It is currently April 27th, 2024, 8:11 pm

Looking for some hints.

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Citrus

Looking for some hints.

Post by Citrus »

Hi!

I'm a total noob with Rainmeter (but an experienced programmer otherwise), and I'm trying to put some skins together. Some of the things I want to do, I haven't seen a good similar example of. Here are my curveballs, I hope that they're possible - and interesting:

1. I want to create something like the RSS readers out there. They're pretty cut and dry, but for the meters, I want to have both a graphical bullet and a string for each item. Is there an easy way to do that, that I'm just missing? The documentation implies that meters must be either Image or String type, and you can't do both. Can you? If not, is there a good way to "fake it", maybe having two meters next to each other or something?

2. Also, for the above meter, I'd like to have the style of each RSS item have a possible different color, based on what they contain. Picture an RSS feed with different news sections for every story (Sports in blue, Entertainment in green, etc.) I'd also like to do this with my Google calendar feed - a different color for each entry, based on what named calendar it's in. Is this possible? It looks like I could do it with a dynamic variable, but the documentation says that the WebParser plugin can't use them. Although, I imagine that the meters they feed can? A super-simple example would be a huge boost for me here. No meter I've seen on DA or Customize has done this.