It is currently December 1st, 2020, 6:19 pm

CPU at 40% with simple skin

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
Radoslav
Posts: 4
Joined: October 4th, 2020, 1:34 pm

CPU at 40% with simple skin

Post by Radoslav »

Hey guys,

I just tried Rainmeter for first time and it's great, but my CPU is constantly sitting at 38-40% usage from Rainmeter only.

I've tried lowering the update value to -1 or to 1000 and i've even deleted the [Refresh!] tag from the mouse movement line, but the usage haven't dropped a bit.

RAM usage is 41MB, but CPU is sky rocket (my cpu is i5-7600 it's not that weak :lol: )

I used this link to set it up: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xHj0juUACFk and I'm currently running just audio visualizer (i know they might be cpu heavy, but 40%? Also tried to disable it, not big difference), clock and the dock bar with some icon modification

I saw that a lot of you are coding and doing skins alone, but I'm not on that level. Just regular user with very basic computer skills.

Any ideas how to fix the cpu usage? :)
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 11838
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: CPU at 40% with simple skin

Post by balala »

Radoslav wrote: October 4th, 2020, 1:43 pm Any ideas how to fix the cpu usage? :)
I suppose one of the used skin might cause this. What you can try is to unload the loaded skins one by one. After you're unloading a skin, wait a few minutes to see if the CPU usage decreses. If it doesn't, unload the next skin and check again the usage. This way after a while you should identify the skin which cases this problem. If you did find it, please post its name and a link where we can download the skin, to can check it.
dvo
Posts: 1036
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: CPU at 40% with simple skin

Post by dvo »

32 bands equalizer balala the rest looks normal , yahoo weather... ;-)
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 11838
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: CPU at 40% with simple skin

Post by balala »

dvo wrote: October 4th, 2020, 2:32 pm 32 bands equalizer balala the rest looks normal , yahoo weather... ;-)
Can't follow you. What is with the 32 bands equalizer (which in fact is probably a visualizer, not an equalizer, but this doesn't matter too much) and what with Yahoo Weather?
dvo
Posts: 1036
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: CPU at 40% with simple skin

Post by dvo »

tested it all in the pack nothing is runnig 40% with me... visualizer it is... getting on all max 25% all one by one... 32 bands visualizer seems to be oke.. it seems the skin maker likes a fast update it set on 0 or 2 instead of the normal settings... i think this is increasing the cpu load..
the dock and visualizer are set very low.... 0 and 2 all skins next to my standaard 6 skins...
if you set the update in you visualizer and rainmeterdock a bit higher it will cost you less cpu ...
now it's set on 0 or 2 minimal will be 16 try what you find usefull in you system , how lower it will increase the cpu %
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 11838
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: CPU at 40% with simple skin

Post by balala »

dvo wrote: October 4th, 2020, 2:52 pm tested it all in the pack nothing is runnig 40% with me... visualizer it is... getting on all max 25% all one by one... 32 bands visualizer seems to be oke.. it seems the skin maker likes a fast update it set on 0 or 2 instead of the normal settings... i think this is increasing the cpu load..
the dock and visualizer are set very low.... 0 and 2 all skins next to my standaard 6 skins...
if you set the update in you visualizer and rainmeterdock a bit higher it will cost you less cpu ...
Yes, but I'm not sure at all which skin is the OP talking about, so I'm still waiting for his reply.
dvo
Posts: 1036
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: CPU at 40% with simple skin

Post by dvo »

https://mega.nz/file/R4dRFSjD#PvO5Qa1FdbqqEJNhaxgsje4o0R744EVNRKhNOXCSO5w <<< this one i guess :D
i just tested all in it visualizer and dock are set on to low settings 0 or 2 the rest is nothing ...
Last edited by dvo on October 4th, 2020, 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Radoslav
Posts: 4
Joined: October 4th, 2020, 1:34 pm

Re: CPU at 40% with simple skin

Post by Radoslav »

Well, thank you!

It seems it's the Rainmeter Dock ...

Everything else without the dock is running at 0%, but with the dock enabled it goes to 40...

I don't remember doing any modification in the settings of the dock station except changing some apps, logos and links.

Is it possible the logos which are somewhere between 10 and 30KB, compared to 1-5KB for the default ones?

I've attached the setting files of the dock. Any ideas ? :/
Rainmeter Dock.ini
dock.png
ps/ yes, that's the skin I'm using (the one from the YouTube video)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
dvo
Posts: 1036
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: CPU at 40% with simple skin

Post by dvo »

blalala dock has a update of 2 instead of a normal update

set in the dock ini a value of

Code: Select all

update=1000
and if it's not smooth take it lower otherwise how higher it goes oke how less cpu you are using....
Radoslav
Posts: 4
Joined: October 4th, 2020, 1:34 pm

Re: CPU at 40% with simple skin

Post by Radoslav »

Yes, this worked, but it's not smooth at all

Any option to enable update only when the mouse passes over?

I think I've deleted two attributes which were supposed to do that?

Also, update was set to "-1". I thought this should have disabled the update at all.


edit/ managed to fix the icons.

I think everything is fine now :)

Thank you.

Any other advice for this skin or in particular for new user? :)
Last edited by Radoslav on October 4th, 2020, 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.