It is currently April 19th, 2024, 9:54 pm

total beginner - trying to edit existing skin

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
User avatar
totallybree
Posts: 12
Joined: November 18th, 2020, 6:01 pm

Re: total beginner - trying to edit existing skin

Post by totallybree »

Now I have a very small black box that just says pm. Are my settings screwed up somewhere else maybe?
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5397
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: total beginner - trying to edit existing skin

Post by eclectic-tech »

totallybree wrote: November 18th, 2020, 11:28 pm Now I have a very small black box that just says pm. Are my settings screwed up somewhere else maybe?
You are not doing anything wrong; yes there are a few lines you do not need, but you can get a background on the clock by editing [MeterTime], changing the Padding and adding a SolidColor.

Here is your original code with changes that give you a background on the clock.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1
; Uncomment the line below to center the clock when refreshed
; OnRefreshAction=[!Move "(#WorkAreaWidth#*0.49)" "(#WorkAreaHeight#*0.49)"]

[Variables]
MyFontColor=160,203,0   
MyFontFace=Arial

[MyTextStyle]
AntiAlias=1
FontColor=#MyFontColor#
FontFace=#MyFontFace#

[MeasureTime]
Measure=Time
Format=%#I:%M %p 
Substitute="AM":"am","PM":"pm"

[MeterTime]
Meter=String
MeasureName=MeasureTime
MeterStyle=MyTextStyle
StringStyle=Bold
FontSize=16
Padding=4,5,4,5
SolidColor=0,0,0,192
clock22.png
I added DynamicWindowSize=1 to [Raimeter], this should correct the display as the time changes.
I removed unused items from [Variables].
I modified the Padding values in [MeterTime] and added a SolidColor; you can change these to suit your taste.
I added an optional OnRefreshAction to [Rainmeter]; if uncommented, it will center the clock when the skin is loaded or refreshed; you seem to want to place it elsewhere, so I commented out that option.

Hope this get it working for you!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
totallybree
Posts: 12
Joined: November 18th, 2020, 6:01 pm

Re: total beginner - trying to edit existing skin

Post by totallybree »

This is perfect! I keep it parked on my toolbar. I switched from 2 monitors to an ultrawide, and I kept looking for the clock that used to be in the middle.

Is there a way I can say thanks?
User avatar
eclectic-tech
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 5397
Joined: April 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm
Location: Cedar Point, Ohio, USA

Re: total beginner - trying to edit existing skin

Post by eclectic-tech »

totallybree wrote: November 19th, 2020, 3:31 pmIs there a way I can say thanks?
You jut did say "Thanks" :D

Glad you got it working. :great: