It is currently March 28th, 2024, 12:50 pm

[Feature Request] [Bangs] Game Mode

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
Post Reply
TheGamerX
Posts: 3
Joined: November 23rd, 2019, 11:21 pm

[Feature Request] [Bangs] Game Mode

Post by TheGamerX »

Game mode bang like !GameMode
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Feature Request] [Bangs] Game Mode

Post by jsmorley »

We talked about this and decided not to do it. We believe Game mode should be entirely under the control of the end-user.
TheGamerX
Posts: 3
Joined: November 23rd, 2019, 11:21 pm

Re: [Feature Request] [Bangs] Game Mode

Post by TheGamerX »

Then what about an automatic game mode that detects full screen applications?
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Feature Request] [Bangs] Game Mode

Post by jsmorley »

No, we really think it needs to be controlled by the end-user, by using the Rainmeter tray icon.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16109
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [Feature Request] [Bangs] Game Mode

Post by balala »

TheGamerX wrote: November 23rd, 2019, 11:23 pm Game mode bang like !GameMode
This has been discussed more times before. For instance: https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=129&t=33882&start=10#p167763
TheGamerX
Posts: 3
Joined: November 23rd, 2019, 11:21 pm

Re: [Feature Request] [Bangs] Game Mode

Post by TheGamerX »

But the thing is i want to control the game mode from autohotkey and making it detect where is the rainemter icon right click it and the checking if gamemode is on or off with more color detection woulnt be that easy than just a bang
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Feature Request] [Bangs] Game Mode

Post by jsmorley »

TheGamerX wrote: November 24th, 2019, 12:57 pm But the thing is i want to control the game mode from autohotkey and making it detect where is the rainemter icon right click it and the checking if gamemode is on or off with more color detection woulnt be that easy than just a bang
I understand fully, but we have a certain philosophy about how Rainmeter behaves, starting with the open-source nature of it, and how we manage the community here, and what we think should be in the control of skin "authors" vs. what we think should be in the control of skin "users". In this case, we just don't think it is appropriate that a skin "author" ever be able to force a user into Game mode. We think this should be an explicit action by the end-user, part of controlling the "application", not part of controlling a "skin".
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Feature Request] [Bangs] Game Mode

Post by jsmorley »

User avatar
Yamajac
Posts: 134
Joined: June 30th, 2014, 8:44 am

Re: [Feature Request] [Bangs] Game Mode

Post by Yamajac »

Code: Select all

CONFIGS := []

CloseActiveConfigs(){
    global CONFIGS
    FileRead, OUT, C:\Users\Charlotte\AppData\Roaming\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.ini
    OUT := RegExReplace(OUT, "s).*?(\[[^\n]*?\])..Active=[^0]", "$1")
    OUT := RegExReplace(OUT, "s)([^\n]*]).*", "$1")
    OUT := RegExReplace(OUT, "\[(.*?)]", "$1]")
    CONFIGS := StrSplit(OUT, "]")
    Loop % CONFIGS.MaxIndex() {
        CurrentConfig := CONFIGS[A_Index]
        run, C:/Program Files/Rainmeter/Rainmeter.exe !DeactivateConfig %CurrentConfig%
    }
}

OpenClosedConfigs(){
    global CONFIGS
    Loop % CONFIGS.MaxIndex() {
        CurrentConfig := CONFIGS[A_Index]
        run, C:/Program Files/Rainmeter/Rainmeter.exe !ActivateConfig %CurrentConfig%
    }
}


F4::exitapp
F11::CloseActiveConfigs()
F12::OpenClosedConfigs()
Just a little example of how autohotkey could simulate this behaviour fairly easily without needing to actually use game mode. If you actually use this I'd probably not use functions and just have it toggle between activating/deactivating in the same hotkey but its up to you. Just grab the active configs from the rainmeter.ini, save them to a global variable. Loop over them and deactivate them all, then when reactivating just loop over the deactivated configs and reactivate them. Ezpz.
Post Reply