It is currently April 24th, 2024, 2:46 pm

Weather isn't working with any skin.

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
SmartBo5006N
Posts: 3
Joined: September 19th, 2022, 1:43 pm

Weather isn't working with any skin.

Post by SmartBo5006N »

Hello!
From like a week ago weather on my mond skin stopped working. I figured it was a temporary thing and it'd fix itself. But it still wasn't working. It only shows the Degrees Celsius or Farenheit, but not the actual temperature. I tried the weather skins with Sonder and Vecto too. But weather didn't work with both of them either.. I tried a few stuff in previous topics about weather skin issues, but nothing worked. I made sure that my laptop was fully updated too.. Does anyone have a fix?
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2604
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Weather isn't working with any skin.

Post by SilverAzide »

SmartBo5006N wrote: September 25th, 2022, 1:42 pm Hello!
From like a week ago weather on my mond skin stopped working. I figured it was a temporary thing and it'd fix itself. But it still wasn't working. It only shows the Degrees Celsius or Farenheit, but not the actual temperature. I tried the weather skins with Sonder and Vecto too. But weather didn't work with both of them either.. I tried a few stuff in previous topics about weather skin issues, but nothing worked. I made sure that my laptop was fully updated too.. Does anyone have a fix?
You might want to search the forums on this. There's already 2 threads just below yours with the fix needed.

https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=41320
https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=40310 (see the last post)

This is issue doesn't affect any skins using weather.com.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
SmartBo5006N
Posts: 3
Joined: September 19th, 2022, 1:43 pm

Re: Weather isn't working with any skin.

Post by SmartBo5006N »

AH thank you so much. This fixed the issue with mond, but weather still isn't working with vecto. Vecto doesn't even have a meatherweather parameter. There's this thing called WeatherParent.. Is there a fix for this too? Ima post the code in case it makes it easier.

Code: Select all

[WeatherParent]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=WebParser
URL=http://wxdata.weather.com/wxdata/weather/local/#LocationCode#?cc=*&unit=#UnitOfMeasure#&dayf=6
RegExp=(?siU)^(.*)$
UpdateRate=900
ForceReload=1
FinishAction=[!EnableMeasureGroup Weather][!UpdateMeter *][!Redraw]
Last edited by SilverAzide on September 25th, 2022, 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please use code tags when posting code. It's the </> button.
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2604
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Weather isn't working with any skin.

Post by SilverAzide »

SmartBo5006N wrote: September 25th, 2022, 4:54 pm AH thank you so much. This fixed the issue with mond, but weather still isn't working with vecto. Vecto doesn't even have a meatherweather parameter. There's this thing called WeatherParent.. Is there a fix for this too? Ima post the code in case it makes it easier.
This is a completely different issue. That skin is obviously very old. The wxdata feed from weather.com was deprecated years ago and no longer works. The skin will need to be rewritten.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
User avatar
xenium
Posts: 866
Joined: January 4th, 2018, 9:52 pm

Re: Weather isn't working with any skin.

Post by xenium »

SmartBo5006N wrote: September 25th, 2022, 4:54 pm AH thank you so much. This fixed the issue with mond, but weather still isn't working with vecto. Is there a fix for this too?
The weather in the Vecto skin can be modified to use Yahoo as well as the Mond skin.
Replace all the code in the Weather.ini file with this:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
Author=Connect-R
BackgroundMode=2
SolidColor=0,0,0,1
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1
MouseScrollUpAction=[!SetVariable Scale "(#Scale#+#ScrollMouseIncrement#)"][!WriteKeyValue Variables Scale "(#Scale#+#ScrollMouseIncrement#)"][!Refresh] 
MouseScrollDownAction=[!SetVariable Scale "(#Scale#-#ScrollMouseIncrement# < 0.2 ? 0.2 : #Scale#-#ScrollMouseIncrement#)"][!WriteKeyValue Variables Scale "(#Scale#-#ScrollMouseIncrement# < 0.2 ? 0.2 : #Scale#-#ScrollMouseIncrement#)"][!Refresh]


[Variables]
@include=#@#Variables.inc
@include2=#@#Language\Language.inc
Scale=0.5

;-------------------------------------------------------------
;-------------------------------------------------------------

[MeasureWeather]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=WebParser
URL=https://www.yahoo.com/news/weather
RegExp=(?siU)<h1 class="city.*data-reactid="7">(.*)</h1>.*<div class="My\(2px\).*60x60\/(.*)@2x.png.*data-reactid=".*">(.*)<.*<span class="Va\(t\)" data-reactid=".*">(.*)</span> 
UpdateRate=900
;-------------------------------------------------------------
;-------------------------------------------------------------

[MeasureWeatherCond]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=WebParser
URL=[MeasureWeather]
StringIndex=3
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureTempFahrenheit]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=WebParser
URL=[MeasureWeather]
StringIndex=4
DynamicVariables=1

[MeasureTempCelsius]
Measure=Calc
Formula=Round((MeasureTempFahrenheit-32)*5/9)
Substitute="-18":""

;-------------------------------------------------------------
;-------------------------------------------------------------

[MeterCurrentlyText]
Meter=String
StringAlign=Left
FontFace=Metropolis Extra Bold
FontColor=#Color1#
FontSize=(40*#Scale#)
X=(0*#Scale#)r
Y=(30*#Scale#)
Text="#Currently is# -"
AntiAlias=1
UpdateDivider=-1

;-------------------------------------------------------------
;-------------------------------------------------------------

[MeterWeatherInfo]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureWeatherCond
MeasureName2=MeasureTempCelsius
StringAlign=left
FontColor=#Color1#
FontFace=Fivo Sans Light
FontSize=(25*#Scale#)
X=(0*#Scale#)r
Y=(10*#Scale#)R
Text=%1 %2°
AntiAlias=1
Note:
If you use Fahreinheit instead of Celsius in the measure [MeterWeatherInfo] change to MeasureName2 Celsius with Fahreinheit
SmartBo5006N
Posts: 3
Joined: September 19th, 2022, 1:43 pm

Re: Weather isn't working with any skin.

Post by SmartBo5006N »

Ahh thank you so much. It's working fine now.
D2rkvv0lf
Posts: 2
Joined: January 4th, 2024, 5:57 pm

Re: Weather isn't working with any skin.

Post by D2rkvv0lf »

My enmon weather isn't working either can anyone help?
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16164
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Weather isn't working with any skin.

Post by balala »

D2rkvv0lf wrote: January 4th, 2024, 6:28 pm My enmon weather isn't working either can anyone help?
A link would have been fine to the skin you have problems with, but the Enomn I just downloaded uses an old and deprecated source for the Weather skin. It has to completely be rewritten. While you can get some help here, you have to keep in mind two things:
  • No one will rewrite it for you.
  • Rewriting it, even if not impossible, is not an easy task for a beginner.
Taking into account these, I recommend you to choose another weather skin and use that one. There are dosens of such skins on both, the Weather section of the Download of this forum and on DeviantArt.
D2rkvv0lf
Posts: 2
Joined: January 4th, 2024, 5:57 pm

Re: Weather isn't working with any skin.

Post by D2rkvv0lf »

thanks for the reply
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16164
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Weather isn't working with any skin.

Post by balala »

D2rkvv0lf wrote: January 5th, 2024, 9:57 am thanks for the reply
Sorry. :(
If instead of using another skin, you still decide you want to try rewriting it, we can guide you into this process, but it'll be a long one. Let us know please what you want to do.