It is currently September 30th, 2024, 1:34 am

Time Text keeps getting cut off in double digits

General topics related to Rainmeter.
Valthiel
Posts: 2
Joined: September 24th, 2012, 7:23 pm

Re: Time Text keeps getting cut off in double digits

Post by Valthiel »

Hi,

I am quite new to this and I have a very similar problem with my weather skin.

I already added the "DynamicWindowSize=1" under the "[rainmeter]", but it does not seem to do anything.

I changed the x-values for the texts from 94 to 100, but it just shifted the text to the right and now its overlapping with the wather logo. I understand that it is supposed to just shift the text, but that does not solve my Problem, as some texts are still too big and will still get cut off at the left side.

Is there something else I can try?

Thanks in advance!

This is my .ini file:

Code: Select all

;Metadata added by RainBrowser
;http://rainmeter.net/RainCMS/?q=Rainmeter101_AnatomyOfASkin

[Metadata]
Name=FlatCircleWeather
Config=
Description=
Instructions=
Version=
Tags=
License=
Variant=
Preview=

;End of added Metadata

[Rainmeter]
DynamicWindowSize=1

[Variables]
Location=AUXX0010
########################
// Look up your location at www.weather.com
########################
Type=m
postfix=C

########################
// For Fahrenheit:
// Type=f
// postfix=F
########################

[Image]
Meter=IMAGE
ImageName=bgweather.png
X=124
Y=0


[mWeatherRSS]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
UpdateRate=3600
Url=http://xml.weather.com/weather/local/#Location#?cc=*&unit=#Type#&dayf=6
RegExp="(?siU).*<locale>(.*)</locale>.*<ut>(.*)</ut>.*<ud>(.*)</ud>.*<us>(.*)</us>.*<up>(.*)</up>.*<ur>(.*)</ur>.*<loc id="(.*)">.*<dnam>(.*)</dnam>.*<tm>(.*)</tm>.*<lat>(.*)</lat>.*<lon>(.*)</lon>.*<sunr>(.*)</sunr>.*<suns>(.*)</suns>.*<zone>(.*)</zone>.*<cc>.*<lsup>(.*)</lsup>.*<obst>(.*)</obst>.*<tmp>(.*)</tmp>.*<flik>(.*)</flik>.*<t>(.*)</t>.*<icon>(.*)</icon>.*<bar>.*<r>(.*)</r>.*<d>(.*)</d>.*<wind>.*<s>(.*)</s>.*<gust>(.*)</gust>.*<d>(.*)</d>.*<t>(.*)</t>.*<hmid>(.*)</hmid>.*<vis>(.*)</vis>.*<uv>.*<i>(.*)</i>.*<t>(.*)</t>.*<dewp>(.*)</dewp>.*<moon>.*<icon>(.*)</icon>.*<t>(.*)</t>.*"
StringIndex=1
IfAboveValue=1
IfAboveAction=!execute [!RainmeterHideMeter mWeatherDesc][!RainmeterHideMeter mWeatherTemp][!RainmeterShowMeter MeterText]
;Debug=1


[mWeatherTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[mWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=17

[mWeatherDesc]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[mWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=19
//Substitute="Fair":"mooi","Cloudy":"bewolkt","Showers in the Vicinity":"regen","Partly":"gedeeltelijk","Mostly":"dicht","Fog":"mist","Clouds":"Wolken","Light":"licht","Rain":"regen","Sunny":"zonnig","Clear":"helder","and":"met","Windy":"wind","Drizzle":"ijzel","Freezing":"koude"

[mIcon]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\WebParser.dll
Url=[mWeatherRSS]
StringIndex=20

[MeterText]
Meter=String
####################################
Text=Not available.
####################################
FontColor=165,165,165,255
FontSize=9
FontFace=Denton
StringStyle=Normal
StringEffect=SHADOW
FontEffectColor=000000
AntiAlias=1
Hidden=1

[MeterTemp]
MeasureName=mWeatherTemp
Meter=STRING
X=100
Y=26
FontColor=255,255,255,150
FontSize=8
w=200
h=200
StringAlign=LEFT
FontFace=Denton
StringStyle=Normal
AntiAlias=1
Postfix=" #postfix#"

[MeterTemp2]
MeasureName=mWeatherTemp
Meter=STRING
X=100
Y=26
FontColor=255,255,255,35
FontSize=8
w=200
h=200
StringAlign=LEFT
FontFace=Denton
StringStyle=Normal
AntiAlias=1
Postfix=" #postfix#"

[MeterDesc]
MeasureName=mWeatherDesc
Meter=STRING
X=100
Y=26
w=200
h=200
StringAlign=RIGHT
FontColor=255,255,255,150
FontSize=8
FontFace=Denton
StringStyle=Normal
AntiAlias=1
Postfix=", "

[MeterDesc2]
MeasureName=mWeatherDesc
Meter=STRING
X=100
Y=26
w=200
h=200
StringAlign=RIGHT
FontColor=255,255,255,35
FontSize=8
FontFace=Denton
StringStyle=Normal
AntiAlias=1
Postfix=", "






[MeterIcon]
MeasureName=mIcon
Meter=IMAGE
X=113
Y=4
w=60
h=44
Antialias=1

Edit: I attached a picture of it with the x-values set back to 94
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Valthiel on September 24th, 2012, 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
MerlinTheRed
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 889
Joined: September 6th, 2011, 6:34 am

Re: Time Text keeps getting cut off in double digits

Post by MerlinTheRed »

You'll have to modify all the x values, not only the text. Basically, you need to shift the whole content of the skin to the right, so that there is enough space on the left.
Have more fun creating skins with Sublime Text 2 and the Rainmeter Package!
Valthiel
Posts: 2
Joined: September 24th, 2012, 7:23 pm

Re: Time Text keeps getting cut off in double digits

Post by Valthiel »

Oh, right, that did it :D

I wasn't too sure how much space there is left on the right side, so I wanted to make more space on the left side. But now I shifted everything 100 pixels to the right and it worked out.

Thanks very much!
User avatar
Kaelri
Developer
Posts: 1721
Joined: July 25th, 2009, 4:47 am

Re: Time Text keeps getting cut off in double digits

Post by Kaelri »

Valthiel wrote:Oh, right, that did it :D

I wasn't too sure how much space there is left on the right side, so I wanted to make more space on the left side. But now I shifted everything 100 pixels to the right and it worked out.

Thanks very much!
For future reference, there is no limit to the size of a skin (other than the size of your screen). The issue here is that the top-left corner is considered the "origin," or starting point. This means that skins can expand downward or rightward, but not upward or leftward. Increasing the X/Y values is almost always the solution to this kind of problem.