It is currently April 20th, 2024, 1:53 am

Disk Usage

General topics related to Rainmeter.
ocredfox
Posts: 1
Joined: December 10th, 2013, 3:06 am

Disk Usage

Post by ocredfox »

Hello, i have been tinkering around with a way to get my rainmeter skin to show disk usage.
Not the typical how much of the disk that is free/used, but rather i am trying to show % Disk Time.

In perfmon you can see Active disk time %, ie; how 'hard' the disk is working.
Is there anyway to get that info into rainmeter?

I have tried;

Plugin=Plugins\PerfMon.dll
PerfMonObject=PhysicalDisk
PerfMonCounter="% Disk Time"

But it keeps going over 100% by quite a large margin.
User avatar
fonpaolo
Moderator
Posts: 1387
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 8:08 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Disk Usage

Post by fonpaolo »

Here is the link to PerfMon plugin.
Here other measures obtained using FreeDiskSpace.
Here the reference to Windows Performance Monitor, used by PerfMon.

...but, correct me if I'm wrong, you can have the idle time of processor as a percentual, but not the time of activity of a disk in any way.
scavenger
Posts: 16
Joined: July 5th, 2011, 8:23 pm

Re: Disk Usage

Post by scavenger »

I know this thread is quite old, but I just wanted to do the same thing as the thread opener.
I also got strange values for "% Disk Time", so I switched to "% Idle Time". You just need to use a calc measure to invert the value. And you have to divide the raw value by 100000 first...
Strange is that sometimes you get negative values using this method, but you can remove that with a calc, too.
These are my measures:

Code: Select all

[measureHDDUsageRaw]
Measure=Plugin
Plugin=Plugins\PerfMon.dll
PerfMonObject=PhysicalDisk
PerfMonCounter="% Idle Time"
PerfMonInstance="0 C:"

[measureHDDUsageCalc]
Measure=CALC
Formula=100-measureHDDUsageRaw/100000

[measureHDDUsage]
Measure=CALC
Formula=measureHDDUsageCalc < 0 ? 0 : measureHDDUsageCalc
MinValue=0
MaxValue=100
User avatar
SilverAzide
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 2604
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm

Re: Disk Usage

Post by SilverAzide »

FWIW, you don't need the extra calc measure, just use the MinValue/MaxValue setting on your first calc measure.
Gadgets Wiki GitHub More Gadgets...
scavenger
Posts: 16
Joined: July 5th, 2011, 8:23 pm

Re: Disk Usage

Post by scavenger »

You are right if you only want to use the values for a graph/histogram. But it does not work if you want to show the value as text.
From the documentation:
This is used to set a range of values for use in meters that require a percentual value. The actual value of the measure will remain unchanged.