It is currently September 29th, 2024, 9:35 pm

Looking for a transparent overlay

General topics related to Rainmeter.
checker1027
Posts: 7
Joined: April 7th, 2013, 7:27 pm

Looking for a transparent overlay

Post by checker1027 »

Hello All,
I just got a new LED LCD TV that I use only as a computer monitor and it has all kinds of warnings about burn-in. Never seemed to have a problem with my old 24" gateway monitor. Anyway, in order to play it safe I guess, I'm looking for a 'screensaver' type skin that would throw some translucent color items up on the screen. The windows bubbles screensaver would be fine except it screen shots the screen and the background remains static. I have all my other rainmeter stuff running (clocks and the like) along with the pandora one app and other stuff. I'd like all that to continue to show through and update as normal. Just want some overlay to throw bars/bubbles/whatever over the screen to stop this burn-in that samsung seems to think I still need to be worried about.

Any thoughts, ideas, or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Enjoy!
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22793
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Looking for a transparent overlay

Post by jsmorley »

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[MeterBackground]
Meter=Image
W=#SCREENAREAWIDTH#
H=#SCREENAREAHEIGHT#
SolidColor=0,0,0,200
LeftMouseUpAction=!DeactivateConfig
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeterBox1]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=200
SolidColor=207,72,72
SolidColor2=207,200,72
GradientAngle=90
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeterBox2]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=200
SolidColor=207,72,72
SolidColor2=207,200,72
GradientAngle=90
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeterBox3]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=200
SolidColor=207,72,72
SolidColor2=207,200,72
GradientAngle=90
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeterBox4]
Meter=Image
W=200
H=200
SolidColor=207,72,72
SolidColor2=207,200,72
GradientAngle=90
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureMove1X]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Random
LowBound=0
HighBound=(#SCREENAREAWIDTH#-200)
UpdateRandom=1
OnUpdateAction=[!SetOption MeterBox1 X [MeasureMove1X]]
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureMove1Y]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Random
LowBound=0
HighBound=(#SCREENAREAHEIGHT#-200)
UpdateRandom=1
OnUpdateAction=[!SetOption MeterBox1 Y [MeasureMove1Y]][!UpdateMeter MeterBox1][!Redraw]
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureMove2X]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Random
LowBound=0
HighBound=(#SCREENAREAWIDTH#-200)
UpdateRandom=1
OnUpdateAction=[!SetOption MeterBox2 X [MeasureMove2X]]
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureMove2Y]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Random
LowBound=0
HighBound=(#SCREENAREAHEIGHT#-200)
UpdateRandom=1
OnUpdateAction=[!SetOption MeterBox2 Y [MeasureMove2Y]][!UpdateMeter MeterBox2][!Redraw]
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureMove3X]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Random
LowBound=0
HighBound=(#SCREENAREAWIDTH#-200)
UpdateRandom=1
OnUpdateAction=[!SetOption MeterBox3 X [MeasureMove3X]]
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureMove3Y]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Random
LowBound=0
HighBound=(#SCREENAREAHEIGHT#-200)
UpdateRandom=1
OnUpdateAction=[!SetOption MeterBox3 Y [MeasureMove3Y]][!UpdateMeter MeterBox3][!Redraw]
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureMove4X]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Random
LowBound=0
HighBound=(#SCREENAREAWIDTH#-200)
UpdateRandom=1
OnUpdateAction=[!SetOption MeterBox4 X [MeasureMove4X]]
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureMove4Y]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Random
LowBound=0
HighBound=(#SCREENAREAHEIGHT#-200)
UpdateRandom=1
OnUpdateAction=[!SetOption MeterBox4 Y [MeasureMove4Y]][!UpdateMeter MeterBox4][!Redraw]
DynamicVariables=1
Set the opacity of the background meter to anything you like. If you set it to SolidColor=0,0,0,1 it will be "invisible", but still react to the mouse click.

There are an unlimited number of ways to come at this, with actual images, different formulas, all kinds of stuff. The basic idea is just to randomize some meter or meters on the screen based on the #SCREENAREAWIDTH# and #SCREENAREAHEIGHT#.

Whatever you use for the meter(s), I would advise that they be square or rectangular, so no "corners" of the screen are missed.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22793
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Looking for a transparent overlay

Post by jsmorley »

Something like this would work as well:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[MeterBackground]
Meter=Image
W=#SCREENAREAWIDTH#
H=#SCREENAREAHEIGHT#
SolidColor=0,0,0,200
LeftMouseUpAction=!DeactivateConfig
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureTime]
Measure=Time
Format=%#I:%M:%S %p

[MeterTime]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureTime
FontSize=100
FontColor=255,255,255,255
SolidColor=80,80,80,255
StringEffect=Shadow
AntiAlias=1

[MeasureMoveX]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Random
LowBound=0
HighBound=(#SCREENAREAWIDTH#-[MeterTime:W])
UpdateRandom=1
OnUpdateAction=[!SetOption MeterTime X [MeasureMoveX]]
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureMoveY]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Random
LowBound=0
HighBound=(#SCREENAREAHEIGHT#-[MeterTime:H])
UpdateRandom=1
OnUpdateAction=[!SetOption MeterTime Y [MeasureMoveY]][!UpdateMeter MeterTime][!Redraw]
DynamicVariables=1