Hello friends,
i need a blinking dot, 10x10, red.
Thank u.
It is currently December 5th, 2023, 9:18 pm
blinking dot
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: January 23rd, 2023, 1:39 pm
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 15823
- Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
- Location: Gheorgheni, Romania
Re: blinking dot
Did you try creating it? How?
Sorry, but no one will create it for you. But if you gave it a try, we'll help you to do it in the way you want. So, have you a starting code?
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: January 23rd, 2023, 1:39 pm
Re: blinking dot
Sure. Currently, my code looks like this:
Code: Select all
[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1
[MeasureToggle]
Measure=Calc
Formula=(MeasureToggle + 1) % 2
MinValue=0
MaxValue=1
OnChangeAction=[!UpdateMeterGroup BlinkGroup]
[MeterDot]
Meter=Shape
MeasureName=MeasureToggle
Shape=Ellipse 0,0,10,10
X=(#SCREENAREAWIDTH# - 10) / 2
Y=(#SCREENAREAHEIGHT# - 10) / 2
SolidColor=255,0,0
DynamicVariables=1
[MeterHidden]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureToggle
Hidden=1
[Metadata]
Name=Blinkender Punkt
Author=rmsds
Information=Ein blinkender roter Punkt.
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 15823
- Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
- Location: Gheorgheni, Romania
Re: blinking dot
Alright. I assume [MeterDot] is the meter which should blinking, right?
If this is right, you can do this in more ways. One of them is to use an IfCondition on the [MeasureToggle] measure, which should show the [MeterDot] meter when the value of [MeasureToggle] is 1 and hide it when the value is 0. So, add the following options to the [MeasureToggle] measure:
Code: Select all
[MeasureToggle]
...
IfCondition=(#CURRENTSECTION#>=1)
IfTrueAction=[!ShowMeter "MeterDot"][!Redraw]
IfFalseAction=[!HideMeter "MeterDot"][!Redraw]
What these options are doing, is that when the set condition is true (so when [MeasureToggle] is 1), IfTrueAction is executed. The [!ShowMeter "MeterDot"] bang shows the [MeterDot] meter. When the condition is not met (so when [MeasureToggle] is 0), IfFalseAction is executed, hiding the meter.
Is this what you want? There are other ways to achieve what you asked for, but I think this is the easiest one.
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: January 23rd, 2023, 1:39 pm
Re: blinking dot
Wonderful. Thank you very much. That's exactly how I imagined it.
I just don't understand why the dot remains white even though I specified the color as 255,0,0.

Code: Select all
[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1
[MeasureToggle]
Measure=Calc
Formula=(MeasureToggle + 1) % 2
MinValue=0
MaxValue=1
IfCondition=(#CURRENTSECTION#>=1)
IfTrueAction=[!ShowMeter "MeterDot"][!Redraw]
IfFalseAction=[!HideMeter "MeterDot"][!Redraw]
OnChangeAction=[!UpdateMeterGroup BlinkGroup]
[MeterDot]
Meter=Shape
MeasureName=MeasureToggle
Shape=Ellipse 20,20,20,20
X=(#SCREENAREAWIDTH# - 0) / 2
Y=(#SCREENAREAHEIGHT# - 0) / 2
SolidColor=255,0,0
DynamicVariables=1
[MeterHidden]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureToggle
Hidden=1
[Metadata]
Name=Blinkender Punkt
Author=IhrName
Information=Ein blinkender roter Punkt.
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 5230
- Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
- Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA
Re: blinking dot
To set a SHAPE meter color, you need to define the color in the Shape pameters; setting a SOLIDCOLOR option on a shape meter only changes the color outside of the defined shape.
Change the code for your [MeterDot] to this: I removed the SolidColor=255,0,0 from the code and added a Fill Color 255,0,0 parameter to set the shape internal color value.
See more about SHAPE meter modifier attributes.
Change the code for your [MeterDot] to this:
Code: Select all
[MeterDot]
Meter=Shape
MeasureName=MeasureToggle
Shape=Ellipse 20,20,20,20 | Fill Color 255,0,0
X=(#SCREENAREAWIDTH# - 0) / 2
Y=(#SCREENAREAHEIGHT# - 0) / 2
DynamicVariables=1
See more about SHAPE meter modifier attributes.
:: My DA Gallery :: Rainmeter DA Gallery :: Rainmeter Workshops :: Rainmeter Documentation :: BBCode Guide ::
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: January 23rd, 2023, 1:39 pm
Re: blinking dot

-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 5230
- Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
- Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA
Re: blinking dot
Happy to help!
Shape meters are one of most useful but complicated meter; keep experimenting and it will get easier to find solutions
Shape meters are one of most useful but complicated meter; keep experimenting and it will get easier to find solutions

:: My DA Gallery :: Rainmeter DA Gallery :: Rainmeter Workshops :: Rainmeter Documentation :: BBCode Guide ::
-
- Rainmeter Sage
- Posts: 15823
- Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
- Location: Gheorgheni, Romania
Re: blinking dot
Why that shape has been white (and ecelectic-tech didn't mention this) is because the default fill color of Shape meters (the one defined by the Fill Color parameter, as mentioned by eclectic-tech) is white (255,255,255,255). If you don't add a specific Fill Color parameter, the white default color is used.