It is currently October 25th, 2021, 7:48 am

Where to begin? Identifying Audio Manager with PS or Cmd

Help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
CodeCode
Posts: 708
Joined: September 7th, 2020, 2:24 pm
Location: QLD, Australia

Where to begin? Identifying Audio Manager with PS or Cmd

Post by CodeCode »

So, I have been trying to google this, but it defaults to the most popular device (realtek) only what I was hoping to do, was to find the audio manager similarly to how the Internet Adapter/s can be identified with PS or Cmd.

Anyone know if this is possible?
ƈǟռ'ȶ ʄɨӼ ɨȶ ɨʄ ɨȶ ǟɨռ'ȶ ɮʀօӄɛ - ʊռʟɛֆֆ ɨȶ ɨֆ ɨռ ƈօɖɛ.
User avatar
CodeCode
Posts: 708
Joined: September 7th, 2020, 2:24 pm
Location: QLD, Australia

Re: Where to begin? Identifying Audio Manager with PS or Cmd

Post by CodeCode »

Ok, I found this . But I do not understand how it is meant to work.

EDIT:
Ok, I realised that this is already possible in Rainmeter, the way I put it. But what I REALLY want to do is determine the Audio Manager, not the device.

So if someone uses SoundThinyA, or NoiseMakerB, or RealTek Audio Manager, etc, Could there be a way to find that?
ƈǟռ'ȶ ʄɨӼ ɨȶ ɨʄ ɨȶ ǟɨռ'ȶ ɮʀօӄɛ - ʊռʟɛֆֆ ɨȶ ɨֆ ɨռ ƈօɖɛ.
User avatar
death.crafter
Posts: 1065
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: Where to begin? Identifying Audio Manager with PS or Cmd

Post by death.crafter »

from the Realm of Death
My Current Desktop
User avatar
CodeCode
Posts: 708
Joined: September 7th, 2020, 2:24 pm
Location: QLD, Australia

Re: Where to begin? Identifying Audio Manager with PS or Cmd

Post by CodeCode »

Yea. All of that thread is for the actual devices. I was hoping to determine, in a dynamic way - the managing software for devices.
Like RealTek Sound App, or whatever app, is used to manage output, not the actual output alone.

So when I want to change things, I open RealTek Sound Manager - through that I can set to 1, 2, ... 5 channel output. So that manager - whatever it may be.
ƈǟռ'ȶ ʄɨӼ ɨȶ ɨʄ ɨȶ ǟɨռ'ȶ ɮʀօӄɛ - ʊռʟɛֆֆ ɨȶ ɨֆ ɨռ ƈօɖɛ.
User avatar
death.crafter
Posts: 1065
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: Where to begin? Identifying Audio Manager with PS or Cmd

Post by death.crafter »

CodeCode wrote: September 9th, 2021, 6:53 am Yea. All of that thread is for the actual devices. I was hoping to determine, in a dynamic way - the managing software for devices.
Like RealTek Sound App, or whatever app, is used to manage output, not the actual output alone.

So when I want to change things, I open RealTek Sound Manager - through that I can set to 1, 2, ... 5 channel output. So that manager - whatever it may be.
I don't think that can be generalized. It comes as a third-party app from the manufacturer or installed as the device driver software. Not with Windows. :confused:
from the Realm of Death
My Current Desktop
User avatar
CodeCode
Posts: 708
Joined: September 7th, 2020, 2:24 pm
Location: QLD, Australia

Re: Where to begin? Identifying Audio Manager with PS or Cmd

Post by CodeCode »

Hmm. I would think windows would have a registry location that is consistent between independent computer rigs.

I was hoping I could configure my audio manager skin, to auto-detect the audio manager app.

That would be cool.
ƈǟռ'ȶ ʄɨӼ ɨȶ ɨʄ ɨȶ ǟɨռ'ȶ ɮʀօӄɛ - ʊռʟɛֆֆ ɨȶ ɨֆ ɨռ ƈօɖɛ.
User avatar
death.crafter
Posts: 1065
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: Where to begin? Identifying Audio Manager with PS or Cmd

Post by death.crafter »

CodeCode wrote: September 9th, 2021, 11:57 am Hmm. I would think windows would have a registry location that is consistent between independent computer rigs.

I was hoping I could configure my audio manager skin, to auto-detect the audio manager app.

That would be cool.
Only if every computer was a rig, with speakers that need a manager app. :(
from the Realm of Death
My Current Desktop