It is currently October 25th, 2021, 6:18 am

[Suggestion]A built-in Variable for version info

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
death.crafter
Posts: 1065
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

[Suggestion]A built-in Variable for version info

Post by death.crafter »

Some of the features are version specific as in added in a later version. When implementing those features it is possible that people are on an older version of Rainmeter, e.g. 4.3. Idk why 4.3 is still final but anyway. For example DefaultWindowX and Y. If we can check the version info it would be easier to implement workarounds accordingly.

I can get the version info from Rainmeter.exe using powershell but it surely wouldn't work for portable versions. So a little addition won't hurt I guess.

Thanks,
death.crafter
from the Realm of Death
My Current Desktop
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22374
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Suggestion]A built-in Variable for version info

Post by jsmorley »

death.crafter wrote: June 12th, 2021, 6:07 am Some of the features are version specific as in added in a later version. When implementing those features it is possible that people are on an older version of Rainmeter, e.g. 4.3. Idk why 4.3 is still final but anyway. For example DefaultWindowX and Y. If we can check the version info it would be easier to implement workarounds accordingly.

I can get the version info from Rainmeter.exe using powershell but it surely wouldn't work for portable versions. So a little addition won't hurt I guess.

Thanks,
death.crafter
(get-process -name rainmeter | select-object FileVersion).FileVersion
User avatar
death.crafter
Posts: 1065
Joined: April 24th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Re: [Suggestion]A built-in Variable for version info

Post by death.crafter »

jsmorley wrote: June 12th, 2021, 10:32 am (get-process -name rainmeter | select-object FileVersion).FileVersion
Hmm... This is a better way than my current one where I retrieved the version info from Rainmeter.exe. But about a variable, is it not possible?
from the Realm of Death
My Current Desktop
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22374
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Suggestion]A built-in Variable for version info

Post by jsmorley »

death.crafter wrote: June 12th, 2021, 11:02 am Hmm... This is a better way than my current one where I retrieved the version info from Rainmeter.exe. But about a variable, is it not possible?
I imagine it is quite possible. We will look into it.

You can find out quite a lot of info about the Rainmeter process with:

get-process -name rainmeter | select-object *