It is currently April 28th, 2024, 12:15 pm

Various questions (calendar, feeds, finding plugins/skins)

General topics related to Rainmeter.
meorime

Various questions (calendar, feeds, finding plugins/skins)

Post by meorime »

Hello!

I'm brand new to Rainmeter/Engima. I'm a "poweruser" who can tweak existing scripting, but by no means am I a scripter myself. I can also run Photoshop decently, but am in no way an artist. I'm running Windows 7.

That said, I have some questions based on what comes in the default package! I found y'all through Lifehacker (my husband finally convinced me to add it to my feed). I *love* the simplicity of the Engima skin and it frankly never occurred to me that the Windows desktop could be adapted in such a way.

Now, on to the questions:

(1) Plug-ins. I've been browsing the forums looking for "plug-ins" and looking at posts that show what others have done. I'd love a more robust version of the weather skin and see it on many desktops, but how do I find them? I'll see posts with some links to various weather sites, or showing text-based code, but no links to the skins that would match the code. Am I missing something obvious?

(2) Calendars. I actually very much prefer the Windows Calendar program that came with Vista, so much so that I copied it over to my Windows 7 installation and still run it. Is there any way to somehow display the week's events using the Enigma calendar skin based on what I already have programmed in Windows Calendar?

As an alternative, I can export it to Google calendar, BUT, I had to do treat it as five different calendars (that's how I have it in the Windows Calendar program because I wanted color coded events). That means that I have five different XML file links, but the skin only allows for a single calendar link which defeat my need to see all my events for the week.