It is currently April 18th, 2024, 11:28 pm

[Bug] New Inline/Shadow

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 571
Joined: February 28th, 2011, 3:20 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

[Bug] New Inline/Shadow

Post by ikarus1969 »

Hi!

I have started playing around with the new option of the inline-seetings "Shadow" and stumbled across a bug.

The test skin below has 2 string-meters. The first one has an inline-gradient setting, the second one has an inline-gradient setting together with the new inline-shadow setting.

With the update rate of 500 you can watch the second meter shifting the 2nd gradients percentage somehow.

I was not able to record an animated gif but attached 3 screenshots.

Can anyone confirm this behavior?
Screenshot#1 - Rainmeter - Inline - Shadow plus Gradient.jpg
Screenshot#2 - Rainmeter - Inline - Shadow plus Gradient.jpg
Screenshot#3 - Rainmeter - Inline - Shadow plus Gradient.jpg

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=500
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1

[Metadata]
Author=ikarus1969
Name=TEST Shadow Inline setting
Description=In combination with GradientColor there's a "shift" in the Gradient

[Meter_BG]
Meter=IMAGE
X=#WORKAREAX#
Y=#WORKAREAY#
W=260
H=150
SolidColor=FFFFFFFF
DynamicVariables=1

[Meter_Paragraph_1]
Meter=STRING
Text="P#1: The quick brown fox#CRLF#jumps over the lazy dog"
X=([Meter_BG:X] + 10)
Y=([Meter_BG:Y] + 10)
InlineSetting=Size | 16
InlineSetting2=GradientColor | 180 | 008000FF; 0.2 | FF0000FF; 0.9
AntiAlias=1
DynamicVariables=1

[Meter_Paragraph_2]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=Style_InlineShadow
Text="P#2: The quick brown fox#CRLF#jumps over the lazy dog"
X=0r
Y=20R
InlineSetting=Size | 16
InlineSetting2=Shadow | 1 | 1 | 1 | A0A0FFFF
InlinePattern2=quick brown
InlineSetting3=GradientColor | 180 | 008000FF; 0.2 | FF0000FF; 0.9
AntiAlias=1
DynamicVariables=1
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Bug] New Inline/Shadow

Post by jsmorley »

We will look into it.

It seems to only happen if there is any X option on the meter when the gradient is horizontal'ish, or Y when the gradient is vertical'ish.

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=500
AccurateText=1
DynamicWindowSize=1

[MeterString]
Meter=String
X=5
FontSize=30
SolidColor=0,0,0,1
Text=One Two Three Four
AntiAlias=1
InlineSetting=GradientColor | 180 | 207,250,213,255 ; 0.1 | 255,222,161,255 ; 0.5 | 244,125,67,255 ; 1.0
InLineSetting2=Shadow | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0,0,0,255
Remove the X option, and it stops creepin... Clearly a bug. We will stomp on it. Thanks for the report.
User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 571
Joined: February 28th, 2011, 3:20 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: [Bug] New Inline/Shadow

Post by ikarus1969 »

jsmorley wrote:We will look into it.
Thank you!
User avatar
Brian
Developer
Posts: 2678
Joined: November 24th, 2011, 1:42 am
Location: Utah

Re: [Bug] New Inline/Shadow

Post by Brian »

Thanks for reporting this bug. It has been fixed and will be in the next beta release.

The problem was the position of the string is needed in order to create the gradient effect. In a normal drawing operation, that position would get reset after the string was drawn so that during the next drawing operation would be in the correct position. Since the shadow option requires turning some of the text transparent while drawing the shadow, I forgot to reset the gradient position.

Anyway...should all be good now.

-Brian
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22629
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: [Bug] New Inline/Shadow

Post by jsmorley »

New beta r2618 released to address this issue.
User avatar
ikarus1969
Posts: 571
Joined: February 28th, 2011, 3:20 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: [Bug] New Inline/Shadow

Post by ikarus1969 »

Brian wrote:Anyway...should all be good now.

-Brian
It is good - thanks for the fast fixing!