It is currently August 13th, 2022, 5:47 pm

Market Prices

RSS, ATOM and other feeds, GMail, Stocks, any information retrieved from the internet
ncnmra
Posts: 4
Joined: July 9th, 2018, 8:24 pm

Re: Market Prices

Post by ncnmra »

Love this skin. It's been a while since I updated, so I love that there is the option to add more stocks now.

Can we rename the stocks? There used to be an Nindex_ variable, but that doesn't seem to work anymore. In some cases I'd prefer the ticker symbol (or custom text) rather than the full stock name (some are very long)

Apologies if this has been asked/answered
User avatar
Mordasius
Posts: 1096
Joined: January 22nd, 2011, 4:23 pm
Location: GMT +8

Re: Market Prices

Post by Mordasius »

mikeruss wrote: January 7th, 2022, 9:46 am the format has changed - seems to work if the URL changes from ..
https://www.cnbc.com/quotes/?symbol=#Symbol1#
to
https://www.cnbc.com/quotes/#Symbol1#
The latest version of the Market Prices skin uses URL=https://www.cnbc.com/quotes/#Symbol1#. Maybe you have an older version.
User avatar
Mordasius
Posts: 1096
Joined: January 22nd, 2011, 4:23 pm
Location: GMT +8

Re: Market Prices

Post by Mordasius »

ncnmra wrote: January 7th, 2022, 4:51 pm Can we rename the stocks? There used to be an Nindex_ variable, but that doesn't seem to work anymore. In some cases I'd prefer the ticker symbol (or custom text) rather than the full stock name (some are very long)
It would be possible to revert to the old style where you have to enter the name of each stock/index in the StockSymbols.inc file. However, I think it's better to show the name of the stock as displayed on CNBC.com. I'll have a look to see if I can find a way to include an option that would allow you to override the name displayed on CNBC.com with one you have entered in the StockSymbols.inc file.
themgnt
Posts: 7
Joined: September 22nd, 2011, 2:06 pm

Re: Market Prices

Post by themgnt »

While changing the link to https://www.cnbc.com/quotes/#Symbol1# works on the display, if you click the link it takes you to the stock page for CMCSA.

Maybe I'm in a unique situation here? A few days ago, after a reboot, all my stocks showed the same price, and all linked to https://www.cnbc.com/quotes/cmcsa. Since my listed stocks don't change I simply hard coded the URLs and that worked for the display, but the links were still to stock CMCSA. Checking here I saw the URL format change so I tried that. Again, the skin looks right, but if you click the stock it takes you to CMCSA.
ncnmra
Posts: 4
Joined: July 9th, 2018, 8:24 pm

Re: Market Prices

Post by ncnmra »

themgnt wrote: January 10th, 2022, 3:45 pm While changing the link to https://www.cnbc.com/quotes/#Symbol1# works on the display, if you click the link it takes you to the stock page for CMCSA.

Maybe I'm in a unique situation here? A few days ago, after a reboot, all my stocks showed the same price, and all linked to https://www.cnbc.com/quotes/cmcsa. Since my listed stocks don't change I simply hard coded the URLs and that worked for the display, but the links were still to stock CMCSA. Checking here I saw the URL format change so I tried that. Again, the skin looks right, but if you click the stock it takes you to CMCSA.
I had the same problem, and it turned out that I had an older version. Updating to the new version solved the issue, but I needed to re-enter all my stock info.

Additionally, I had a bad stock symbol in my new list, which resulted in the list ending at the incorrect symbol, and showing "Comcast" instead.
ncnmra
Posts: 4
Joined: July 9th, 2018, 8:24 pm

Re: Market Prices

Post by ncnmra »

Mordasius wrote: January 10th, 2022, 3:35 am It would be possible to revert to the old style where you have to enter the name of each stock/index in the StockSymbols.inc file. However, I think it's better to show the name of the stock as displayed on CNBC.com. I'll have a look to see if I can find a way to include an option that would allow you to override the name displayed on CNBC.com with one you have entered in the StockSymbols.inc file.
Thanks! That would be ideal: default show the full name, but if a name is entered, override. I tried to look into the code, but I'm not familiar enough with how Rainmeter syntax works to get very far.
themgnt
Posts: 7
Joined: September 22nd, 2011, 2:06 pm

Re: Market Prices

Post by themgnt »

ncnmra wrote: January 10th, 2022, 3:53 pm I had the same problem, and it turned out that I had an older version. Updating to the new version solved the issue, but I needed to re-enter all my stock info.

Additionally, I had a bad stock symbol in my new list, which resulted in the list ending at the incorrect symbol, and showing "Comcast" instead.
Thanks for confirming. I have already downloaded the latest skin and was going to try that when I get the chance. I had to do some tweaking to the original to get it to fit in with my current main skin so I was reluctant to upgrade.
themgnt
Posts: 7
Joined: September 22nd, 2011, 2:06 pm

Re: Market Prices

Post by themgnt »

Is there a way to modify the stock names from full name to just the symbol? (ie: DJ instead of Dow Jones Industrial Avera...) The original skin had it this way and fit perfectly in my sidebar with my other widgets. This new version is too wide I'd like to compress it a little bit.

Alternatively, is it possible to shorten that column so it shows something like Dow Jones In...?
User avatar
Mordasius
Posts: 1096
Joined: January 22nd, 2011, 4:23 pm
Location: GMT +8

Re: Market Prices

Post by Mordasius »

themgnt wrote: January 27th, 2022, 3:27 pm Alternatively, is it possible to shorten that column so it shows something like Dow Jones In...?
Yes you can with the latest version. Download it from https://www.deviantart.com/mordasius/art/Market-Prices-755702746

Right-click on the skin -> Edit Stock Symbols -> enter cutomised labels and reduce the width of the first column if you need to -> save the file and refresh the skin. Wait at least one minute between refreshes to avoid getting your IP blocked.
Last edited by Mordasius on January 29th, 2022, 4:36 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Mordasius
Posts: 1096
Joined: January 22nd, 2011, 4:23 pm
Location: GMT +8

Re: Market Prices

Post by Mordasius »

ncnmra wrote: January 10th, 2022, 3:54 pm That would be ideal: default show the full name, but if a name is entered, override.
themgnt wrote: January 27th, 2022, 3:27 pm Is there a way to modify the stock names from full name to just the symbol? (ie: DJ instead of Dow Jones Industrial Avera...) The original skin had it this way and fit perfectly in my sidebar with my other widgets. This new version is too wide I'd like to compress it a little bit.

Alternatively, is it possible to shorten that column so it shows something like Dow Jones In...?
The latest version allows you to customise the stock/index names AND adjust the size of the first column. Download it from https://www.deviantart.com/mordasius/art/Market-Prices-755702746

Right-click on the skin -> Edit Stock Symbols -> enter cutomised labels and reduce the width of the first column if you need to -> save the file and refresh the skin. Wait at least one minute between refreshes to avoid getting your IP blocked.