It is currently March 28th, 2024, 10:05 pm

VirtualDesktop plugin

Share and get help with Plugins and Addons
User avatar
Smurth
Posts: 6
Joined: February 2nd, 2019, 2:10 pm

Re: VirtualDesktop plugin

Post by Smurth »

[Not related to the subject]

@RadAd, I've just took a look at your github page and there's interesting things there ;)
Especially "MiniExplorer" : https://github.com/RadAd/MiniExplorer

What would be great with this one is to be able to pass arguments the app, like:
- Set startup folder
- Set View
- Set background color
- Ability to open subfolders with the default file browser
RadAd
Posts: 13
Joined: January 29th, 2022, 12:29 am

Re: VirtualDesktop plugin

Post by RadAd »

Probably better to the discussion here:
https://github.com/RadAd/MiniExplorer/discussions

I was intending MiniExplorer to b something like Fences. Starting the app always shows your registered list of Folders. I wasn't really sure how to handle opening just any folder.

It does currently support the command line argument to open a folder:

Code: Select all

MiniExplorer.exe /Open <Directory>
Where Directory is the full path name.

Other settings are remembered but can't be set on the command line.

Also holding Shift while opening a folder will open the default browser.
User avatar
Smurth
Posts: 6
Joined: February 2nd, 2019, 2:10 pm

Re: VirtualDesktop plugin

Post by Smurth »

RadAd wrote: March 29th, 2022, 11:53 pmI was intending MiniExplorer to b something like Fences. Starting the app always shows your registered list of Folders. I wasn't really sure how to handle opening just any folder.
Yes !
That's exactly what I've thought about ;)
RadAd wrote: March 29th, 2022, 11:53 pmIt does currently support the command line argument to open a folder:

Code: Select all

MiniExplorer.exe /Open <Directory>
Where Directory is the full path name.
This is the essential one.
RadAd wrote: March 29th, 2022, 11:53 pmOther settings are remembered but can't be set on the command line.

Also holding Shift while opening a folder will open the default browser.
Ok ; I've checked HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\RadSoft\MiniExplorer\MRU\ ; there's some values I can try to play with before launching MiniExplorer.

Thank you
llinfeng
Posts: 5
Joined: May 4th, 2022, 9:08 pm

Re: VirtualDesktop plugin

Post by llinfeng »

Great plugin! Two questions:
1. To make things simpler - how to adjust the ini file to only show the name of the desktop? (I tried and failed.)
2. Then, can plugin track the most recent desktop number? Then, a "back" button can be added to the interface.

Thanks again!
RadAd
Posts: 13
Joined: January 29th, 2022, 12:29 am

Re: VirtualDesktop plugin

Post by RadAd »

Here is skin I use to display just the desktop name.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=10000
AccurateText=1

[MeasureVirtualDesktop]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=VirtualDesktop
UpdateDivider=-1
OnUpdateAction=[!UpdateMeter MeterDesktopName][!Redraw]

[MeterDesktopName]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureVirtualDesktop
Text=%1
FontColor=255,255,255,255
FontFace=Constantia
FontSize=30
AntiAlias=1
As for a back button, that sounds like something you could do in the skin. Use two variables CurrentDesktop and BackDesktop and in the OnUpdateAction copy CurrentDesktop into BackDesktop and update CurrentDesktop to the new desktop.
llinfeng
Posts: 5
Joined: May 4th, 2022, 9:08 pm

Re: VirtualDesktop plugin

Post by llinfeng »

Thanks a lot! The name-only skin looks great!
llinfeng
Posts: 5
Joined: May 4th, 2022, 9:08 pm

Re: VirtualDesktop plugin

Post by llinfeng »

Here is a skin I use for now, it shows the max CPU temperature from CoreTemp, and displays the name of the virtual desk. I take this as a first step to replace Dexpot. (The first half of the config is directly taken from RadAd's post above.)

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=10000
AccurateText=1

[MeasureVirtualDesktop]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=VirtualDesktop
UpdateDivider=-1
OnUpdateAction=[!UpdateMeter MeterDesktopName][!Redraw]

[MeterDesktopName]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureVirtualDesktop
Text=%1
FontColor=255,255,255,255
FontFace=Tahoma
FontFace=ProFontWindows
FontSize=24
AntiAlias=1
X=26

[MeasureMaxTemp]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=CoreTemp
CoreTempType=MaxTemperature

[MeterMaxTemp]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureMaxTemp
X=0
Y=0
W=30
Text="%1"
FontColor=FFD700
FontFace=Tahoma
FontFace=ProFontWindows
FontSize=14
AntiAlias=1
To make it work, step 1 is to install the VirtualDesktop plugin from its release page. Then, to get reasonable temperature readings instead of a constant 0, one needs to install CoreTemp and keep it running in the background. The end result looks like the following, where I park it at the bottom of my desktop over the task bar.
Image
scash
Posts: 8
Joined: January 23rd, 2011, 1:13 am

Re: VirtualDesktop plugin

Post by scash »

RadAd, super awesome, thank you for pointing me in the direction of the Windows registry.
For anyone looking for Windows 11, I made a version using Rainmeter's registry measure that just shows the name of the current desktop.
https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?t=40797
RadAd
Posts: 13
Joined: January 29th, 2022, 12:29 am

Re: VirtualDesktop plugin

Post by RadAd »

Updated to version 1.3
Now supports Windows 11
User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 571
Joined: February 28th, 2011, 3:20 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: VirtualDesktop plugin

Post by ikarus1969 »

I tried your plugin on both Windows 10 and 11.
On Windows 10 everything is ok and works really fine. On Windows 11 the function for getting the number of virtual desktops does not work - it says 0 (zero) no matter how much virtual desktops i've created. Do i do something wrong?

Edit: a screenshot of the "About"-log window:
Screenshot Rainmeter.jpg
My code is:

Code: Select all

[Measure_VirtualDesktop_Count]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=VirtualDesktop
Type=Count
UpdateDivider=-1
OnUpdateAction=[!UpdateMeter "Meter_VD_Count"][!Redraw]
A little test-skin:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1

[Measure_VirtualDesktop]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=VirtualDesktop
UpdateDivider=-1
OnUpdateAction=[!UpdateMeter "Meter_VD_Name"][!Redraw]

[Measure_VirtualDesktop_Count]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=VirtualDesktop
Type=Count
UpdateDivider=-1
OnUpdateAction=[!UpdateMeter "Meter_VD_Count"][!Redraw]

[Meter_VD_Name]
Meter=STRING
MeasureName=Measure_VirtualDesktop
Text=Name=%1
X=0
Y=0
FontSize=16
Padding=20,20,20,20
SolidColor=FFFFFFFF
AntiAlias=1
DynamicVariables=1

[Meter_VD_Count]
Meter=STRING
MeasureName=Measure_VirtualDesktop_Count
Text=Virtual Deskt.: %1
X=0r
Y=0R
FontSize=16
Padding=20,20,20,20
SolidColor=FFFFFFFF
AntiAlias=1
DynamicVariables=1
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.