It is currently May 25th, 2020, 3:21 pm

⭐ Weather.com

Post your work-in-progress and completed skins to share and discuss.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 10577
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by balala »

gerryex wrote:
May 22nd, 2020, 5:13 pm
I have re-booted several times but still no joy!! I'm on my phone right now so I can't try anything until I get home.
No, there is no need to try restarting Rainmeter, if you rebooted more times.
I asked what I asked, because of this: https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=26117&p=136507#p136507
gerryex
Posts: 21
Joined: January 14th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gerryex »

Hi ALL,

Well I'm back on my PC and the first thing i did was to install the latest version of the Gadgets suite (ver 5.3.1) and while CPU usage, Network Meter, Drives Meter, Calendar and Clock are working just fine (the same gadgets I had running before) the weather gadget is doing the same thing as it did before: Nothing showing but ". . . Connecting . . . " at the bottom. The Weather.Com skin would only show labels so I assume it also is trying to connect but can't.

My internet connection has not changed and I do allow Windows update to install all updates as they are released. So something has changed that is not allowing any skin from accessing the weather web page.

I really like to have the current weather on my desktop so again any and all suggestions on how to get ANY weather skin working would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,
Gerry
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 20629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

gerryex wrote:
May 22nd, 2020, 9:42 pm
Hi ALL,

Well I'm back on my PC and the first thing i did was to install the latest version of the Gadgets suite (ver 5.3.1) and while CPU usage, Network Meter, Drives Meter, Calendar and Clock are working just fine (the same gadgets I had running before) the weather gadget is doing the same thing as it did before: Nothing showing but ". . . Connecting . . . " at the bottom. The Weather.Com skin would only show labels so I assume it also is trying to connect but can't.

My internet connection has not changed and I do allow Windows update to install all updates as they are released. So something has changed that is not allowing any skin from accessing the weather web page.

I really like to have the current weather on my desktop so again any and all suggestions on how to get ANY weather skin working would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,
Gerry

You might take a look at one of the skins that does not use weather.com as the source here:

https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=34689
gerryex
Posts: 21
Joined: January 14th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gerryex »

jsmorley wrote:
May 22nd, 2020, 9:48 pm
You might take a look at one of the skins that does not use weather.com as the source here:

https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=34689
There aren't too many that don't use weather.com but i tried WeatherZone and that did work. But i really don't care for its format plus the Gadget weather skin shows much more info such as humidity, sunset, sunrise, etc. I'll try some more skins but why all of a sudden i can't access weather.com via rainmeter skins?

Is there some sort of debug mode i can put a skin in to see where its failing? I also see that some people have posted that they are having the same problem as me. Not many but some, so the problem is not isolated to my PC.

Again any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Gerry
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 20629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

gerryex wrote:
May 22nd, 2020, 10:04 pm
There aren't too many that don't use weather.com but i tried WeatherZone and that did work. But i really don't care for its format plus the Gadget weather skin shows much more info such as humidity, sunset, sunrise, etc. I'll try some more skins but why all of a sudden i can't access weather.com via rainmeter skins?

Is there some sort of debug mode i can put a skin in to see where its failing? I also see that some people have posted that they are having the same problem as me. Not many but some, so the problem is not isolated to my PC.

Again any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Gerry
Honestly, I don't know what is going on. It's clear that there is some kind of issue with the JSON being populated in the site HTML, but only for some people. It is likely based on where you are being routed based on your detected IP address, or in some other way specific to the "location" of the device you are accessing it from, but even that is not certain.

I can't offer you any advice really, other than to just wait and see if this doesn't self-correct in some period of time. I can't even begin to know what is wrong with the JSON, or how to do anything about it, even temporarily, as all skins that use the JSON from weather.com just work fine for me, and I never had any issue at all.
User avatar
DanDaBear
Posts: 39
Joined: February 23rd, 2018, 3:12 am

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by DanDaBear »

Yeah, Both your WeatherComJSON and my DropTop Weather.com web parsed weather skin work for me here in Lynn, MA. :confused:
gerryex
Posts: 21
Joined: January 14th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gerryex »

jsmorley wrote:
May 22nd, 2020, 10:11 pm
Honestly, I don't know what is going on. It's clear that there is some kind of issue with the JSON being populated in the site HTML, but only for some people. It is likely based on where you are being routed based on your detected IP address, or in some other way specific to the "location" of the device you are accessing it from, but even that is not certain.

I can't offer you any advice really, other than to just wait and see if this doesn't self-correct in some period of time. I can't even begin to know what is wrong with the JSON, or how to do anything about it, even temporarily, as all skins that use the JSON from weather.com just work fine for me, and I never had any issue at all.
I appreciate your input as I know you guys put in a lot of time to design these skins. (Before I retired i used to be heavily involved in many software projects. None web based but still complex software.)

What is this JSON mentioned many times. Is there some kind of debugging mechanism i can use to narrow down what the problem may be?

Thanks,
Gerry
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 20629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by jsmorley »

gerryex wrote:
May 22nd, 2020, 10:21 pm
I appreciate your input as I know you guys put in a lot of time to design these skins. (Before I retired i used to be heavily involved in many software projects. None web based but still complex software.)

What is this JSON mentioned many times. Is there some kind of debugging mechanism i can use to narrow down what the problem may be?

Thanks,
Gerry
No, not easily. There is a huge chunk of JSON code embedded in the HTML that is returned by the site. That JSON is what I am parsing to get the information. There isn't any easy way to do it really, you just have to use something like RainRegExp and keep adding to a RegExp statement, and testing it to see if you get back what you expect. When it fails, that's where a problem is. It's really not for the faint of heart, and while not rocket science, is long and laborious at best.

My advice is that you don't try to fix this right now. If we were all having the same issue, I would have my sleeves rolled up and be digging through it as we speak. While nothing is certain, my guess is that this is a short-term issue with them, and it will correct itself in a short period of time. What would be the point of finding some work-around or something then?
gerryex
Posts: 21
Joined: January 14th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by gerryex »

jsmorley wrote:
May 22nd, 2020, 10:39 pm
No, not easily. There is a huge chunk of JSON code embedded in the HTML that is returned by the site. That JSON is what I am parsing to get the information. There isn't any easy way to do it really, you just have to use something like RainRegExp and keep adding to a RegExp statement, and testing it to see if you get back what you expect. When it fails, that's where a problem is. It's really not for the faint of heart, and while not rocket science, is long and laborious at best.

My advice is that you don't try to fix this right now. If we were all having the same issue, I would have my sleeves rolled up and be digging through it as we speak. While nothing is certain, my guess is that this is a short-term issue with them, and it will correct itself in a short period of time. What would be the point of finding some work-around or something then?
OK, thanks again for the info. I'll just keep on trying various skins over the next few days and if i find anything that has changed I'll post here.

Thanks again,
Gerry
nbtc971
Posts: 3
Joined: May 22nd, 2020, 6:10 am

Re: ⭐ Weather.com

Post by nbtc971 »

Well this sucks. It's not working for me in Dallas, Texas. My guess is they changed something and it hasn't completely propagated and within the next couple of days, everyone's weather widget will be useless.