It is currently April 27th, 2024, 4:13 pm

Trying to make a simple skin to Show information from SysInfo

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
robhoyer
Posts: 2
Joined: January 24th, 2024, 6:19 pm

Trying to make a simple skin to Show information from SysInfo

Post by robhoyer »

I have just discovered Rainmeter, and I think it is excellent!

I am trying to create a simple skin to display data from SysInfo. The widget displays, but the data is just the variables I have defined. The Widget displays OS Version: %1 and Screen Size: %1 x %2. I am sure the solution is simple; thanks in advance for your help. I have attached the code below.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
DynamicWindowSize=1
BackgroundMode=2
SolidColor=0,0,0,255

[MeasureOSVersion]
Measure=SysInfo
SysInfoType=OS_VERSION
UpdateDivider=-1

[MeasureScreenWidth]
Measure=SysInfo
SysInfoType=SCREEN_WIDTH
SysInfoData=1

[MeasureScreenHeight]
Measure=SysInfo
SysInfoType=SCREEN_HEIGHT
SysInfoData=1

[MeterOSVersion]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureOSVersion
FontSize=12
FontColor=255,255,255,255
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
Text=OS Version: %1

[MeterScreenSize]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureScreenWidth
MeasureName2=MeasureScreenHeight
Y=2R
FontSize=12
FontColor=255,255,255,255
StringStyle=Bold
AntiAlias=1
Text=Screen Size: %1 x %2
Last edited by eclectic-tech on January 24th, 2024, 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please use the code tag </> when posting codes.
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5407
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: Trying to make a simple skin to Show information from SysInfo

Post by eclectic-tech »

Your code works for me... ?
sysinfo2.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
robhoyer
Posts: 2
Joined: January 24th, 2024, 6:19 pm

Re: Trying to make a simple skin to Show information from SysInfo

Post by robhoyer »

There must be something that is not set up correctly. Are there resources that need to be defined?
Regards,
Rob
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2612
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Trying to make a simple skin to Show information from SysInfo

Post by SilverAzide »

robhoyer wrote: January 24th, 2024, 9:24 pm There must be something that is not set up correctly. Are there resources that need to be defined?
Regards,
Rob
No, for what you are doing, nothing else is needed. Note this warning regarding the SysInfoData setting (last sentence):
It is important to note that "1" is not always the primary display monitor.
On my system, SysInfoData needs to be 5 (my system has two display adapters). The best place to find this is the Rainmeter log, where it enumerates all the ports on your system.

If you are not getting any OS info, please post your exact OS info (Rainmeter About > Version > Copy to clipboard, then paste here).
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...