It is currently December 15th, 2019, 6:36 am

[Bug] Wrong language in log

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
oZone
Posts: 117
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

[Bug] Wrong language in log

oZone » September 22nd, 2019, 2:18 pm

In log it shows "Windows 10 Pro 1903 64-bit (build 18362) - English (1031)"
but it should be "Windows 10 Pro 1903 64-bit (build 18362) - German (1031)",
same as in version tab.

The language in log is same as language set in Rainmeter.
Last edited by oZone on November 7th, 2019, 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9267
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [Bug] Wrong language in log

balala » September 24th, 2019, 5:19 pm

oZone wrote:
September 22nd, 2019, 2:18 pm
In log it shows "Windows 10 Pro 1903 64-bit (build 18362) - English (1031)"
but it should be "Windows 10 Pro 1903 64-bit (build 18362) - German (1031)",
same as in version tab.

The language in log is same as language set in Rainmeter.
Sorry for the extremely late reply.
Let me understand, because I didn't entirely understand: the language shown in Log doesn't match the really set language? Have I understood the essence?
I get the appropriate language in Log. No issues here. I'm using the same Windows version (Windows 10 Pro 1903 64-bit (build 18362)). But in which Rainmeter version do you get this issue?
oZone
Posts: 117
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Re: [Bug] Wrong language in log

oZone » September 24th, 2019, 7:26 pm

I am using latest rainmeter (portable)
Currently I don't have access to my PC but this should show the same issue.

Notice the first line (German) which is from log and the last line (English) from version tab
bug.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9267
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [Bug] Wrong language in log

balala » September 24th, 2019, 7:56 pm

oZone wrote:
September 24th, 2019, 7:26 pm
Notice the first line (German) which is from log and the last line (English) from version tab
You're right, now I see the same issue even on my side: for me in the Log it says Windows 10 Pro 1903 64-bit (build 18362) - Romanian (1038), while on the Version tab almost the same information, with the only difference that the language is Hungarian:
Version.png
No explanation. Probably a dev will be needed to say what's going on. Even more interesting on my side is that on both cases I have the same language identifier (hope this is the right term), 1038, which is the identifier of the Hungarian language. And I'm using an installed version of Rainmeter, not a portable one.
Never noticed this before.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
dvo
Posts: 657
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 6:08 am

Re: [Bug] Wrong language in log

dvo » September 25th, 2019, 11:30 am

to check this Language Codes : https://www.science.co.il/language/Locale-codes.php :Whistle :welcome: :D
Mine is set on english but he says dutch :rofl:
oke understand you should be english to... :)
Last edited by dvo on September 25th, 2019, 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9267
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [Bug] Wrong language in log

balala » September 25th, 2019, 3:25 pm

dvo wrote:
September 25th, 2019, 11:30 am
balala yours should be : Romanian - Romania ro ro 1048 :)
No, not necessarily. My Windows is English, the icons on desktop for instance are named in English (Recycle Bin). Although I'm living in Romania, I am Hungarian and as such I'm using Hungarian software beside English ones. My location is indeed Romania, but my language isn't. I'm not sure what determines which language to be shown as the language of Windows, but actually, as said, my Windows is natively English.
Total mystery on my side... :confused:
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 1932
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: [Bug] Wrong language in log

Brian » November 6th, 2019, 4:52 am

We *hopefully* corrected this issue with the latest beta.

You can get the latest beta here: https://www.rainmeter.net/

If you still have problems, please let us know!

-Brian
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 9267
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [Bug] Wrong language in log

balala » November 6th, 2019, 7:14 pm

Brian wrote:
November 6th, 2019, 4:52 am
We *hopefully* corrected this issue with the latest beta.
No, unfortunately actually you didn't:
RainmeterSH.png
So it still shows Hungarian as Windows language, but the native language of my Windows is English. For instance here is the Language settings dialog in Windows:
RainmeterLang.png
Also a small screenshot of the Recycle Bin on desktop and its right-click menu:
RainmeterLang2.png
As you can see, it is English.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 1932
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: [Bug] Wrong language in log

Brian » November 7th, 2019, 6:33 am

balala wrote:
November 6th, 2019, 7:14 pm
No, unfortunately actually you didn't:
Hmmm. Could you try this version?

-Brian

Note: Link removed.
oZone
Posts: 117
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Re: [Bug] Wrong language in log

oZone » November 7th, 2019, 7:38 am

For me it works.

Just curious, @balala could you run this command (press start+R)

Code: Select all

control /name Microsoft.RegionAndLanguage
What is your format and what language do you have in Administrative tab in Language for non-Unicode programs option?