It is currently March 29th, 2024, 9:26 am

Fade Away

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
thesurfinsuricate
Posts: 42
Joined: March 20th, 2020, 4:47 pm

Re: Fade Away

Post by thesurfinsuricate »

Image

Ive manage to ad a slight zoom to the game pictures when i MouseOverAction and the skin is organized like this hope that's correct.

GameLauncher Folder
Image

I have two more questions tho:

1. When i MouseOverAction over one of the pictures (let's say ARMA) is it possible to tint (or blur) the other pictures (OT, SUB, ORI) a bit darker?
(alternative have the icons a bit tinted (darker) and then "untint" lets say ARMA when i hover over that icon.)

2.Is it possible to tidy up a bit and have more than one "MouseOverActionn" line?
example:
MouseOverAction=["something-something"]
MouseOverAction=["something_else"-"something_else"]
MouseLeaveAction=["end-something-something"]
MouseLeaveAction=["end-something_else"-"something_else"]

Or does it have to be only one MouseOverAction and a long "code" after? example:

MouseOverAction=["something-something"]["something_else"-"something_else"]
MouseLeaveAction=["end-something-something"]["end-something_else"-"something_else"]
Current skin:
[1]
Meter=Image
ImageName=#@#Images\OctopathTraveler_01.png
X=10
Y=10
H=144
W=96
ImageAlpha=204
LeftMouseDoubleClickAction=["D:\Games\Octopath Traveler\Octopath_Traveler.exe"][!ToggleFade "GameLauncher" "GameLauncher.ini"]
MouseOverAction=[!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# X "8"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# Y "8"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# W "100"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# H "148"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# ImageAlpha "255"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw]
MouseLeaveAction=[!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# X "10"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# Y "10"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# W "96"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# H "144"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# ImageAlpha "225"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw]
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16110
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Fade Away

Post by balala »

thesurfinsuricate wrote: March 22nd, 2020, 6:52 am 1. When i MouseOverAction over one of the pictures (let's say ARMA) is it possible to tint (or blur) the other pictures (OT, SUB, ORI) a bit darker?
(alternative have the icons a bit tinted (darker) and then "untint" lets say ARMA when i hover over that icon.)

...

Current skin:
It definitely is possible, however the posted code has one single meter, [1]. Please post both (or all) existing meters.
thesurfinsuricate wrote: March 22nd, 2020, 6:52 am 2.Is it possible to tidy up a bit and have more than one "MouseOverActionn" line?
NO, AT ALL!!!
Nothing in an .ini file can't be duplicated. You can't have two (or more) variables with the same name, you can't have twice the same option onto one single section, can't have two different sections with the same name and so on.
So no, one single MouseOverAction onto one meter.
However you can have multiple bangs onto this MouseOverAction.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Fade Away

Post by jsmorley »

Aside from the fact that you can't have two of the same option in any given [Section], there is no need for two MouseOverAction options in any case.

MouseOverAction=[!Log "This is the first action"][!Log "This is the second action"][!Log "This is the third action"]
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7029
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: Fade Away

Post by Yincognito »

balala wrote: March 22nd, 2020, 12:38 pmIt definitely is possible, however the posted code has one single meter, [1]. Please post both (or all) existing meters.
I think I'll build something from scratch here, based on the confusing info he shared so far. Let's see if he'll like it - I know I will. :D
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth
thesurfinsuricate
Posts: 42
Joined: March 20th, 2020, 4:47 pm

Re: Fade Away

Post by thesurfinsuricate »

balala wrote: March 22nd, 2020, 12:38 pm It definitely is possible, however the posted code has one single meter, [1]. Please post both (or all) existing meters.
(Note that i swished names for the two ini the gamepictures is Games.ini and the controller icon is called GameLauncher.ini)

Code: Select all

[Metadata]
Name=GameLauncher
Author=coae
Information=Games
Version=1.0
License=CC BY-SA 3.0

[GameLauncher-Games]

[1] 
Meter=Image
ImageName=#@#Images\OctopathTraveler_01.png
X=10
Y=10
H=150
W=100
ImageAlpha=204
LeftMouseDoubleClickAction=["D:\Games\Octopath Traveler\Octopath_Traveler.exe"][!ToggleFade "GameLauncher" "Games.ini"]
MouseOverAction=[!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# X "8"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# Y "8"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# W "104"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# H "154"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# ImageAlpha "255"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw]
MouseLeaveAction=[!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# X "10"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# Y "10"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# W "100"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# H "150"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# ImageAlpha "225"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw]

[2] 
Meter=Image
ImageName=#@#Images\Arma3_01.png
X=120
Y=10
H=150
W=100
ImageAlpha=204
LeftMouseDoubleClickAction=["D:\Dropbox"][!ToggleFade "GameLauncher" "Games.ini"]
MouseOverAction=[!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# X "118"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# Y "8"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# W "104"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# H "154"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# ImageAlpha "255"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw]
MouseLeaveAction=[!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# X "120"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# Y "10"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# W "100"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# H "150"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# ImageAlpha "225"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw]

[3] 
Meter=Image
ImageName=#@#Images\Subnautica_01.png
X=230
Y=10
H=150
W=100
ImageAlpha=204
LeftMouseDoubleClickAction=["D:\Dropbox"][!ToggleFade "GameLauncher" "Games.ini"]
MouseOverAction=[!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# X "228"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# Y "8"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# W "104"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# H "154"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# ImageAlpha "255"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw]
MouseLeaveAction=[!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# X "230"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# Y "10"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# W "100"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# H "150"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# ImageAlpha "225"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw]

[4] 
Meter=Image
ImageName=#@#Images\Ori2_01.png
X=340
Y=10
H=150
W=100
ImageAlpha=204
LeftMouseDoubleClickAction=["D:\Games\Europa Universalis IV Golden Century\eu4.exe"][!ToggleFade "GameLauncher" "Games.ini"]
MouseOverAction=[!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# X "338"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# Y "8"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# W "104"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# H "154"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# ImageAlpha "255"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw]
MouseLeaveAction=[!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# X "340"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# Y "10"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# W "100"][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# H "150"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw][!SetOption #CURRENTSECTION# ImageAlpha "225"][!UpdateMeter "#CURRENTSECTION#"][!Redraw]
Last edited by thesurfinsuricate on March 22nd, 2020, 1:40 pm, edited 3 times in total.
thesurfinsuricate
Posts: 42
Joined: March 20th, 2020, 4:47 pm

Re: Fade Away

Post by thesurfinsuricate »

jsmorley wrote: March 22nd, 2020, 12:46 pm Aside from the fact that you can't have two of the same option in any given [Section], there is no need for two MouseOverAction options in any case.

MouseOverAction=[!Log "This is the first action"][!Log "This is the second action"][!Log "This is the third action"]
Yeah! But my ocd itch make me want to put the different [!Log "This is the first action"][!Log "This is the second action"]
on separate lines and tidy up a bit... :sly:
Yincognito wrote: March 22nd, 2020, 12:57 pm I think I'll build something from scratch here, based on the confusing info he shared so far. Let's see if he'll like it - I know I will. :D
What part was confusing?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Fade Away

Post by jsmorley »

thesurfinsuricate wrote: March 22nd, 2020, 1:21 pm Yeah! But my ocd itch make me want to put the different [!Log "This is the first action"][!Log "This is the second action"]
on separate lines and tidy up a bit... :sly:
Understood completely. Just keep these simple rules in mind:

There are only three types of lines of code in a Rainmeter skin.

[SectionName]
OptionName=SomeValue
; A comment

That's it. You can't have more than one [SectionName] with the same name, and you can't have more than one OptionName with the same name inside a [SectionName].

As always, there is an exception to the rule... You can have more than one section named [Variables], as long as they are in separate .ini / .inc files that you @Include into the skin. The @Include functionality is designed to "merge" any duplicate [Variables] sections it encounters.
thesurfinsuricate
Posts: 42
Joined: March 20th, 2020, 4:47 pm

Re: Fade Away

Post by thesurfinsuricate »

jsmorley wrote: March 22nd, 2020, 1:25 pm Understood completely. Just keep these simple rules in mind:

There are only three types of lines of code in a Rainmeter skin.

[SectionName]
OptionName=SomeValue
; A comment

That's it. You can't have more than one [SectionName] with the same name, and you can't have more than one OptionName inside a [SectionName] that has the same name.

As always, there is an exception to the rule... You can have more than one section named [Variables], as long as they are in separate .ini / .inc files that you @Include into the skin. The @Include functionality is designed to "merge" any duplicate [Variables] sections it encounters.
cheers!
(Btw Rainmeter seen quite popular, some of you that know the program should post some tutorials on YT, not mush there now)
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Fade Away

Post by jsmorley »

thesurfinsuricate wrote: March 22nd, 2020, 1:32 pm cheers!
(Btw Rainmeter seen quite popular, some of you that know the program should post some tutorials on YT, not mush there now)
The trouble with video tutorials is that they so quickly get out of date. I'm all for them, but I personally think that tutorials that get old and no longer demonstrate best practices, or that show an invalid picture of the interface or how to interact with it do about as much harm as good.

Brings to mind the many, many tutorials on YouTube for how to change some setting on an Android phone. Of the 1,000,000 of them on there, 999,998 of them make no sense at all with any given version of Android that you are running. Trouble with tutorials on YouTube is that they never get deleted or updated.
User avatar
Yincognito
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 7029
Joined: February 27th, 2015, 2:38 pm
Location: Terra Yincognita

Re: Fade Away

Post by Yincognito »

Jsmorley, the last [BUG or NOT] episode I posted in the appropriate section of the forum kind of prevents me to do what I promised for the OP (since I have a centered "Games" skin that reports incorrect #CURRENTCONFIGX# and #CURRENTCONFIGY# on the first load/show). Apart from hardcoding the skin's position or placing it other than centered on the main monitor, is there anything I can do?
Profiles: Rainmeter ProfileDeviantArt ProfileSuites: MYiniMeterSkins: Earth