It is currently September 29th, 2024, 3:28 pm

Preventing multiple instances of apps opening

General topics related to Rainmeter.
SkadefrQen

Preventing multiple instances of apps opening

Post by SkadefrQen »

I am new to Rainmeter and I already love it!
A big thank you to the developer and supporters from me :)

Would there be any way to make a counter or set a flag?
To make it, so when I click on a button to open the app, it will check if the app is already running and minimize or maximize the app and not open multiple instances?

I did read "What Rainmeter is not..." and although looking through 15 pages, I am sorry if I missed already posted threads on the subject.
jsmorley
Developer

Re: Preventing multiple instances of apps opening

Post by jsmorley »

Something like this should partially address the question. It won't "minimize" or "maximize" the app, which is just outside the control of Rainmeter, but will keep it from running multiple times:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1

[MeasureRunNotepad]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Process
ProcessName=Notepad.exe
Disabled=1
UpdateDivider=-1
IfBelowValue=1
IfBelowAction=["Notepad.exe"]

[MeterNotepad]
Meter=String
FontSize=12
FontColor=255,255,255,255
SolidColor=47,47,47,255
Padding=5,5,5,5
AntiAlias=1
Text=Notepad
LeftMouseUpAction=[!EnableMeasure MeasureRunNotepad][!UpdateMeasure MeasureRunNotepad]
What happens when you execute an app that is already running is just not something that Rainmeter can in any way control. It is entirely up to the app. Some, like Notepad, will open a second instance. Some, like Calculator, will "restore" and give focus to the existing instance. Others, like Chrome, will open a new tab in the existing instance if the command has a parameter to open a page, or will open a whole new instance if not. Rainmeter just can't know or control the behavior. It's baked into the application itself.