It is currently April 27th, 2024, 5:43 am

rainmeter to speak the temperatures

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
EchoSide
Posts: 3
Joined: December 17th, 2011, 8:57 pm

rainmeter to speak the temperatures

Post by EchoSide »

Hello Hello new to the site just wonderd
if any one can show me how to get rainmeter to speak the temperatures and diskspace like on the hour or anytime i ask because ive been using rainmeter for about 2 months and cant figure it out would be grateful for any replys thankyou :twisted:
User avatar
~Faradey~
Posts: 366
Joined: November 12th, 2009, 4:47 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: rainmeter to speak the temperatures

Post by ~Faradey~ »

Rainmeter itself can't "speak" anything, but you can do it using NirCmd (as one of examples)
here you can read how to set things http://nircmd.nirsoft.net/speak.html

Example

Code: Select all

LeftMouseDownAction=!execute ["#PathToNirCmd#" speak text "Processor temperature is [YourMeasure]" 2 80]
where #PathToNirCmd# is path to NirCmd.exe, where NirCmd installed
ie: C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Addons\NirCmd\nircmd.exe

and
[YourMeasure] is measure of temperature in your skin
User avatar
Seahorse
Posts: 1175
Joined: June 9th, 2010, 5:56 pm
Location: Locks heath, UK

Re: rainmeter to speak the temperatures

Post by Seahorse »

There's a speaking clock with weather skin which does what you are asking for already. You can examine its code... :sly:
"Regrettably your planet is one of those scheduled for demolition"
Mike

My Skins at DeviantArt

EchoSide
Posts: 3
Joined: December 17th, 2011, 8:57 pm

Re: rainmeter to speak the temperatures

Post by EchoSide »

Hello one and all thank you for the tips but not queit what im looking for it where good advice but im looking how rainmeter can tell you the temps with out having to excute anything reason why is so you dont have to look at your desktop all the time thanks to the replys tho and im going to try and figure out someway so it does it auto like one hour if i do i post it because it would be awsome to hear it tell your temps and diskspace on the hour or whenever you want :twisted:
User avatar
smurfier
Moderator
Posts: 1931
Joined: January 29th, 2010, 1:43 am
Location: Willmar, MN

Re: rainmeter to speak the temperatures

Post by smurfier »

It's rather easy to have a command execute every hour.

Code: Select all

[Variables]
Hour=0
PathToNirCmd=#ADDONSPATH#NirCmd\nircmd.exe

[msHour]
Measure=Time
Format=%#H

[cHourCheck]
Measure=Calc
Formula=msHour<>#Hour#
IfAboveValue=0
IfAboveAction=!Execute [!SetVariable Hour [msHour]]["#PathToNirCmd#" speak text "Processor temperature is [YourMeasure]" 2 80]
DynamicVariables=1
GitHub | DeviantArt | Tumblr
This is the song that never ends. It just goes on and on my friends. Some people started singing it not knowing what it was, and they'll continue singing it forever just because . . .
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: rainmeter to speak the temperatures

Post by jsmorley »

That speaking clock that Seahorse linked to does speak the time and weather at the top of the hour, and can be used as an example to start with.

I use an approach of getting the minutes, and if they are zero, it's on the hour.

Code: Select all

[Variables]
PathToNirCmd=#ADDONSPATH#NirCmd\nircmd.exe

[msMinutes]
Measure=Time
Format=%M

[cHourCheck]
Measure=Calc
Formula=msMinutes
IfEqualValue=0
IfEqualAction=!Execute ["#PathToNirCmd#" speak text "Ding dong!" 2 80]
EchoSide
Posts: 3
Joined: December 17th, 2011, 8:57 pm

Re: rainmeter to speak the temperatures

Post by EchoSide »

Hello one and all sorry for the late post thanks for that Smurfier i guess it was easy i couldnt of figured that out so i dont think rainmeter is for me ill just stick with sysmetrix because somethings i dont get in rainmeter like dynamic variables measure=calc and formulas :? but thanks for the help anyway tho