It is currently September 29th, 2024, 9:36 pm

Will Rainmeter damage my SSD?

General topics related to Rainmeter.
r-o-n-i-n

Will Rainmeter damage my SSD?

Post by r-o-n-i-n »

Hey there. What everyone knows (or should know) is, that repetitious write/delete operations shorten the lifetime of a SSD.

I love rainmeter, I want to use it, so my question is:

Will using rainmeter harm my SSD? All those widgets,feeds, and graphs... Do they constantly write/delete protocolls?

I am new to this and would like to hear your feedback on this issue.
smurfier

Re: Will Rainmeter damage my SSD?

Post by smurfier »

Most skins do not write their data to a local file. The only data this is used is located in RAM.
GitHub | DeviantArt | Tumblr
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
jsmorley
Developer

Post by jsmorley »

Probably the only things that pretty consistently (I think it is once every 10 minutes or some such) writes to the drive are the NetIn/NetOut/NetTotal measures that monitor network traffic. These write to Rainmeter.data to keep track of ongoing network statistics. Also any WebParser-based skins (weather, gmail checker, rss feeds) write to the drive (generally again once every 10 minutes) in the TEMP folder when they hit a web site and download the HTML.

While the amount of writing isn't anything excessive or something to worry about with an SSD drive, (Windows itself is pretty much constantly writing something to the drive) you could always just stay away from these kinds of skins, or run Rainmeter in "portable" mode on a non-SSD drive if you are concerned.
Mordasius

Post by Mordasius »

Rainmeter writes very little to the hard drive when compared with other programs such as Firefox, Avast! or Photoshop. You can check this by grabbing a copy of Microsoft's Process Monitor and setting up filters like those below.