It is currently April 19th, 2024, 1:40 pm

Include an option to disable redraw when in RDP

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
FUR10N
Posts: 6
Joined: August 6th, 2010, 1:02 am
Location: NC, US

Include an option to disable redraw when in RDP

Post by FUR10N »

Due to bandwidth issues when using RDP rainmeter can really slow down the responsiveness with all of the updates and redraws.

As stated in the title, it'd be nice to have an option in the settings to disable all meter windows if rainmeter is open in an RDP session.

I've already implemented this change locally in the latest version of rainmeter, and it seems to work fine. In my implementation, it checks if in an rdp session and the new option I added. Based on those checks it determines whether or not to redraw the meter windows (the checks are in the CMeterWindow::Update method)

So, what do you think?
Luc Chen
Posts: 2
Joined: November 10th, 2010, 7:09 pm

Re: Include an option to disable redraw when in RDP

Post by Luc Chen »

Hi,

I really agree with this excellent proposal...
I wish it could make its way into the main code base.

Would you mind sharing your code changes and executable with the other users of this forum?

Thanks.
User avatar
FUR10N
Posts: 6
Joined: August 6th, 2010, 1:02 am
Location: NC, US

Re: Include an option to disable redraw when in RDP

Post by FUR10N »

Sure, I've attached my changes to this post.
Just extract the three files into the Library folder of the source code, and compile it.

After which you can also compare the diffs with SVN to see what I changed.

To enable this check, edit the settings file (Rainmeter.ini). And set RDPDisable=1 (located in the [Rainmeter] section)

The beginning of my settings file:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
TrayExecuteDL=!execute [!RainmeterActivateConfig "Enigma" "Enigma.ini"]
SkinPath=C:\Users\name\Documents\Rainmeter\Skins\
DisableVersionCheck=0
RDPDisable=1
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Luc Chen
Posts: 2
Joined: November 10th, 2010, 7:09 pm

Re: Include an option to disable redraw when in RDP

Post by Luc Chen »

Thanks.

Is it possible for you to post the binaries as well please?
Will it make its way into the next official release?

Thanks.
User avatar
FUR10N
Posts: 6
Joined: August 6th, 2010, 1:02 am
Location: NC, US

Re: Include an option to disable redraw when in RDP

Post by FUR10N »

I've attached the contents of my x32 build. Just extract the folder to wherever you like, and run rainmeter.exe from there (and close the current version you have running). That's the way I'm currently running it. Everything should work fine that way, although when you first run it it may ask if you want to enable a new theme, just click no.

I don't know if it'll make it to the official version, and I'm not sure of the process for submitting a patch.
poiru
Developer
Posts: 2872
Joined: April 17th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Re: Include an option to disable redraw when in RDP

Post by poiru »

FUR10N wrote:I don't know if it'll make it to the official version, and I'm not sure of the process for submitting a patch.
Hey,

This has been added to Rainmeter with r622. It will be included in the next beta. Note! It's been changed RDPDisable to DisableRDP.

Thanks for your contribution :thumbup: