It is currently April 20th, 2024, 6:03 am

Keep on Screen

Get help with installing and using Rainmeter.
DavidFw1960
Posts: 42
Joined: December 27th, 2016, 1:32 am

Keep on Screen

Post by DavidFw1960 »

I am having an issue where a skin keeps jumping up about 10 pixels from the bottom of the screen.

If I turn off 'keep on screen' it doesn't do that. But I don't understand why I need to do that to stop this happening?

The skin DOES have a dynamic size. Depending on a value it reads from a webparser, the height can be either 95 or 105 pixels. If it's 105 pixels it sits correctly where I want it. (It tests a value from the web parser and then decides if it will be 95 or 105 pixels high) Is Rainmeter actually 'seeing' that the skin might be a max of 105 and using that to determine the position?

It's no biggie but just confuses me. I am using a shape meter - that is what the height of 95 or 105 is in my example above.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16147
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Keep on Screen

Post by balala »

DavidFw1960 wrote: April 10th, 2019, 4:33 am Is Rainmeter actually 'seeing' that the skin might be a max of 105 and using that to determine the position?
No, it doesn't but probably the code set for a very short time (probably only one cycle) the largest height, even if continuously it's set to 95. This short height variation is completely enough to make the skin to jump one.
For further help, please post the involved code.
DavidFw1960
Posts: 42
Joined: December 27th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Keep on Screen

Post by DavidFw1960 »

balala wrote: April 10th, 2019, 2:00 pm No, it doesn't but probably the code set for a very short time (probably only one cycle) the largest height, even if continuously it's set to 95. This short height variation is completely enough to make the skin to jump one.
For further help, please post the involved code.
When it starts it seems to go to fill height.

Code: Select all

;=================================================
; Rainmeter configuration file
; Updated Apr 14, 2019
;=================================================

;[BEGIN CONFIG FILE]==============================

[Rainmeter]
Update=900
DynamicWindowSize=1
AccurateText=1

[Metadata]
;Contains basic information of the skin.
Name=Aussie Broadband Usage Meter
Author=Big Kahuna (Skin) Protogen (Scripts)
Information=From Whirlpool Users Big Kahuna/Protogen/hd/jandakot11 Adapted from the Telstra meter made by Kanine.
License=Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 AU)
Version=0.71

[Variables]
fontName=Trebuchet MS
textSize=8
colorBarDays=8,71,174,255
colorBarData=34,177,76,255
colorBarOver=255,0,0,255
colorText=255,255,255,205
imageBarDays5px=#@#Images\DaysRemaining-5px.png
imageBarDays8px=#@#Images\DaysRemaining-8px.png
imageBarData5px=#@#Images\DataUsedProgress-5px.png
imageBarData8px=#@#Images\DataUsedProgress-8px.png
imageBarDataOver5px=#@#Images\DataUsedOver-5px.png
imageBarDataOver8px=#@#Images\DataUsedOver-8px.png
fontEffectColorSet=0,0,0,20
solidColorSet=0,0,0,255
backgroundColor=15,15,15,200
;Set the bar size and type. Valid Options are solid5px, solid8px, image5px, image8px
barStyleSize=image5px
;Set the nominal allowance if required. 0 means value is read from ABB otherwise enter GB allowance (so you see data used bar)
nominalAllowance=0

;[Background Shape]

[MeterShapes]
Meter=Shape
Shape=Rectangle 0,0,210,95([MeterSize:H]),7 | Fill Color #backgroundColor#
DynamicVariables=1

[MeterSize]
Meter=String
H=([MeasureAllowanceGB] < 100000 ? 105 : 95)
DynamicVariables=1
The full code is here https://github.com/DavidFW1960/Aussie-Broadband-Usage-Meter/blob/master/ABBUsage/ABB.ini

It does seem to flash the full height when the skin loads...

Thanks. (Sorry - I didn't have notify for replies on so I only saw your reply just now)
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16147
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Keep on Screen

Post by balala »

The code is not enough, because there are some files which also would be needed (like ABB-Usage.xml - read by the [MeasureABB] WebParser measure, a lot of images and so on). Without them actually I can't test the code. So please pack the whole config and upload that one.
DavidFw1960
Posts: 42
Joined: December 27th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Keep on Screen

Post by DavidFw1960 »

The full skin along with all files for it are here:
https://github.com/DavidFW1960/Aussie-Broadband-Usage-Meter/tree/master/ABBUsage An rmskin install is one directory level higher.

An example xml file is here:

Code: Select all

<usage>
  <down1>424977000000</down1>
  <up1>86273000000</up1>
  <allowance1_mb>100000000</allowance1_mb>
  <left1>0</left1>
  <lastupdated>2019-04-22 13:10:05</lastupdated>
  <rollover>6</rollover>
  <serviceid>123456</serviceid>
  <servicename>Home</servicename>
</usage>
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16147
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Keep on Screen

Post by balala »

Which skin are we talking about? Because there are 9 skins in the package.
DavidFw1960
Posts: 42
Joined: December 27th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Keep on Screen

Post by DavidFw1960 »

abb.ini
but all the skins are pretty much the same except for line style for the bar - some use images and some are solid but all are the same (the 7 starting with abb)
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16147
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Keep on Screen

Post by balala »

Yep, but there still is a small problem: the skin should read the @Resources\Scripts\ABB-Usage.xml file (by the [MeasureABB] measure), but a such file doesn't exist. So still can't check how does the skin actually work.
DavidFw1960
Posts: 42
Joined: December 27th, 2016, 1:32 am

Re: Keep on Screen

Post by DavidFw1960 »

I posted the exact contents of the XML file above in a code block
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16147
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: Keep on Screen

Post by balala »

DavidFw1960 wrote: April 23rd, 2019, 6:58 am I posted the exact contents of the XML file above in a code block
Right, sorry. I looked for it in the package.
Now testing the skin, I don't get a jump of it as described. However if you do, i think the first thing you should have to try is to set the height of the skin to a constant value, which would be 105 (the largest height possible). Add a SkinHeight=105 option to the [Rainmeter] section. Does this solve the problem?