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/4a49f7b7ad822cf82340bdf08b69451c23f08074641349437f425ed9053ab39e/detection
Top Process 5.2.0
https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/6b4fcc203f96bc3ec553ce3327aa17c99b61d121d4c951730ccb5574391ad122/detection

Thoughts ?!
Hello! Glad you like the Gadgets! These are false positives. These Gadgets contain a common utility executable, RainRGB (the color picker tool), that sometimes gets incorrectly flagged. I think it is because it was written in a programming language that script-kiddies like to use to create malware. It is safe to use (it was written by one of the Rainmeter devs for the community to use), but you can delete it if you want. You'll just need to select colors some other way and enter the RGB values yourself. I may replace this utility with one created with Rainmeter at some point.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 12279
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by balala »

SilverAzide wrote: November 26th, 2020, 4:04 pm These are false positives. These Gadgets contain a common utility executable, RainRGB (the color picker tool), that sometimes gets incorrectly flagged.
Same way the NirCmd is also detected by VirusTotal as being infected, even if it is not.
b1tbull
Posts: 2
Joined: December 7th, 2020, 1:16 pm

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by b1tbull »

Greetings,

Last week addgadgets and windows sidebar broke down for reason unknown. Two system restores did not fix the issue. For more than a decade my second screen was filled with a dozen system monitoring gadgets.
So what a relief that you developed and made available an almost perfect clone of my favorite addgadgets.
Thanks a million and keep up the good work. :bow:

Francis
Zejott
Posts: 4
Joined: December 7th, 2020, 4:12 pm

All CPU Meter CPU Fan Speed not working

Post by Zejott »

The "All CPU Meter" Skin found in SilverAzide's "Gadgets" Suite v5.1.1 (https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=20699) isn't showing CPU fan speed. I'm using HWiNFO64 to read the sensors. I followed the given instructions (https://github.com/SilverAzide/Gadgets/wiki/HOW-TO-Configure-the-All-CPU-Meter-to-show-fan-usage#how-to-configure-the-all-cpu-meter-to-show-fan-usage) and edited the HWiNFO settings according to my sensor IDs, which can be seen in the screenshots below. All the other sensor readings are shown correctly, except the CPU fan speed.
sensors.JPG
sensor ID of mainboard CPU FAN sensor
settings.JPG
settings i put in the HWiNFO settings file

Does anynone have an idea how to fix this?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1133
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Gadgets 5.5.1 - inspired by AddGadgets.com Sidebar Gadgets

Post by SilverAzide »

b1tbull wrote: December 7th, 2020, 1:26 pm Greetings,

Last week addgadgets and windows sidebar broke down for reason unknown. Two system restores did not fix the issue. For more than a decade my second screen was filled with a dozen system monitoring gadgets.
So what a relief that you developed and made available an almost perfect clone of my favorite addgadgets.
Thanks a million and keep up the good work. :bow:

Francis
Thanks, glad you like the Gadgets! You get kudos for being able to keep the old ones alive for so long. They stopped working for me about 5 years ago, which is why I built these. If you want more, check out my GitHub site. There are a TON more on dudebaker's site, Gadgets Additions. He's got all the stock market gadgets replicated, plus a bunch more.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 1133
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: All CPU Meter CPU Fan Speed not working

Post by SilverAzide »

Zejott wrote: December 7th, 2020, 4:37 pm The "All CPU Meter" Skin found in SilverAzide's "Gadgets" Suite v5.1.1 (https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=20699) isn't showing CPU fan speed. I'm using HWiNFO64 to read the sensors. I followed the given instructions (https://github.com/SilverAzide/Gadgets/wiki/HOW-TO-Configure-the-All-CPU-Meter-to-show-fan-usage#how-to-configure-the-all-cpu-meter-to-show-fan-usage) and edited the HWiNFO settings according to my sensor IDs, which can be seen in the screenshots below. All the other sensor readings are shown correctly, except the CPU fan speed.

Does anynone have an idea how to fix this?
Hello,
It looks like you have configured HWiNFO correctly. (Thanks for the screenshot!) One thing I have to ask (sorry, I know this might be obvious), but did you check BOTH the "Show Core Temps" and "Show Fan Usage" options in the Settings?
Screenshot 2020-12-07 120857.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...