It is currently April 27th, 2024, 5:50 am

Issue with file paths

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Marrtok
Posts: 4
Joined: April 2nd, 2011, 1:44 am

Issue with file paths

Post by Marrtok »

Hi! I've used Rainmeter in the past and I am having an issue I've never come across. I am using a skin from DA that I really like but have been having trouble with it. Sections of the skin allow you to basically have shortcuts to documents, applications, games, etc. All you need is a file path. Simple. Unless the file path has any spaces in it.

example:
Link Works: "C:\Users\Marrtok\Documents\InvoiceReports.xlsx"
Link Broken: "C:\Users\Marrtok\Documents\Invoice Reports.xlsx"

As long as there is a space, I appear to be boned, which scraps the whole thing for me. Is there anyway to get Rainmeter to work with the file paths using spaces? I have some .exe files that I can't change the file path to remove the spaces. I'm hoping it will also accept parenthesis also as this file path won't run either... :confused:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Dragon Age\DAOriginsLauncher.exe"

Any advice would be most appreciated!
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issue with file paths

Post by jsmorley »

You would need to post some part of the code that has the links. It works fine with spaces in file paths for !Execute statements, so there has to be something else going on.

For instance, this works just fine for me:

LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute ["C:\Program Files (x86)\Notepad++\notepad++.exe"]
Marrtok
Posts: 4
Joined: April 2nd, 2011, 1:44 am

Re: Issue with file paths

Post by Marrtok »

Here is a truncated copy of one of the skins...sorry for the size.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=750
Author=Psych0-TheRapist

;Metadata added by RainBrowser
;http://rainmeter.net/cms/Rainmeter101-EditingSkins

[Metadata]
Name=
Config=
Description=
Instructions=
Version=
Tags=
License=
Variant=
Preview=

;End of added Metadata

[Variables]
Font=Agency FB
TextColor=126,289,234,275
TextSize=14
TextStyle=BOLD
TextAlignment=CENTER

Width=130
Height=25

BackgroundColor=0,0,0,0
HighlightColor=150,255,225,15

TitleText=[Games]

Choice1Text=
Last edited by jsmorley on April 2nd, 2011, 3:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added [code][/code] tags for display of source
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issue with file paths

Post by jsmorley »

Put the quotes around the path in the !Execute, not the [Variables] section. They are not really needed in the [Variables] section, (although they won't hurt if you want to leave them) but are not carried over to the !Execute statement, where they are needed.

[Variables]
Editor=C:\Program Files (x86)\Notepad++\notepad++.exe

[Meter1]
Meter=String
Text=My Editor
LeftMouseUpAction=!Execute ["#Editor#"]
Marrtok
Posts: 4
Joined: April 2nd, 2011, 1:44 am

Re: Issue with file paths

Post by Marrtok »

Done and it didn't change anything. The link still won't work. :/

Thank's for the edit, didn't know how t do that :P Still learning.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Issue with file paths

Post by jsmorley »

Not sure. I don't have Dragon Age installed at the moment, but this works perfectly for me, which is exactly your code, with the one change I mentioned above and calling Notepad++ instead of Dragon Age.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=750
Author=Psych0-TheRapist

;Metadata added by RainBrowser
;http://rainmeter.net/cms/Rainmeter101-EditingSkins

[Metadata]
Name=
Config=
Description=
Instructions=
Version=
Tags=
License=
Variant=
Preview=

;End of added Metadata

[Variables]
Font=Agency FB
TextColor=126,289,234,275
TextSize=14
TextStyle=BOLD
TextAlignment=CENTER

Width=130
Height=25

BackgroundColor=0,0,0,0
HighlightColor=150,255,225,15

TitleText=[Games]

Choice1Text=
Marrtok
Posts: 4
Joined: April 2nd, 2011, 1:44 am

Re: Issue with file paths

Post by Marrtok »

Not sure what the issue is. I'm getting off a 24 hour shift, so I'm gonna get some sleep and come back to it when I regain consciousness. Thanks for the help so far. :) Maybe I can get it figured out once I've had some sleep...chances are I'll be back here though :P

Edit: Sleepy spelling = bad spelling