It is currently April 13th, 2021, 9:45 pm

SearchDrive

Skins to open folders and launch applications and websites
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21619
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

SearchDrive

Post by jsmorley »

I use a little skin for searching my hard drive for files, and thought I would share it.

It uses a little utility Locate32 that has been around for a long time. I have long used it outside of Rainmeter as my search tool of choice.

What I have done is include this free utility with the skin, and design the skin in such as way that the utility is used in a "portable" mode and does not require installation or configuration.

The skin:

SearchDrive_2.0.rmskin
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
When the skin is launched or refreshed, the local database file for Locate32 is automatically updated in the background. It will index all your hard drives and allow you to find any file on your system virtually instantly.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21619
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: SearchDrive

Post by jsmorley »

Advanced:

If you already have an installation of Locate32, or you want to use it both in the skin and outside of the skin as a stand-alone tool, make the following changes to the skin:

Code: Select all


Update=1000
OnRefreshAction=["#PathToLocate32#" -d "#@#Addons\Locate32\index.dbs" -U]

[Variables]
PathToLocate32="#@#Addons\Locate32\Locate32.exe"

[MeasureSearchInput]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=InputText
X=1
Y=1
W=200
H=23
Command1=[Play "#CURRENTPATH#NewClick.wav"]["#PathToLocate32#" -d "#@#Addons\Locate32\index.dbs" -r -- "$UserInput$"]
Remove the part of the command line that defines the local database. So:

OnRefreshAction=["#PathToLocate32#" -U]

Change the path to the application:

PathToLocate32="C:\Program Files (x86)\locate32\locate32.exe"

Change the InputText command to the tool to remove the definition of the local database:

Command1=[Play "#CURRENTPATH#NewClick.wav"]["#PathToLocate32#" -r -- "$UserInput$"]

This way the installed version and default database locations will be used.
User avatar
exper1mental
Posts: 269
Joined: January 9th, 2013, 7:52 pm
Location: Clemson University

Re: SearchDrive

Post by exper1mental »

Can it work with rainmeter 3.0.2?
Image
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21619
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: SearchDrive

Post by jsmorley »

exper1mental wrote:Can it work with rainmeter 3.0.2?
Ah, yes it will. I incorrectly created the .rmskin. Get the new one in the first post.
User avatar
exper1mental
Posts: 269
Joined: January 9th, 2013, 7:52 pm
Location: Clemson University

Re: SearchDrive

Post by exper1mental »

jsmorley wrote:Ah, yes it will. I incorrectly created the .rmskin. Get the new one in the first post.
:D Thanks

Edit:
I got this error after trying to update the database:
"Cannot open database file
'E:\Users\%USERNAME%\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\SearchDrive\@Resources\Addons\Locate32\index.dbs'.

Check that the file path is correct and you have permissions to write into the file.

Last system error
The operation completed successfully."

Then, when I attempted to update it a second time it worked. Go figure... :???:

Is it possible to tell Locate32 to update its databases from Rainmeter or a command line? Just saw you have a line of code that updates its libraries :D


Side note: In the about section it displays the that I'm running Win 7 on v6.2 build 9200. :rofl: The physical memory and paged memory (as well as the free ones) are all displaying 4194303 KB, or 4 GB. I'm guessing these are both b/c it hasn't been updated in awhile and wasn't designed for 64-bit computer but I thought I'd point it out anyway.
Image
User avatar
exper1mental
Posts: 269
Joined: January 9th, 2013, 7:52 pm
Location: Clemson University

Re: SearchDrive

Post by exper1mental »

I got the RMSkin to work such that its redistributable without any error messages or bugs. I just deleted the Index.dbs file and renamed an empty txt file Index.dbs which it updates without a problem.
Image
Bgdrls
Posts: 66
Joined: April 29th, 2011, 1:03 am

Re: SearchDrive

Post by Bgdrls »

jsmorley, it would be great if you make the same skin, but with Everything search engine.

Home:
http://www.voidtools.com/

Latest versions:
http://voidtools.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=9

Happy New Year
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 21619
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: SearchDrive

Post by jsmorley »

Bgdrls wrote:jsmorley, it would be great if you make the same skin, but with Everything search engine.

Home:
http://www.voidtools.com/

Latest versions:
http://voidtools.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=9

Happy New Year
But I don't like Everything as well as I do Locate32.

Help yourself. As long as Everything can be driven from the command line like Locate32 can (I have no idea if it does or doesn't) then you should be able to use what I have and modify it to use Everything.
Bgdrls
Posts: 66
Joined: April 29th, 2011, 1:03 am

Re: SearchDrive

Post by Bgdrls »

I did it already with installed Everything, and skin looks like this:

Image

I have one question. Is it possible to make "SolidColor=" totally invisible (0,0,0,1 is not solution), but $UserInput$ text to stay visible?
User avatar
cwfrizzell
Posts: 75
Joined: August 10th, 2009, 9:03 pm

Re: SearchDrive

Post by cwfrizzell »

Bgdrls wrote:I did it already with installed Everything...
Care to share?

Thanks in advance!
Cheers!

Chuck