It is currently March 29th, 2024, 6:58 am

[D2D][Fixed] UseExifOrientation not working

Backwards compatibility issues related to the conversion of Rainmeter to D2D.
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16110
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

Post by balala »

jsmorley wrote: January 15th, 2019, 3:00 pm We are looking into this.

We have a few lingering carbuncles from the conversion to D2D, and they include some issues with ImageRotate, ImageCrop and EXIF. We hope to have them all addressed shortly. They are all interrelated a bit, so we don't want to do a beta until we are sure that all are solved.
So, I think I had right, when I said that mochibear's issues are caused by the same problem? Weird is that I think the issue was introduced by version 3273 (January 3rd), but he reported this earlier, on December 28th.
Anyway, hoping you'll find a good solution, I thank to the whole team for your work with this wonderful piece of software. :great:
mochibear
Posts: 45
Joined: June 3rd, 2014, 11:16 pm

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

Post by mochibear »

I can’t articulate into words how much I appreciate you guys
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16110
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [BUG?] Quoteplugin using EXIF data innapropriately..

Post by balala »

mochibear wrote: January 15th, 2019, 3:51 pm I can’t articulate into words how much I appreciate you guys
:thumbup:
Let's see if the issue will be resolved by the next beta. Hope it will...
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2674
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: [BUG?] UseExifOrientation not working

Post by Brian »

We think this has been fixed for the next beta (r3277). Thanks for reporting.

-Brian
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16110
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [BUG?] UseExifOrientation not working

Post by balala »

Brian wrote: January 19th, 2019, 5:12 pm We think this has been fixed for the next beta (r3277). Thanks for reporting.

-Brian
Yes, both issues (related to ImageRotate and ImageCrop) has been.
Thanks for this fix.
It has freed me from a lot of work, to rewrite some skins which previously worked, but then, with r3273, they didn't any more. Now they are again working well.
:thumbup: :great: :rosegift:
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16110
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [BUG?] UseExifOrientation not working

Post by balala »

mochibear, please install the newest version of Rainmeter (r3277), available now on the site and test your skin. Does it work well now? I hope it does.
mochibear
Posts: 45
Joined: June 3rd, 2014, 11:16 pm

Re: [BUG?] UseExifOrientation not working

Post by mochibear »

balala wrote: January 19th, 2019, 6:48 pm mochibear, please install the newest version of Rainmeter (r3277), available now on the site and test your skin. Does it work well now? I hope it does.
When UseExifOrientation set to 1, yes I believe the issue is fixed. I am continuing testing now. Thank you all for everything. I use this photoframe at work to see my friends, family and pets and to help me unwind, so this is very very much appreciated.


Would this be the right place to ask a skin-related question (perhaps to balala?)

Currently the code is:

Code: Select all

[MeterShowPicture]
Meter=Image
MeasureName=MeasureMyPictures
UseExifOrientation=1
X=40
Y=5
W=1024
H=768
PreserveAspectRatio=1
LeftMouseUpAction=[!Refresh]

On left mouse double click, I would like to open an explorer menu window with the picture highlighted. Is that at all possible?
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16110
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [BUG?] UseExifOrientation not working

Post by balala »

mochibear wrote: January 19th, 2019, 7:32 pm On left mouse double click, I would like to open an explorer menu window with the picture highlighted. Is that at all possible?
Yeah, it is. Just add the following Measure to your code:

Code: Select all

[MeasureRun]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=RunCommand
Parameter=explorer /select,[MeasureMyPictures]
State=Hide
DynamicVariables=1
Then use the following LeftMouseDoubleClickAction on the [MeterShowPicture] meter: LeftMouseDoubleClickAction=[!CommandMeasure "MeasureRun" "Run"].
mochibear
Posts: 45
Joined: June 3rd, 2014, 11:16 pm

Re: [BUG?] UseExifOrientation not working

Post by mochibear »

Hi balala,

I did everything you said, and a double click does open a explorer window but just to the main "my pc" folder (displaying C, D, E drives etc)


Here's the code I used:

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1

[MeasureMyPictures]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=QuotePlugin
PathName=D:/Test
Subfolders=1
FileFilter=*.jpg;*.jpeg
UpdateDivider=10

[MeterBackground]
Meter=Image
ImageName=D:\Applications\Rainmeter\Skins\Pictures (with thin Frame)\\Background.png
W=1100
H=800
GreyScale=0

[MeterShowPicture]
Meter=Image
MeasureName=MeasureMyPictures
UseExifOrientation=1
X=40
Y=5
W=1024
H=768
PreserveAspectRatio=1
LeftMouseUpAction=[!Refresh]
LeftMouseDoubleClickAction=[!CommandMeasure "MeasureRun" "Run"]

[MeasureRun]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=RunCommand
Parameter=explorer /select,[MeasureMyPictures]
State=Hide
DynamicVariables=1
User avatar
balala
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 16110
Joined: October 11th, 2010, 6:27 pm
Location: Gheorgheni, Romania

Re: [BUG?] UseExifOrientation not working

Post by balala »

mochibear wrote: January 19th, 2019, 8:01 pm I did everything you said, and a double click does open a explorer window but just to the main "my pc" folder (displaying C, D, E drives etc)
Your code works perfectly for me and it does what it should: when double clicking the image, explorer opens and the current image is highlighted.
Try eventually to run a such command in command line, to see how does it work there. Open a command line and enter this: explorer /select,-COMPLET PATH OF AN IMAGE-. Does the explorer open, with the image highlighted?
What Windows version are you using?