It is currently April 19th, 2024, 6:07 pm

Time zone problem with World.ini

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
gerdgoebel

Time zone problem with World.ini

Post by gerdgoebel »

I am new to Rainmeter and have just downloaded the latest beta and the 2.6 Enigma.
I installed both with the respective installers and Rainmeter is up and running.
I added various defaults skins but the World.ini is giving me some trouble.
When choosing my location for the World1WeatherCode i first choose my US zip code 95658. After refreshing the skin the city name was correctly displayed. However, the clock still shows some UK time.
I then checked what codes are used in the Variables.inc file and the World1WeatherCode showed the code for London.
I looked up my weather location id on google and found USCA0761 which i added to the Variables.inc file. After restarting Rainmeter the clock still shows UK time. It appears that my timezone (US-PST) is not determined correctly.
I also tried to add the location code to the Rainmeter.ini file but again, the time zone is still UK.
Where do i need to make what changes in order to get the correct time zone and time?
Kaelri
Developer

Re: Time zone problem with World.ini

Post by Kaelri »

Good - I expected some problems with this. Yahoo's use of standard time zone codes is kind of hit-and-miss, and since it doesn't provide the actual numbers, the World skins have to convert the codes to the numbers via a Substitute key in [MeasureTimeZone].

Check that line for your time zone code, as it appears in the Yahoo Weather feed. If it's there, but showing the wrong number (they're all relative to GMT), change it. If it's not there, you'll have to add it yourself.

In either case, I'd really appreciate it if you pass the correction along to me, so I can get it in the source code. :)
Benjamin Linus

Post by Benjamin Linus »

:welcome:

Do not modify the ini files just use the variables.inc.

[Variables]
WeatherCode=USCA0761
Unit=f