It is currently March 29th, 2024, 1:24 pm

Skin to input a keyboard key or shortcut

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
rebsxxi

Skin to input a keyboard key or shortcut

Post by rebsxxi »

Hi guys! I'm pretty new to Rainmeter.

I'm just wondering if there is a way for a certain image skin to input a keyboard key (F10, F12, etc.) or a keyboard shortcut (Alt+F4, Windows+J, etc.) instead of actually pressing the keys on the keyboard?

To be specific, I'd like to use The Corner Ribbon skin http://browse.deviantart.com/?qh=&section=&q=the+corner+ribbon#/d3b3l0q, with an app called Jedi Concentrate. So when I click the ribbon, it will input a certain keyboard key (F12) or shortcut (Win+J) to do a task offered by the app.

Any help will be appreciated. :D
jsmorley
Developer

Re: Skin to input a keyboard key or shortcut

Post by jsmorley »

Not in Rainmeter proper. You would need to call some external program that can simulate keys (AutoIt, NirCmd, etc) and pass the program the values.
rebsxxi

Post by rebsxxi »

Thank you sir. I'll try that. :D
Kryptonite

Post by Kryptonite »

Thanks JSMorley for the tip on using NirCmd for executing keyboard shortcut keys. I was trying to have a clock skin speak the time when it was clicked. I used a free speaking clock program (http://www.lux-aeterna.com/) that starts with Rainmeter. This program will speak the time when you press ctrl+alt+s. This is why I was looking for something in Rainmeter to execute this key combination.

I downloaded the NirCmd.exe program (http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/nircmd.html) and placed it directly into my windows directory (this is done by the program if you want). The benefit of doing this is that you don't have to add the program location using @include#skinspath# variable to any of your skins.